We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Academy Plaza Hotel
Ranked #47 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was everything we were looking for. The location is great, just off o'connel street, and the airbus drop off and pick up points are just a two minute walk away, so was easy to find. You're within walking distance to most tourist attractions and shops.

Staff we dealt with were all very friendly and attentive, and the room we had, although on the smaller side, was clean and comfortable. The only slight negative we found was the free wifi in the hotel didn't work in our room. Not that we sat in long enough for this to be a major problem, but when trying to look things up we had to go down to the foyer.

Would stay here again though and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Lauren B

Thank you for choosing us as your city centre hotel of choice while in Dublin City Centre. We are equally thrilled with the lovely review you have shared about your stay. We have many many advantages of being right in the city centre and we are delighted you took the time to share them also.

Our friendly and efficient staff do their utmost always at being as attentive they can be to our guests needs and I am glad they were able to assist you during your stay.

Should you need to discuss anything further please do on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,647
    1,893
    617
    146
    53
See reviews for
744
1,890
285
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
139 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Great location, great service (we turned up at 9am and they got us a room), comfortable rooms, VERY handy for the airport and hop-on, hop-off buses, well priced bar (great whiskey sours!) and everything we needed. We didn't hear any street noise but did hear some noise from the corridor and my only gripe was the small towels, although these are pretty standard in hotels. Have already recommended this hotel to family.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Possesibling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Possesibling

Thank you so much for your review and for sharing the great experience you had here with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed our great service, comfort and our bar.

I am delighted to read that you have already recommended our hotel to others, recommendations like this are priceless and we do wish that you would choose us again should you ever return to Dublin City. Looking forward to your return.

Thanks Again.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Where do I start? It has been months since I have returned home, and I am still upset about this hotel. This hotel was almost the demise of our trip.
FIRST our room smelled like an original hotel room at the Tropicana in Vegas, and a 3 pack a day smoker just left. i am a reformed smoker and it was TERRIBLE! *we were moved after I asked the maid if the room was smoking and she answered "if there is an ashtray in your room then obviously" RUDE! the front desk could not tell me if the hotel had smoking or non-smoking rooms. they took us to another room where they just opened the window when it was 30 degrees outside. every time we took a shower it reeked of cigarets, using the blowdryer was not happening, unless you wanted to smell of that stench.
SECOND, they gave us WRONG directions to the guiness factory which threw our whole day off. Our times were pushed back so far due to lack of proper information, which let us to have to cram more into the next day. What hotel doesn't know the Main attractions near the hotel???
THIRD AND WORST!!!! At 1am the alarm went off in the in tire hotel! scared us nearly to death. my husband and i were so fed up! they blamed it on a customer in the hotel. Now this is something i notice they do often there… BLAME everyone else but themselves. Thats not it, then the alarm went off across the street for over an hour at 2:15am. I understand this is not my hotels fault. But when the alarm goes off AGAIN in our hotel at 3:30am I'm angry! that blamed it on someone using the fire exit. My husband asked why in such a huge hotel it is that easy to set the alarm off in the whole place??? another excuse! now this alarm went on for 5 min! And its loud as hell. Are we supposed to run cause were burning… nope just a bad hotel!

for the location it is prime, but not worth the risk in my opinion, plus they couldn't care less if your trip was terrible due to their hotel!

Room Tip: Make sure you request what you want prior, not like they will care anyway, but worth a shot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nuttmeg009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear nuttmeg009

Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay in Dublin.

Please reply to wecare@academyplazahotel.ie where I would like to personally see where we seem to have went wrong. Due to the anonymity of TripAdvisor I cannot research any of your stay details and offer you a full follow up.

I am disappointed that you have left it so long to post a review with us. By letting any manager on duty know during your stay we could have addressed any of the issues you highlighted on the spot. However it becomes more difficult to offer some kind of closure for you However myself and the team are looking forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

We were quite pleased with our stay. The location was excellent! The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and the beds were super comfy and sleep friendly. Although access to the ice machine and the fitness center were not super convenient, the 'upon request' robes were a delicious plus after being out and about all day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Deanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Deanna J

Thank you for submitting your wonderful review about our property and your visit to Dublin City Centre.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our helpful staff and comfortable rooms to match your expectations. We do hope you would pick us again should you return to Dublin City Centre again.

Should you wish to discuss anything further please do not be afraid to email the team on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie

Kind Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Last night of our tour - hotel rooms were very small and not clean. Asked to be moved to a non handicap accessible room and were advised as we were only there for one night - they could not move us. Outside of hotel was very dark, dirty and questionable elements. Would not recommend this as there are many other options within close distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScSunlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear ScSunlovers

Thank you for submitting your review with us.

Please contact me on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie where I would love to address the items you raised. We would love to explore your comments further and reach a satisfactory conclusion with you and restore your faith in our product.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

My partner and I were in Dublin for just one night, so we wanted a nice, affordable, and convenient hotel. This one fit the bill! I had read some reviews that mentioned the noise and the small room sizes, but we encountered none of these problems (and we were there on a Saturday night). Our room was roomy and comfortable. The staff was wonderfully pleasant and helpful. The location was perfect - right at the top of O'Connell Street, half a block from the Air Coach pickup and drop off location (airport bus). We loved our stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
409 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

The biggest complaint about this hotel was the small size of the rooms. The rooms were clean, the staff was excellent, and overall experience was positive.
The morning breakfast was a bit weak as they didn't have as much as the other hotels we stayed at during this trip, but it was good.
It was in a decent location for any type of activity.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,454 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Plaza Hotel

Property: Academy Plaza Hotel
Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin D01 X2X0, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#56 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is located in the heart of Dublin, just off the capital's main thoroughfare. Our hotel boasts 304 stunning new bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, an On Site Fitness Room, Beauty Salon and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing