We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Academy Plaza Hotel
Ranked #43 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Just one thing...
you can probably save a lot of the cost for heated water in the showers by changing all the mouth- pieces of the showers from fixed to the wall. The time for using hot water will be shortened when having a shower.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jaak L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Jaak L

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted with such a hight scoring review. Regarding the comment about our showers. I have already handed the feedback to the management team and the maintenance department for review.

Should you wish to discuss anything future please contact the team at we care@academyplazahotel.ie

Best Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,744)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,117 - 2,123 of 4,744 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014

It's in a very nice location if you want to the in the heart of the city. It's just a few steps and you're on O"Connell Street. O'Connell is one of the main streets in Dublin and provides plenty of shopping, pubs, and other eating spots just a few minutes away. The Hop On, Hop Off Bus has a nearby stop which is quite convenient.

It is a city center hotel and is, of course, in a congested city area. There may be noise for some rooms. We had a very comfortable stay - couldn't hear any noise from inside or outside the building. Blackout curtains were a welcome touch. The decor is very nice in the room, and it is very up to date. Admittedly, the rooms are quite small. The view is one of inner city, which is to be expected. The rates are reasonable and this would make an excellent location to enjoy the sights of the city for a few days.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pactola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Pactola

We are delighted to receive your five star review. Thank you taking the time to share it. Our hotel is so conveniently located Just off Upper O Connell street and with that brings so many advantages to explore Dublin City.

We are so thankful for your feedback and would really love if you would visit us in the near future. Should you wish to discuss anything further the team are at your disposal at the following email wecare@academyplazahotel.ie

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed two nights at the Best Western Academy Inn. The hotel is just off of O'Connell street so it is a fabulous location to restaurants and shopping. And there are multiple Starbucks within steps of the hotel. The location couldn't have been better. The rooms were very nice. We chose this hotel because we could get a room with 2 double beds for our family of 4. Finding a room to accomodate a family of four is very difficult in Dublin. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skrabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

This hotel provided everything I always want in a hotel. Great everything - price, service, beds, and location. My daughters and I stayed comfortably in one room - that is a huge plus for three females and one bathroom, but plenty of outlets and mirrors. The hotel even came up with an adapter for us to use. The wifi worked flawlessly and the reception also booked our tours. Just amazing and am looking forward to going back!!!

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room, but this hotel location most likely has most quiet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Really nice place - close to all the main Dublin sites and all within easy walking distance from hotel. The hotel is served by main bus stops and right next to the taxi rack. In addition those coming from the airport by AIRCOACH will find the drop off point and pickup point no more than 1 minute from the hotel - so really good for transport services. Mark

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

If you like me like nothing better than to freshen up with a hot face towel in the mornings, then you should stroke this hotel off your list. No Facecloth was present in the bathrooms.
These days I always bring my Roku media player with me (especially to hotels in Dublin where I can tether the thing to my 4G smartphone) - Unfortunately, Academy Plaza uses the same terrible Philips TVs (from 2007) which can be found in the Crowne Plazas in Ireland. No access is given to the HDMI ports on these TV's via the remote meaning you had to watch OTA TV or buy films from the portal.
The room itself was quite small compared to other hotels in Dublin and the street outside was exceptionally loud until around 4am

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank letmedecide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Visited Dublin for my 30th Birthday celebrations with my partner and we stayed at the Best Western Plus Academy Plaza Hotel last weekend. It's in a very good location - just off upper O'Connell Street. If you get the bus in from the airport, it literally stops across the road from the hotel. We didn't spot this so ended up walking around the block and burst out laughing when we finally figured this out!

We arrived at the hotel at 12pm and had a pint while waiting. I chanced my arm on getting booked in prior to 2.30pm. The lady on reception was very helpful and got us checked in early, which was brilliant.

Very comfortable stay - couldn't hear any noise apart from the housekeeping staff in the morning. The prices in the hotel bar were also very good compared to most hotels and even the bars in Dublin! Great sturdy bed and the black out curtains were bliss. The decor in the room was very fresh and neutral, really well conceived.

Three things that stop me giving 5 stars -
1) The rooms have 3 pillows (which is bizarre for a hotel) - they never provided another despite being aware two people were in the room but changed the towels regularly when we weren't leaving them on the floor to be replaced!
2) The hairdryer in the bathroom was not suitable for drying a full head of hair - it overheats in your hands and has very little pressure. I got my fringe dry but had to towel dry the rest.
3) The shower head was stuck in place at an angle towards the wall - not sure if this was deliberate but made showering a bit strange.

I would definitely recommend to friends and family though as it was conveniently located and very well priced.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
1.4 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 150 in Dublin
2,062 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#54 of 150 in Dublin
2,101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#42 of 150 in Dublin
2,691 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Plaza Hotel

Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin D01 X2X0, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#55 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $79 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is a family run business located in the heart of Dublin. Just off O'Connell street it is well connected to all means of transportation and a walking distance from Temple Bar, Croke park, business district as well as Dublin business convention centre. Our hotel has 304 newly refurbished bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms as well as a number of accessible rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, a fitness room and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. Our friendly staff provides excellent guest service with genuine friendliness and integrity so weather you re visiting for leisure or business it is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing