We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, modern clean rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Academy Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Academy Plaza Hotel
Ranked #46 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good location, modern clean rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Waited here for one night after the all-Ireland final. Room wasn't very big but it was clean & modern. The hotel is located just beside O'Connell st so it is a good central location for walking to croke park & there are plenty of shops nearby. The carpark is located across the road & is an extra charge. Staff were very friendly & helpful.
Would definitely wait here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brookieireIre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,634
    1,863
    613
    145
    52
See reviews for
737
1,868
282
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

comfortable quiet room with good facilities. Friendly and helpful desk staff. Stayed two night . good breakfast at discounted price with attentive staff.
Booked as a flight hotel package . Amazing value. and good location on the north side of the city centre, close to buses to airport and town

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

the location is excellent and that was the reason I chose this hotel. the hotel was clean, although the rooms were very small, but they had everything we needed, except for the fridge! if anyone is traveling with some kind of medication that needs to be stored in the fridge, you should be aware of that. they also do not store the luggage for more than a day and because we expected it to be as any other hotel that stores the luggage for a couple of days when you travel somewhere else and come back to the same hotel, we had to take it with us and pay $100 luggage fees at ryan air.

Room Tip: no fridge in the rooms, don't store luggage for more than a day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciara9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö, Sverige
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Tried our luck with this one and it was a winner! It's right next to O'Connell street. The bed were very comfy, a quite small bathroom though. We had the breakfast on the day of our departure, which was allright. It consisted of the usual Irish breakfast with continental elements. Would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyLeuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Nothing to love, not really anything to hate. Bathroom was small and water pressure was weak. Breakfast was cold and sub par all around. Basically this is a very basic hotel good for a couple days. The area around the hotel is well dodgy with a drug element on the streets, if I had kids I would be staying south of the Liffey.

I didn't pay as this was for business, but if I had to I would have felt ripped off.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OhBabyItsBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Perhaps it is my misfortune in being allocated a teeny tiny room, but I was not impressed by this hotel.

The location is not bad (although at 0645 in the morning I was advised by the receptionist on duty to avoid one of the side streets due to 'shady characters being about') and staff were very friendly. However, I have never had such a small room that I didn't have floor space for my suitcase. The bathroom is not a bad size, but like the room it could have been a tad cleaner.

All in all, not an experience to be repeated.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Well maintained, spotless, and excellently located hotel. We stayed for two nights in September 2013 and enjoyed our stay.
Some downsides:
1. WiFi in our room (329) was weak and only worked close to the rooms door.
2. No fridge...
3. Our TV was located in a very odd place on the wall (not really facing any of the beds or couch...)
Overall, a good stay and we will return if possible.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yoav G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,423 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,749 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Plaza Hotel

Property: Academy Plaza Hotel
Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin D01 X2X0, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#56 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is located in the heart of Dublin, just off the capital's main thoroughfare. Our hotel boasts 304 stunning new bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, an On Site Fitness Room, Beauty Salon and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing