We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Academy Plaza Hotel
Ranked #43 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel twice already! It's in an excellent location, safe neighbhorhood, and has all the neccesities to be a tourist hotel without breaking the bank. Just be aware that the noise can be slighty loud during peak season because your close to a couple bars. You can always take a shuttle bus from the airport directly across the street to this hotel.

Word to the wise, If using the internet stick to the wifi. We used the ethernet cord thinking it was also free. We had a bill of 25.00. Overall, It's a great hotel and the breakfast is not bad as well. However, you can walk down the street and get a cheap breakfast for 4 euros. This place I"m referring to is like a cafeteria style place. I really wish that I remembered the name. *sorry about that)

Oh yeah, the room is a little small compared to american hotels. But this should be expected when traveling to any european hotel.
Overall, great place and you will love the value of it.

Room Tip: Don't do the breakfast unless your willing to pay 15.00 euros.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,572)
There are newer reviews for Academy Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,216 - 2,222 of 4,572 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

After an early morning flight we arrived at the hotel far too early to check in, but that wasn't a problem as they were quite happy for us to leave our cases in the baggage room while we explored our surroundings. After check-in however we were allocated a room outside which the council were digging up the road. The noise of drilling was deafening. Again, no problem. We were switched to another, much larger and quieter room at the back of the hotel. (Were we upgraded from Standard?) The next four nights were plain sailing; comfortable, convenient and pleasant. (A small problem with the room safe was fixed quickly and efficiently.)

We only ate one evening meal in the hotel as we were usually out sampling the culinary delights of the city, but judging by that solitary experience the food on offer is good.

Literally two minutes away from O'Connell Street, Academy Plaza is a quality hotel in the perfect location for exploring Dublin, and we have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jongleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel is located off O'Connell street very close to all activity within walking distance to all pubs and nightlife. The hotel had breakfast included which was fantastic very filling. The room was very comfortable spotlessly clean and well decorated. Very comfortable. I had a lovely stay here and would highly recommend to anyone staying in Dublin.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hooley1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Spent one night here and was not disappointed. The room was clean and the hotel is in a great location, close to everything. Friendly staff and they even got us into our room a few hours before usual check in.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Evan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

There's no doubt it's wonderfully located right in the heart of Dublin and the service is quite acceptable. It's spotlessly clean and very comfortable. But it's hard to line up the price with the value you get. For 169 Euros I'd expect a view even if it's out over the street but all I got was a semi-dark view of an internal courtyard that would be better described as an air vent with plastic grass at it's base. The room wasn't big but that was half expected at the price in central Dublin.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and i stayed in this hotel for 2 nights, it was in a fab location for touring the city. Excellent for tour bus and airport bus. Very helpful pleasant staff, nothing was a problem. The room we had was spotless. Thank you

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geezabun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Best Western Academy Plaza Hotel is situated in the city center and convenient to many popular tourist spots. Transportation by city bus as well as the Luas is close by. The "green" hop on/off bus stops right outside . The airline 747 also stops there.
The rooms are small but efficiently set up. Bathrooms are reasonable and clean.
There is a very loud club next door but we did not hear a sound in our room.
Nice stay on a very popular weekend in Dublin.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank nanaburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#38 of 150 in Dublin
1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,583 reviews
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Plaza Hotel

Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin D01 X2X0, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#56 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $88 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is a family run business located in the heart of Dublin. Just off O'Connell street it is well connected to all means of transportation and a walking distance from Temple Bar, Croke park, business district as well as Dublin business convention centre. Our hotel has 304 newly refurbished bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms as well as a number of accessible rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, a fitness room and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. Our friendly staff provides excellent guest service with genuine friendliness and integrity so weather you re visiting for leisure or business it is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing