We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Academy Plaza Hotel
Ranked #43 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on New Year's Eve for 3 nights. Great location, easy to see the sites. Tour bus and bus to airport rihht outside. Staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel was clean. Only critisism was that the rooms were small. Not a problem as we were out most of time, but wouldn't want to spend any length of time awake in it. My daughter also stayed and her room was the same.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Jonathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Jonathan N

Thank you very much for sharing your review and to let us know how your stay with us was. We are delighted you picked us for our fantastic location which is serviced by the Airlink 747 bus with regular stops to the airport. Also the tour bus leaving right outside our door is a fantastic asset to have for our guests while staying here. Our friendly and welcoming staff are always on hand and really do their best to assist with any guest query and help with any information about Dublin city.

I am sorry to read that you thought our new and well appointed rooms were small. We do have when available an option to upgrade to our superior executive suites for only €19.00 where you can avail of a large room with those added extras for your stay.

We would love if you returned to us in the near future and should you ever do, please let us know. If you need to contact us please do on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie

Warm Regards

Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,571)
There are newer reviews for Academy Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,075 - 2,081 of 4,572 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

Just returned from our 5th stay at this hotel over the weekend.
The hotel is in a great position and the airport bus stops are directly outside.
The staff have always been so helpful.
We checked in about 8 am and our room was ready.
We were given a wonderful room on the 6th floor in a perfect quiet spot. Perfect. Thank you.
There is a special offer for 2 breakfasts for 15 euros. Very good value and a very good breakfast.
The hotel is having some ground floor refurbishment in the bar and restaurant. This didn't cause any problems.
We have always had a great stay at this hotel and would not think of staying anywhere else.
Cant wait until our next stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjgfitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear tjgfitness

Thank you so much for you fantastic review. We were delighted to accommodate you during your stay with us. Our convenient location is a fantastic bonus for us and being so accessible to the airport as you say makes us a great choice. Thank you for letting us know how great our staff were. They do try their best at all times to be as attentive and welcoming to all our guest needs. We are glad to say all our outlets are back up and running after our refurbishments.

We are so happy to read that you stay with us again and we really look forward to welcoming you back to Dublin city centre. Should you wish to discuss anything further please email us on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie

Thanks again.

Best Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed here for a few days on a business trip. It is a decent hotel, centrally located, yet ver quiet.
The service was excellence, vrey friendly staff and the free wifi was ok (enough speed to check and send emails, browsing was a bit slow).
My room was rather small.

However, cant see any reason why I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nico_Noche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Nico_Noche

We are delighted to receive such a great review. Thank you for sharing it and your experience with us. We are very grateful you chose us as your city centre hotel of choice while here on your business trip. I am also especially happy that we met your expectations on our excellent service and staff.

We are delighted to read that you would recommend us and I wish you would return to stay with us again in the near future. Where we could hopefully impress on you further and maybe thank you four your wonderful review. Should you wish to discuss anything further please email myself of one of the team on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie

Thanks again.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

the staff here are excellent and friendly. the hotel was clean, quiet and safe and in a great locaton right across the street from the Airlink and Hop-on Hop-off bus tours. had noisy neighbors and the front desk handled it immediately.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foxypocahontas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear foxypocahontas1

Thank you for sharing your fantastic review. We are delighted that we met all your expectations during your stay here. Our friendly and modern hotel is a fantastic place to explore Dublin. Being so accessible and served by the airlink buses to Dublin airport makes it so convenient.

We really hope you choose us when you return to Dublin city centre where we will look forward to providing you with another great stay.

Thank you again or sharing your review.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Myself and a large group of family had a great couple of nights at the Academy Plaza over the Xmas break. It is perfectly located to explore this great city. The staff were professional and courteous at all times and couldn't do enough to help. The rooms are furnished to a high spec with great complimentary wifi access and large wide screen tv's. Loved the breakfast especially the Irish sausages. If you want to take things easy after a busy day out in the city there is a great bar and lounge area to while away the evening with live music at times as well.

I didn't use the gym but it is available should you want to shift some of the Christmas excess or recover from the night before. We will be booking again next time we are in town, thanks to all the staff for a wonderful experience.

Maria & John from Manchester

Room Tip: Discount parking available for hotel guests in the car park across the road.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnPaddyOGorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear JohnPaddyOGorman

Thank you for sharing your review. We are so happy to have looked after you during your Christmas break. We always try to be as friendly and professional as possible while helping our guests have the best possible stay they can in Dublin.

We are delighted you enjoyed your guest experience here and we are thrilled to read you will be a return guest. You should stop by the desk and let us know where we can thank you personally for the wonderful review.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Have stayed in this hotel twice for pre Christmas breaks and we are looking to book again. For a city break it can't be faulted. Luckily we were upgraded to a triple room this time, as on our previous stay our room was on the small side but that said the rooms are functional and clean and it's not like you need to live in them! Beds are comfy and the bathroom was clean with shower gel/liquid soap provided.
Location is good, just off O'Connell street and within walking distance to all the major attractions. The hop on/off bus also stops opposite the hotel and the airport bus drops you there too.
All in all would recommend and like I said, am looking to book again

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L0iner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear L0iner

Thank you for your fantastic review. We are delighted you, like so many other people, thank us for our great value location and helpful staff. It really makes the difference for us and our staff really love hearing about great feedback.

We are delighted you are looking to book again and should you want to make a booking please do. You can contact us on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie where we will be delighted to handle your guest queries.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This modern hotel is tucked away off O'Connell Street, and is a great location for all Dublin tourist attractions. We booked through Ryanair Hotels and received a good price. We didn't add Breakfast originally but upon arrival there was an offer of 2 for 1 on breakfast so we took this offer on. The breakfast was very good, plenty of cereals, bread and hot food available. We were given a room which overlooked the internal courtyard which had the kitchen fan vents blowing loudly, so we asked to change to a quieter room, this was not a problem and the alternative room was lovely and quiet. The staff were pleasant and able to help in all matters. A great hotel for a long weekend away.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahpedder88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear sarahpedder88

Thank you for your fantastic feedback. We love hearing guest feedback here at the hotel. Our location is such a fantastic factor for us and really makes a great base for our guests to explore Dublin City Centre. We are delighted you took advantage of our breakfast offer. We have a large offering for our guests and our buffet is becoming a popular choice for our customers to kick start the day.

We hope you choose to stay with us again in the near future where we can offer you the same comfort, experience and welcome.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#38 of 150 in Dublin
1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,583 reviews
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Plaza Hotel

Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin D01 X2X0, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#56 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $88 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is a family run business located in the heart of Dublin. Just off O'Connell street it is well connected to all means of transportation and a walking distance from Temple Bar, Croke park, business district as well as Dublin business convention centre. Our hotel has 304 newly refurbished bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms as well as a number of accessible rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, a fitness room and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. Our friendly staff provides excellent guest service with genuine friendliness and integrity so weather you re visiting for leisure or business it is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing