We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Academy Plaza Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Academy Plaza Hotel
Ranked #46 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Nice hotel, one the few that let us stay with three in the room so our options were limited. The hotel was large and the rooms were clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. The location was good, but not necessarily as central to all the main tourist sites as I would have liked considering we were only there for a weekend. Below a lot of reviews say the location was great, so everyone is different. But if you are there for a short visit you may want to just map out to the sites. Overall I would recommend this hotel though.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GinaTravels18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear GinaTravels18

Thank you so much for your feedback and your positive comments. We are delighted you chose our hotel and that you were so kind in your review. I am very thankful to you for mentioning our staff so positively. It is a great reward for them to be acknowledged so highly. They work very hard and really enjoy being helpful and friendly. We are a city centre hotel and we are located just off Dublin's Main thoroughfare O'Connell Street. We are walking distance to most of what Dublin city has to offer. Of course we cannot be in the same vicinity of all of the sites in the city. I am glad to say we are in close proximity to the majority of them and those that are not they are accessible by the Dublin City Tour bus which lucky for us leave from right outside our hotel.

We are delighted to receive your feedback and should you wish to discuss anything further I am at your disposal on mod@academyplazahotel.ie

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,630
    1,860
    611
    145
    52
See reviews for
737
1,862
280
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We found the room very comfortable, the beds soft and nice to sleep in.
The staff are very obliging, friendly and we'd be happy to stay here again if the opportunity arose.

The Hotel is incredibly central, and actually we couldn't have picked a better spot, so close to the Hop-on Hop-off bus services just across the road.

You might pay to check when you intend staying, because due to a late Ferry crossing we didn't get into our room until slightly after midnight on the Friday night. There was a very noisy disco running nearby which went to nearly 2 AM which I'd suggest kept many guests awake.
But in the end we were so tired that sleep came anyway.

I'd recommend this Hotel to anyone, but ask about discos etc before you come.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tassieNigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear tassieNigel

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback. I am delighted to read that you would recommend this hotel for anyone coming to Dublin. W-e also hope that maybe some time in the future you would return to us too. Your comments about our friendly and obliging staff are a great reward for all the hard work our ream to put in. We are encouraged to read that you made use of our central location which is a big plus for us and our guests to have Dublin city on their doorstep.

Should you wish to discuss anything further with me or the team here please feel free to email me on mod@academyplazahotel.ie where we would be delighted to assist you further.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife & I travel a fair amount and almost always stay at Marriott properties so we have a certain level of expectation. This hotel was a pleasant surprise. The location was great! One block off of O'Connell St which is main street in Dublin. It's only about a 10 minute walk to Temple Bar district, Dublin Castle, and another 5 to Trinity College. Taking the bus (Air Coach) from the airport is easy. It stops about one block from the hotel. Taxis are readily available.
Many pubs & restaurants in the area, but none better than Madigan's! Great food and even better service. Friendliest people you'll ever find.
The hotel was clean and the our room was decent size for a European hotel. We were traveling with 3 adults and a teenager and were concerned if we'd have enough space, but that concern was a non-issue. I notice some reviews say the rooms are small, but I think they're good sized compared to many other European hotels. Compared to US hotels, they are smaller.
Not the cheapest hotel in the area (not bad price though), but it's clean, quiet, friendly staff, experienced no problems, and GREAT location. I'd defiantly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Steve B

Thank you for the feedback. I am delighted to read that our hotel met your expectations. The whole team at our hotel are very encouraged to read your positive and informative comments. It is great to read that you made use of our wonderful location to your benefit and enjoyed what Dublin has to offer.

Again thank you for you wonderful review.

Best Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gruetli Laager, Tennessee
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel is in a great location. The Hop on Hop Off bus was just outside the hotel across the street. The air coach was less than a 5 minute walk on Upper O'Connell Street. The staff was always friendly and ready to help when you needed any assistance.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 5th floor in the far corner, it was quiet and the rooms from what we could see w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Charlene N

Thank you for your fantastic feedback. We are thrilled you enjoyed the hotel, location and its value for money. We are very pleased to read the comments on our friendly and efficient staff. Our team work very hard and do their utmost to always be willing to help and give assistance to any query a guest may have. I am glad you got to experience the benefits of our city centre hotel and its convenient location. We hope that you will stay with us again soon where we can hopefully impress you further.

Thank you so much for sharing the kind and positive experience you had with us.

Warmest Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel is well located and a very short walk to Connell Street, downtown Dublin. Parking is 1 minute away in a commercial lot, costing, with the hotel discount, about 12 euros a day, from memory. By US Best Western standards, the rooms are very small, but adequate, clean and reasonably appointed. One very strange thing, the tv is on a side wall and nowhere to sit and watch it? You lie sideways on the bed.The additional 9 odd euros for breakfast was worth the money, the room was marginal value for money.
The reception staff were helpful.
The James Joyce Centre is 5 minutes walk away, ask reception and they will also give you a good map.We found no evidence of a bad area although, 100 metres around the corner, the area is somewhat scruffy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Chrisq0

Thank you for taking the time out to share your feedback with us. We encourage all types of feedback as it helps us greatly in our day to day running of our business. We are delighted to read that you got your value for your money. Our rooms are as you say well appointed and we do have a big emphasis on cleanliness. We are happy that you availed of our breakfast special offer. We also provide upgrades to our executive rooms whereby you can upgrade from your double or single occupancy room and enjoy the comfort of a much bigger room with extra amenities provided. Once we have the room allocation available we can upgrade any of our clients at a cost €19.00.

We would love if you did choose us as your hotel of choice should you wish to return to Dublin City centre in the future. We are very thankful for your feedback and should you wish to discuss anything further I am at your disposal on mod@academyplazahotel.ie

Best Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel was booked for us and we spent two nights there in September. During our time in ireland and Northern Ireland, we stayed at one other hotel and three B&B's. All of them were much better, but did not cost any more. Our rooms at the Academy Plaza (one single room and one double room) were the smallest rooms we have ever had, and we have stayed all over the world. To be fair, the rooms were clean and housekeeping was very good. The people at the front desk were pleasant, but didn't follow through on requests. Our phone did not work the whole time we were there, and we reported it several times to several different shifts. Also, the night we checked in, we were very tired after a long drive. We asked if dinner was being served in the dining room and were told yes. We dropped our bags in our rooms and returned to the dining room, only to be told that they were closing for at least an hour, so we would have to wait to be seated and to be served. It wasn't even crowded! II think that the front desk should have informed us that they would be closed. We ended up walking around the corner and having a nice dinner at a pub called Madigans. Breakfast was plentiful at the Academy Plaza and tasty, but they kept running out of things, like coffee, milk, and eggs, and we had to wait a long time for them to be replaced. The staff were working hard, but there just were not enough of them to handle the number of people. As I have said, the hotel was ok, but I think one could do much better for the same price.

Room Tip: I would ask if they have normal sized rooms and ask them to guarantee that you get one if they do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear KerryNewJersey

Thank you for your feedback. All feedback we receive here is invaluable and we are very thankful that you took the time to tell us about your experience with us. Our housekeeping team work very hard in keeping and maintaing our high standards of cleanliness and comfort and I am glad you have mentioned it. We do have many different room types available and more on offer. All our standard rooms are very comfortable and are laid out with all the modern amenities you would expect in a three star hotel. We do provide a special value upgrades for our guests. You can upgrade for €19 for an executive room. These are of course on request and we would have had no problem in upgrading you.

I am disappointed to read that you wouldn't stay with here again and I am available on mod@academyplazahotel.ie should you wish to discuss this further. Due to the anonymous of Tripadvisor I cannot help in attaining your reservation.

Again thank you for your invaluable feedback and we hope you visit Ireland and Dublin again soon. Looking forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopedale, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We spent our first night in Ireland at this hotel. I knew the parking was a block away, so I wasn't surprised at that. I did have trouble finding the hotel at first, but we finally found it and the problem was that it was off a very alley like street. It was right across from the Gresham Hotel, but set back. The staff was wonderful to us. I left my vouchers at home and needed to reprint them and they were exceptionally helpful. The hop-on, hop off bus was right around the corner, there was a convenience store a block away and an ATM across the street. It was a great base from which to see Dublin. However, the restaurant was another thing. The service was abominable. I waited nearly an hour to get my check on our last night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theloneexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear theloneexplorer

We are thrilled to receive such a fantastic review. Thank you for choosing us as your city centre base for Dublin. Like any busy city centre it can be difficult to navigate around especially if it is your first trip to Dublin. We are always willing to provide exact directions by phone or by mail to all our guests and I would have been more than happy to help you in this regards. Thank you for the kind words. They are invaluable for staff feedback and to help fasten our team spirit.

The location is a huge positive for us. It helps in so many way for convenience and enjoyment for our guests when they come to visit us. I am disappointed to read that the service you received in our restaurant was as poor as you mentioned. This is not the standard we set out to provide. I would love to address this matter further with you if at all possible, as to where we we go it wrong. I can be contacted on mod@academyplazahotel.ie

Again thank you so much for your positive and helpful review. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,423 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,749 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Plaza Hotel

Property: Academy Plaza Hotel
Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin D01 X2X0, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#56 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is located in the heart of Dublin, just off the capital's main thoroughfare. Our hotel boasts 304 stunning new bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, an On Site Fitness Room, Beauty Salon and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing