We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Academy Plaza Hotel
Ranked #42 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed here for two nights recently with a friend. Great location, just off O'Connell Street. Friendly welcome, accommodation very good, room great size and decor and cleanliness excellent. Slightly disappointed with the restaurant [ate there one night]. The food quality was excellent but the service could have been better - mix up with the orders and had to return soup as it was not hot - but this was rectified quickly - but I would come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you do not want to listen to the nightclub which does not finish until about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Joan D

We were delighted to receive your feedback and comments. Thank you so much for choosing us as your city centre hotel of choice during your stay in Dublin. We are delighted to see that we matched your exceptions and we really would love if you did return to us should you ever return to Dublin City Centre. I am very please that our staff were attentive and responsive to your needs.

Thank you so much again for taking the time out to submit your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to us in the near future. Please email the team on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie should you wish to discuss anything further.

Warm Regards

Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,691)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,079 - 2,085 of 4,691 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

We have visited Dublin on many occasions and have stayed in lots of central and outlying areas and we are not sure how we have previously missed this gem of a hotel.
The hotel is very close to the airport Gresham hotel drop off (two minutes walk).
We were checked in very quickly and took the opportunity of the offer of a upgrade to an Executive room ( extra cost) which gives you additional space and upgraded facilities etc,although the rest of the rooms appeared to be comfortable but on the small size (not a problem when you are out all day sightseeing).
The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and the bar was comfortable for a post or pre meal drink.
I would definitely recommend this hotel as one to consider when visiting Dublin.

Room Tip: Consider the upgrade option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HorshamMoosehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear HorshamMoosehead

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay. We are delighted to receive your feedback. We are so happy to read that you have mentioned our hotel as a GEM. Along with a great hotel and staff we have a fantastic location to explore the city from.

We are delighted to see our team were very attentive and gave you the great value upgrade too. We would love if you did return to us in the near future where we may get the chance to thank you personally for the fantastic comments.

Should you wish to discuss anything further please contact the team on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed here in March 2014 for 2 nights. Hotel is just off the top of O'Connell Street so nice and handy. Hotel was clean and staff efficient. Room was quite basic and small but served its purpose for just being a base and was comfortable. Breakfast was ok. Would stay again

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebsD79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear DebsD79

Thank you for your wonderful review and for sharing it. We love feedback here and love sharing it with our staff also. We are delighted you found our city centre hotel so nice and handy. And should you ever return to us in Dublin City we would love if you returned to us where we may get the chance to thank your or your review.

Should you wish to discuss anything further please contact us on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie and thank you again or sharing your kind review and comments.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stopped here for two nights on 14th and 15th April, room only. As mentioned in a lot of reviews, the rooms are not the biggest, but the room was clean with a shower over the bath, coffee and tea making facilities and comfortable beds, we stayed in a twin room. There is an iron and ironing board in the room as well as a wall mounted hair drier in the bathroom. So all in all a good clean base to explore Dublin. Our room faced the beer garden of the pub next door to the hotel, so no scenic views and some noise from clientele, but nothing excessive.
The biggest advantage of this hotel is it's location in relation to the bus routes. Thanks to some fantastic reviews on trip advisor I pre booked a three day "freedom" bus pass for myself and wife. I used travel buddy, slightly cheaper than direct with the bus company (£50 for two). This entitles the purchaser to three days travel on the tour buses and transfers to/from the airport to the hotel. The airport transfer bus is the air link 747 and stops virtually outside the BWP, when arriving at the airport go out of the terminal to a kiosk to collect tickets. The sightseeing buses run every 10/15 minutes or so and complete a 24 stop loop, taking in all the major sites.
Stop 1 of the loop again located virtually outside the hotel. Most buses have pre-recorded guide audio to explain the history and key venues as you travel, non English speakers should take earphones as there is a port on each seat to plug in and select a language. The occasional bus will have the driver doing a live commentary, try and get on one of these, much more informative and funny (especially Damien).
Whilst we were there we visited the Guinness storehouse, not the cheapest at 16.50 euro each (book online for discount), but you can't do Dublin without Guinness (visiting and drinking) and fantastic views from the 360 gravity bar on the seventh floor.
We also visited Dublin castle, free to walk around, with a small fee (4.50 euro) to visit the state apartments.
Finally we visited Kilmainham gaol (6 euro each) by accompanied tour only, gets very busy, we had to wait an hour from booking until our tour time was available, but we'll worth it. All the above are on the bus route mentioned earlier.
Food - a few places we used, all within walking distance of the hotel. Beshoff's in O'Connell Street, great fish and chips. Flanagan's, same street, nice steak. Parnell's pub (Parnell Street) great atmosphere, good food (beef in Guinness recommended) and footy on!
Breakfast wasn't included in the hotel but several places you can use close by, we took the cheap option and eat in Mcdonald's (also in O'Connell Street).
Loved Dublin and the people, definitely deserves another visit, not the cheapest of places, expect to pay £4 (5 euro) for a pint of the "blonde lady in the black dress" and a premium on this in Temple Bar. Will be using the BWP as my base next time around for sure and booking the bus tickets again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Jon C

Thank you for sharing your review and your wonderful comments. Your review has summed us up for us so many things that we feel makes us great. Our location, our staff, service and welcome to name but a few. It certainly seems that you have made full use of your time while in Dublin as there is so much to see and do around the city and we are a fantastic base to explore that from.

We are delighted for read that you would stay again with us and should you ever decide to return to us please let us know on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie where we can personally thank you for you kind comments.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Our room here was quite comfortable, and the location was very good--bus stops right around the corner and close enough to walk to a lot of shopping and restaurants. Breakfast was included in our rate, and it was quite good. The staff here were very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ausweis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Ausweis

Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted and encouraged to read such a great review. I am delighted you have pointed out our location, service and our staff. We all enjoy reading feedback especially about our staff who really enjoy working so hard in providing our customers with the service and welcome they expect when they come to visit Dublin city centre.

Thank you for sharing this and we would love if you did return to us in the near future and thank your or your fantastic feedback.

Kind Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Just one thing...
you can probably save a lot of the cost for heated water in the showers by changing all the mouth- pieces of the showers from fixed to the wall. The time for using hot water will be shortened when having a shower.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jaak L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Jaak L

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted with such a hight scoring review. Regarding the comment about our showers. I have already handed the feedback to the management team and the maintenance department for review.

Should you wish to discuss anything future please contact the team at we care@academyplazahotel.ie

Best Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

It's in a very nice location if you want to the in the heart of the city. It's just a few steps and you're on O"Connell Street. O'Connell is one of the main streets in Dublin and provides plenty of shopping, pubs, and other eating spots just a few minutes away. The Hop On, Hop Off Bus has a nearby stop which is quite convenient.

It is a city center hotel and is, of course, in a congested city area. There may be noise for some rooms. We had a very comfortable stay - couldn't hear any noise from inside or outside the building. Blackout curtains were a welcome touch. The decor is very nice in the room, and it is very up to date. Admittedly, the rooms are quite small. The view is one of inner city, which is to be expected. The rates are reasonable and this would make an excellent location to enjoy the sights of the city for a few days.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pactola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Pactola

We are delighted to receive your five star review. Thank you taking the time to share it. Our hotel is so conveniently located Just off Upper O Connell street and with that brings so many advantages to explore Dublin City.

We are so thankful for your feedback and would really love if you would visit us in the near future. Should you wish to discuss anything further the team are at your disposal at the following email wecare@academyplazahotel.ie

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
1.4 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 150 in Dublin
2,046 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#54 of 150 in Dublin
2,074 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#43 of 150 in Dublin
2,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Plaza Hotel

Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin D01 X2X0, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#56 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $77 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is a family run business located in the heart of Dublin. Just off O'Connell street it is well connected to all means of transportation and a walking distance from Temple Bar, Croke park, business district as well as Dublin business convention centre. Our hotel has 304 newly refurbished bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms as well as a number of accessible rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, a fitness room and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. Our friendly staff provides excellent guest service with genuine friendliness and integrity so weather you re visiting for leisure or business it is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing