We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Academy Plaza Hotel
Ranked #43 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Had a brilliant over night stay here recently. Staff were very friendly and was easy to locate from O'Connolly station, Brilliant location for shopping and nightlife as you are practically in the heart of Dublin. Only a 20 minute walk to the O2 arena. Rooms were spacious, most comfortable bed i've ever slept in, and there was good Wifi access. Would stay here again! Great value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vikki212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Vikki212

We are thrilled to read your comments and thank you for letting us know how you enjoyed your stay with us. We are truly delighted to read how friendly our staff were. They genuinely try at all times to be as informative and helpful to all our guests.

We are thrilled to read that you would return to us and we would love if you stopped by the desk and let us know where we could thank you personally for your wonderful review.

Best Regards

Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,574)
There are newer reviews for Academy Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,085 - 2,091 of 4,574 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

First time to Dublin and stayed here after it had been reccomended to me from customers back home. We were not disapointed! Right in the thick of things and had everything we needed! Would have been good if our package had of included breakfast but we had that offered to us for a low price of ?15 for the two of us. Only negative was that referbishments that were taking place were sometimes a bit noisy if you were trying to sleep in! Would stay here again in a heart beat!

1  Thank Danielle A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear Danielle A

Thank you for sharing your review. We are so happy that you did choose us and after getting recommended by your friends back home. I am happy you mentioned our refurbishments. We have been carrying out some necessary improvements in our lobby which is now complete along with our bar and restaurant area which is just at our completion stage too. We are very happy with the results so far too.

We look forward to welcoming you back where you can see the finished product and enjoy a relaxing drink in our bar on your return.

Should you wish to discuss anything further please do so on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

stayed 1 night and have to say i found the hotel to b perfectly located for both shopping and nightlife staff were friendly and food was superb the room was spacious and the bed was comfortable all in all i was very happy with my stay

2  Thank danman2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear danman2

Thanks for sharing your review online. We are very thankful to you for sharing how well you enjoyed your stay. It is very important that we get customer feedback and we are delighted to read you five star review.

We hope you would choose us again in the near future where we will hopefully impress on you further and offer you our best welcome and stay.

Best Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Very handy for access to Dublin City Centre with all services including good WiFi available. Would defo stay there again. Nice Bar area and Food was great. Also some nightlife very close but still not noisy at hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chuckrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear Chuckrea

We are delighted to recieve your review and thank you for sharing how well you enjoyed your stay online. Customer care is very important to us and we are glad you enjoyed your time with us. We are a great hotel to explore Dublin city centre from and being right in the heart of the city make it that bit easier. Being beside the Airlink Bus shuttle bus that that leaves so frequently outside our door and having the Dublin Bus tour leave outside our door is a fantastic asset too.

You should stop by the desk on you return and let us know that you are a return guest where we can thank you personally for you fantastic review. Should you wish to discuss anything further please do on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie

Best Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights. It is located in the center of city, with manyshopping/ dining options around. Very close to the bus station. Their basic room is very small and crapped. The executive rooms are of decent size.

Room Tip: if you are of above avg built, definitely go for executive rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank varij s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear varij s

We are delighted to receive you review. Thank you for sharing it. We are also delighted to accommodate you during your stay with us. Yes you are correct our location is great and a excellent way to see the city.

All our comfortable rooms are well appointed but I am glad to see you availed of our room upgrades. They are great value and boast larger rooms with added extras for only €19.00.

If you ever return to Dublin City please let us know where we will offer you our best welcome and allocation. Should you wish to discuss anything further please contact us on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The Academy Plaza is situated in a central city position. It has good connections to trains, buses and airport. The hotel is clean, modern and welcoming. The rooms are well designed and offer wifi and all the necessary communications for modern living. The restaurant offers a good choice of quality cuisine. The bar is well stocked and comfortable for socialising and meetings. Staff prove themselves to be welcoming, attentive and knowledgable of the Dublin scene and further attractions around the country. The Academy Plaza is a 'must' stay opportunity for visiting Dublin or passing through. It was recommended to me a few years ago my friends overseas and I have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cvfgyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Cvfgyd

We are delighted to read such a fantastic review. Thank you. We are thrilled to read you enjoyed all the benefits of staying with us. Our convenient location and comfortable rooms where we are accessible to by all bus, rail, and Airport Airlink bus stop. Also it's so warming to get feedback for something we really enjoy doing. All our team here really try to excel here daily in providing high quality and friendly service in a relaxed atmosphere.

I am delighted to see that you were recommended by a friend and I believe that is one of the greatest compliments. Thank you. Should you ever return to Dublin we would love if you choose us as your city centre hotel of choice.

Thank you so much for your fantastic review and we hope we may get the chance to thank you personally in the near future.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is not a bad place to stay, but it's not exactly a great place to stay. The room was laughably small. Although the room was clean, modern, and served me fine. It was also a loud night with noisy neighbors, but obviously that isn't the hotel's fault.
The front desk was helpful and friendly. I can't recommend the breakfast. It costs 10 euros, and it was incredibly disappointing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jholden2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear jholden2301

Thank you for posting and sharing your experience about our hotel. Your comments and feedback are valuable to us. However I do wish I could have met you during your stay where we could have discussed these points you have raised. By being able to meet you we could have sought some closure and offered you an alternative with the hope further impress you on our stay here. It is very difficult for me to measure your comments online although I am glad to see you did think we were not a bad place to stay. As a busy three star hotel located right in the heart of Dublin City we think we are the perfect choice for any discerning guest looking to book a high quality 3 Star hotel. We do excel in our class and I am glad to see our front desk were helpful and friendly. They are always are on hand to deal with any guest query and help or offer assistance and I do hope that you raised your queries with them too. I am disappointed to read our buffet breakfast did not impress you. It has a vast quantity of items on offer from our full Irish breakfast to power breakfast with plenty of cereals fruit and so on. I am disappointed to read you didn't enjoy it and maybe you would afford myself and the team a chance look deeper into your comments.

I would love if you would email me at this address, wecare@academyplazahotel.ie where myself and the management team can further look at your stay details. Again we are very thankful for your feedback. We would love if you would contact us on the above email where I could fully search your reservation and stay details. Due to the anonymity of TripAdvisor I cannot fully search by your name or other wise.

We thank you for your custom and feedback and we really wish you would pick us as your hotel of choice in future should you return to Dublin City Centre.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#37 of 150 in Dublin
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,588 reviews
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Plaza Hotel

Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin D01 X2X0, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#56 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $87 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is a family run business located in the heart of Dublin. Just off O'Connell street it is well connected to all means of transportation and a walking distance from Temple Bar, Croke park, business district as well as Dublin business convention centre. Our hotel has 304 newly refurbished bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms as well as a number of accessible rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, a fitness room and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. Our friendly staff provides excellent guest service with genuine friendliness and integrity so weather you re visiting for leisure or business it is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing