We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Academy Plaza Hotel
Ranked #42 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed recently we were going to O2 . So central ! Close to so many shops ! Service was really good and quick , Seamus and Sinead were so helpful. The hotel is really clean and the food was really nice . All in all great central hotel with great service and food . Will stay again :)

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Deb W

Thank you so much for submitting your kind review and for you kind words.

We were more than happy to look after you during your stay here and we would love if you did return to us again in the near future. Our central hotel is a great base to discover the city and I am glad you enjoyed the city as much as our service.

Thank you again.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,657)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,072 - 2,078 of 4,657 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2014

My family and myself have stayed here on a number of occasions. Each and every time we stayed here, we were very impressed with all aspects of the hotel. Friendly and efficient staff, great food, clean, fresh rooms. The hotel is very centrally located. I also used 'The Treatment Room' located in the hotel and I was very impressed with the efficiency and quality of the service I received.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Cara Byrne

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful comments. We are glad to see that you enjoyed our comfort, service and location. We are so glad you are a repeat guest and we hope that that relationship can continue.

I am glad you used our facilities here in the hotel and the Treatment Room located here in the hotel too.

Please send the team an email on we care@academyplazahotel.ie should you wish to discuss anything further.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The room was very small. The interior is rather old and not up to date. The room had no view at all. There was a balcony shared with other rooms. However, the balcony was full of cigarette buds. Wifi was also not working. There were three fire alarms during the night. Sleep was almost impossible. . Location is okay. It is not downtown but well connected. The spire is in walking distance. The staff was unable to provide a bill for the night, although the trip was booked on the best western web page. A bill with a company address shall only be requested from BW central support. Not a pleasant stay. Would not recommend the hotel. There are many other, better choices in Dublin.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Ramin72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Ramin Y

Thank you for posting your review of your stay with us. However I am disappointed to read that you have not enjoyed your stay. Our well appointed rooms are modern and have all the amenities that you would expect or want from a city centre hotel. If you wanted an upgrade to our superior rooms we do have that option available too. I really wish you had contacted the team here during your stay and we could have closed the issue here with us or at least reached some conclusion into your concerns.

Due to the anonymous nature of trip advisor I cannot see fully see your reservation and further investigate your stay and the circumstances surrounding it. It is much more difficult to help assist you and close the issue at this stage, but I really would love if you would contact the team here on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie where you could send me your stay details and myself and the team can look at the matters surrounding your booking.

The Fire Alarm incident was caused by two instances, both separate. Nobody including ourselves want to sacrifice a good night sleep for our guests. The first instance was dealt with immediatly. However the second was caused by a guest pressing our fire point emergency button. And that guest was also identified. I must reiterate that we never wanted to compromise your nights sleep but had we have these fire points not only guest safety but to comply with legislation. We take matters of safety very seriously here. And I do think that the team here and the guests are happier in the knowledge that our safety equipment is functioning correctly. Situations that happen spontaneously like this are out of our control but I am glad our team dealt with both situations and identified the guests in question related to the incident. I can say that we have re considered some areas around our fire bells sounding and to eliminate the time issue especially at such an early hour of the morning. We carry out ongoing training with our Fire Team here on an ongoing basis and this feedback will be used as a topic of discussion.

I really would love if you would email the team on the mail above and we can hopefully reach a happier conclusion.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed two nights in the hotel great hotel the room was very nice and clean.bed very comfortable.Staff were very friendly and helpful pointing us in the right direction to go to places.And the hotel is located in the middle of the city so shopping and public transport is all only a short walk away.defiantly go back to stay.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Paddy Byrne

Thank you for sharing your review. I am glad you mentioned our staff. Our people here work so hard here at keeping our guest experience at a high level by provided any information they need about the city centre or assist them with any query that they have. The team love hearing guest feedback and its is very encouraging and rewarding for us to read such comments. Thank you.

We are thrilled to see that you would return to us and should you have any questions or queries please let us know on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Offers very clean, spacious and modern rooms with energy-saving features along with quiet as the hotel does not front busy O'Connell Street.
Booked a double bed for one Sunday night and was delighted to arrive and walk only steps from the easy and reasonably-priced Dublin Airport 747 Airlink coach stop just outside the hotel. Excellent location within easy walking distance to Trinity College, Grafton Street, St. Stephens Green and Stephens Green Shopping Centre.
Formerly stayed at the Paramount hotel but this is closer to more shops, and better value. Hotel accepts AAA discounts - common in the U.S. but not in Ireland. Waited slightly to check-in to around 4pm as rooms were not yet ready, but enjoyed an early Cod N Chips dinner nearby at Beshoffs. Checkin staff were very helpful with maps, directions, bag hold. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Dear L K

The whole team are delighted to read your wonderful review. Thank you for sharing it. Our city centre location is fantastic and as you say just nestled Off O' Connell Street does have it advantages, the Airlink 747 and Dublin City Tour Bus leaving on our door step being just a few of the many advantages of staying here.

We were delighted to look after you while you stayed in Dublin. We are thrilled you found our friendly accommodating staff were at hand to provide you with any information you needed about our hotel and Dublin.

Should you wish to discuss anything further please email the team on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie where we would love to hear from you.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The location is perfect near everything. Right off of O'Connell St, just a 10 minute walk to Temple Bar. The room was quite nice and clean. The Air Link stop is on this street too.
The staff was very friendly and helpful too. The beds were very comfortable,

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Dear Donna M

We are delighted you enjoyed our hotel so much and that you published such a great review online. We would love if you did choose us again if you ever in Dublin City Centre again. We try daily to do as many things as possible daily to enhance our guest stay and experience while with us and in Dublin City centre.

Should you wish to come back to Dublin city centre in the near future please do where our friendly and informative staff will make your stay just as perfect.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Friendly, welcoming, helpful staff at any time of the night or day. The rooms are a bit on the small side but that is to be expected when traveling outside of the US......It was more than sufficient for my daughter and I. Location is great.....Air link bus, city bus and Hop on Hop off right at the front door. Within a block of amazing pubs and restaurants. Overall convenience factor scored very high in my book :-)

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marianne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Dear Mizmaire

We are so thrilled to read this review. All our staff really do enjoy getting this feedback. The team here do work as hard as they can, daily, to provide all our guests with the warmth and helpfulness you would expect in any Irish hotel. Thank you.

Our location really helps fasten this and even being the first stop for the hop on hop off city bus tour outside the door is just another fantastic asset for us.

Thank you again for the review from all the team here. The kind words and positivity really help us all continue to do what we do on a daily basis.

Should you wish to discuss anything further please do so on wecare@acadmeyplazahotel.ie

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
1.4 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 151 in Dublin
2,031 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#54 of 151 in Dublin
2,056 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
2,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Plaza Hotel

Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin D01 X2X0, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#56 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $77 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is a family run business located in the heart of Dublin. Just off O'Connell street it is well connected to all means of transportation and a walking distance from Temple Bar, Croke park, business district as well as Dublin business convention centre. Our hotel has 304 newly refurbished bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms as well as a number of accessible rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, a fitness room and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. Our friendly staff provides excellent guest service with genuine friendliness and integrity so weather you re visiting for leisure or business it is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing