We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Academy Plaza Hotel
Ranked #42 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, staff very helpful, had us booked in within a few minutes, very friendly, explained to us about buffet breakfast that was included in our room price. Breakfast was enjoyable, all you could want. Hop on/ hop off bus is just around the corner, great location for exploring Dublin. After a day out in Dublin, we enjoyed a quite drink and a great meal in the hotels bar, prices and service very good. Our room was clean, comfy and very quite, could not ask for any better, would be happy to stay at the Best Western again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taniagordonw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear taniagordonw

Thank you so much for sharing you review about your stay with us. We are delighted that we have matched your expectations and given you a great stay. We are delighted to read that you got the most out of our excellent location. We are even more pleased to read that our staff were very helpful and informative. They really work hard in providing all our guests with all the information they need about out hotel, their stay and Dublin city in general.

We are so thrilled to have been commended so highly and we hope to see you again soon. Should you wish to contact us about anything further please do so on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie where we would love to hear from you again.

Best Regards

Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,687)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,232 - 2,238 of 4,687 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

Arrived early Friday afternoon (15 Nov 13) for a two night stay at the Plaza. The Hotel is tucked away just off O'Connell Street - which is THE main street in Dublin. The reception was quick and efficient and the girls attending very helpful. Got to our double room which was, as has been mentioned in other reviews, fairly small. Not quite enough room to swing a cat but more than adequate for only two nights. The bed was one of the comfiest I have slept in in any hotel. Breakfast was self service, full Irish available as well as an array of cereals and continental hams and cheeses. Although very busy, we never had to wait for a table, the staff have got it weighed off to a tee. The bar was a little too expensive but not unexpected. Would definitely recommend the hotel, we will certainly use it again in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePatersonGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Dear ThePatersonGang

Thank you so much for you fantastic review. We are delighted to have accommodated you during your time in Dublin and we are glad to see you shared your experience about your stay. Our central location is such a huge asset and a favourite among our guests who like to arrive and check in with a friendly atmosphere and go see what our city has to offer. We are so lucky to be situated off Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin's main thoroughfare. Our comfortable modern standard rooms have all the amenities you would expect from a great 3 star city centre hotel. However if guests feel like they would like to get something extra they can. When available we have upgrades available to our executive rooms for only €19.00.

We are delighted you go to sample our great breakfast offering. We try to have a large amount on offer at a great price too.

Thank you again for your great review. Should you wish to discuss anything further please mail us at wecare@academyplazahotel.ie

Best Regards

Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We booked this short break through our local travel agents which was excellent value, the coach operator was National Holidays and the coach took us on the ferry and direct to the hotel. This hotel is just off O'Connell Street and two minutes walk down to the river and then across to Temple Bar. The hotel entrance is very impressive, the bedrooms are quite small but spotlessly clean and everything you need. The staff are all very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor looking over the entrance to the hotel which was fine but I would think t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Dear Christine267

Thank you for the fantastic review. We are always please to see such positive 5 Star reviews. Our clean and friendly hotel is so central and I am glad to see you enjoyed it. Our modern hotel is quiet, attractive and comfortable and our friendly and efficient staff are here to help with any query guest may have with the city and our hotel. We are delighted to read and receive your fantastic feedback and we hope that maybe you will stay with us again in the near future.

Warm Regards

Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

A great location, very close to the main shopping street. Lots of great restaurants nearby too. The room was clean and tidy, maybe a bit small but was ok for the price. The service of all the staff was great. Room service choices may have been a bit limited but everything we did order was nice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fromthedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Dear fromthedale

Thank you for you sharing your feedback. We are so happy to see the five star rating. We are really glad you enjoyed our great location and good value price. There is so much to do in Dublin and we are glad to see that you went out and enjoyed it. So much is available on our doorstep. Our very comfortable rooms are fantastic and we have the option for guests who feel they would like to upgrade to a executive room we can do this for only €19.00.

Thank you so much for the great review and we hope you may come back and visit us soon. Where we can hopefully thank you for the kind words and welcome you back to Dublin.

Best Regards

Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel before. It's location is great for exploring Dublin on foot. Bus stops are opposite to/from Dublin Airport and for the sightseeing tours. Our room was very comfortable, however the couple in the room next to us let their door SLAM each time the went into or out of the room, sometimes waking us up. Also, we had a HUGE extractor pipe from the kitchen outside our room, which made a hell-of-a-racket. When we phoned down to reception about the noise we were told it went off at 10pm nightly. It did, but what they didn't tell us is that it fires up VERY early the following morning. I was fast asleep, it woke me up with such a fright (I like to have the window open at night) that I thought it was the fire alarm going off. Also, there is a nightclub next door. Although we did not notice any noise from it, there was a man being sick outside the hotel lobby when we walked back to the hotel one evening. The following morning there were broken bottles outside the hotel lobby.

Room Tip: Do not accept a back room by the kitchen's huge extarctor pipe/vent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissMoneypenny0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Dear MissMoneypenny0

We are very happy that you took the time to share your experience with us. Thank you. We are very pleased that you were a return guest and we would hope that you would choose us again whereby we could hopefully match your expectations and give you a superior service.

Our location is one of the key selling points here and we are so lucky to have everything on our doorstep along with efficient staff. I am sorry to hear that you were affected by noise during your stay. I can safely say that our maintenance team have looked at this and our fans are now on a timing system which will hopefully not affect our guests sleep experience.

While we cannot change our fantastic location we do accept that we are not the only business in the city centre and we have to accept the way of city centre life. Our night team now do frequent front of house checks where they endeavour to keep our hotel shining and what our customers expect.

Should you wish to discuss anything further we can be reached on the following address wecare@academyplazahotel.ie

Thank you so much your feedback.

Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hotel is in superb location, not only close to all attractions and shopping, the airport to city bus (airlink 747) also stops just right opposite the hotel. Cross the road, enter the hotel for check in and everything was done in less than 5min. Room was clean, spacious enough with a comfy bed. Staff were efficient and nice, we manage to have buffet breakfast on the last day at their "promotional price" which is 15 Euro for two, I would say its reasonable with good selections. Very lovely hotel, would stay here again if we go back to Dublin.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NanaLer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Dear NanaLer

Thank you so much for the fantastic review. We are so pleased and warmed to get such a positive recommendation shared online. We are thrilled to see you used the Airlink 747 bus to your advantage as it literally picks up and drops off on our door step. We are delighted to see that everything from your check in to your clean comfy room completely met your expectations. Our breakfast buffet is a fantastic offer where people can really kick start their day with an all you can eat buffet from a fantastic choice.

Thank you so much for the feedback and we hope to see you again really soon.

Best Regards

Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Very central location short walk to all the attractions and shopping. Room 226 lovely and quiet, clean, super comfy.would have loved to had a bath to relax in, but the shower was roomy efficient and sufficient. Friendly helpful staff, all the buffet breakfast that one would want, all self service. Had evening meal included in package, menu for this was a bit limited,, but spent extra and enjoyed good food with friendly service. Would def stay again.

Room Tip: we didnt go city center for the view, was happy room was quiet overlooking the side alleyway, never...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lazysusanN.Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Dear lazysusanN.Ireland

Thank you so much for submitting and sharing your fantastic review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the benefits out hotel has to offer. Many people do choose us for our central location and our modern rooms. We do like to think we try to excel in our class and our friendly and efficient staff are always on hand to help with any guest query.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet and dined in our restaurant for your evening meal. I am sorry to read that you feel our menu is limited. We do try to have a balanced and appealing menu for all tastes. I am glad to say we are revisiting our menu options and hopefully by the New Year we will have rolled out our new menu and you may even return to sample it.

Thank you again for the great feedback and we hope to see you again very soon.

Warm Regards

Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
1.4 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 150 in Dublin
2,044 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#54 of 150 in Dublin
2,072 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#43 of 150 in Dublin
2,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Plaza Hotel

Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin D01 X2X0, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#56 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $78 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is a family run business located in the heart of Dublin. Just off O'Connell street it is well connected to all means of transportation and a walking distance from Temple Bar, Croke park, business district as well as Dublin business convention centre. Our hotel has 304 newly refurbished bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms as well as a number of accessible rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, a fitness room and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. Our friendly staff provides excellent guest service with genuine friendliness and integrity so weather you re visiting for leisure or business it is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing