We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Academy Plaza Hotel
Ranked #43 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

we stayed here for 3 nights and booked a double room.At the reception desk whilst checking in we were saying that this was our first in Dublin and we was celebrating our 23rd wedding anniversary.The receptionist crossed our room number out and gave we a executive suit on the first floor. the room was fantastic all the luxuries you could imagine.The food in the hotel was fantastic and the staff were very friendly. Couldn't have chose a better hotel.Dublin itself what can i say its a beautiful city with hop on hop off buses you can visit all the sites which we did and i would recommend the Guinness store house tour

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyrob4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,679
    1,931
    628
    151
    53
See reviews for
757
1,924
291
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Right in the centre of the city's north side, the Best Western Plus Academy Plaza is a great choice for the budget-minded traveller. Airport bus stops just across the road, with the Dublin 'Hop on, hop off' tour also departing nearby. Will be back the next time we stay in Dublin

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had a very small room that reminded me of a cruise ship. My children were given a larger room and my in laws had one still a different size. Interesting and frustrating at the same time. Not all rooms are the same, beware.

Room Tip: If you could, I would look at the room first so you don't get the tiny one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djpoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Booking for the all Ireland later than normal, I was short of choice but this hotel is great! Bus direct to/from Dublin airport stops right outside. It's just off o'connell street so quiet enough but close enough - about a 20 minute walk to crokers and also near to the hop on/off bus for touring! Plenty of places nearby to eat/drink but the hotels food us also very good!
We were so happy we actually booked up for this September too!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bing76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winslow, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed there for four days while in Dublin. The rooms were clean and spacious and they were conveniently located to the attractions, providing you do not mind the walking, which we didn't! Most of all they were very helpful in recommending restaurants and setting up our tours. I would stay there again and recommend them to anyone.

Room Tip: The Family suite offers a double bed as well as separate twins. It was ideal for a family of four!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We only stayed three nights and did not use the restaurant, but the hotel was just a few steps away from the main O'Connell street and particularly suitable for anyone with reduced mobility. The Dublin tour bus start just opposite the hotel and all the main sights are a stroll away. The airport bus runs every fifteen minutes and stops outside the hotel, but we took the taxi outside the hotel which was only 8 euros more than the bus. The hotel is clean and our room was spotless. We had a few minor problems with a burned out kettle and a poor wireless connection, but the staff were very good and sorted this out immediately. Would certainly stay again if I visit Dublin.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzywilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed for four nights at the Best Western Plus in Dublin and could not have been more pleased. The breakfast buffets were superb. The location is very close to everything, including bus tour stops and hop-on-hop-off buses. Everyone working in the hotel bent over backwards to help you and were so very pleasant! Can't say enough nice things about this hotel!

Room Tip: We had three to a room and it was very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaitnseeFrancie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 151 in Dublin
1,863 reviews
North City Centre
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Plaza Hotel

Property: Academy Plaza Hotel
Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin D01 X2X0, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#56 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is located in the heart of Dublin, just off the capital's main thoroughfare. Our hotel boasts 304 stunning new bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, an On Site Fitness Room, Beauty Salon and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing