We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a Mix of Good & Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Academy Plaza Hotel
Ranked #42 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This hotel has all the potential to be a 4 plus star establishment. It is in a great location; nicely appointed, has comfortable bedding, nice touches in the rooms and the common areas are well done. Were it not for all these factors, ours would have been a two star experience. The issue for us was less than good experience with service and a poor sleep experience. The service issue was an attempt at early check-in, a seeming indifference to the fact that we had an overnight flight. In addition, the first 2 wake up calls which we requested were never received, on the third request the call came 17 minutes late. The design of the hotel bathroom was incoherent, the bathroom door opened into the toilet and blocked access to half of the bathroom requiring one to straddle the loo to access the other side of the room. The biggest down side to this hotel is its proximity to a night club next door. The late night noise from music, drinking revelers and racing car engines kept us up until well after 2 AM on both a Friday and Saturday night. We had 4 others in our party who shared the same experience. A call to the front desk at that hour received an apology from the receptionist, not what one would hope to hear at that hour.

Bottom line: we would not return to the Academy Plus based upon our experiences.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the front of the hotel, especially on a Friday or Saturday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firecreek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,687)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,472 - 2,478 of 4,688 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

I recently stayed here with my family and although we didn't choose it because we bought a large vacation package that had our hotels planned, it ended up being a great place! The location is RIGHT in the heart of downtown Dublin, walking distance to all the major Dublin attractions and lots of touristy things, like shopping. The front desk staff were very nice and helpful, but could have given us a better introduction upon check-in, like mentioning the breakfast they offered that we could sign up for, or mentioning the fact that all the plugs were European, so if we needed to borrow an adapter, we could (which was GREAT they had them available once we knew about them!). The breakfast ended up being very good, for 7.5 euros a person. Overall, we really enjoyed our 2 night stay here and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Great hotel excellent staff. Our visit to this hotel was all the more enjoyable by the courteous and helpful staff. I sprained my ankle just before my trip so I was hampered in my ability to walk. I was provided with a wheelchair by most helpful staff and to my astonishment was upgraded to a triple room for my comfort. I have never had this level of treatment anywhere else. The rooms were not large but more than suitable for us. There was four in our party and we all got upgraded from twin to triple rooms. Breakfast was superb. And again the staff were exceptionally helpful. All were so cheery and pleasant. Altogether I found the people in Dublin really friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It was also very handy for getting around the shops and sightseeing and buses . And very handy for airport bus too. Just off O Connell street . Footnote. Couldn't. Wait to get to bed at night as beds were sooooo comfortable. Ignore my points for swimming pool hit wrong button and don't know how to delete it , didn't have swimming pool.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate6047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Great location (off O'Connell Street). The rooms are fairly small (we stayed in a double) but they are clean and the ensuites feature a bath which is great, plus the shower is lovely. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Fantastic value for money. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elle_M7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Got off to a bad start when the lady at the desk denied me access to my room in morning after my golf group package paid for the night before precisely so that I would have early check-in. Then, when I finally got into my room, after sitting the freezing cold lobby for several hours, it was so small that I had walk sideways to get past my tiny single bed. No closet. Just a tiny rack with a few of those annoying clip-on type hangers. The fitness room was a joke (about the size of my room), both dinner and breakfast in the restaurant were awful. Avoid this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TuanBesar69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Deputy Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear TuanBesar69

Thank you for you feedback. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Looking at you comments it seems as though we never matched your expectations. Since your arrival I can assure you that your reservation was highlighted with our Front Office team and management board the issues raised were brought to our attention and we since contacted your travel agency to apologise also. We want nothing more than to for our customers to be happy and offer our best possible service and allocation.

Due to the fact that you did arrive as a golf group and there can be certain anonymities with this. It can be tricky for us as we are not dealing with the guest directly themselves and this so happens you received a single room. Should the allocation be available we would have loved nothing more to offer you and upgrade. We do have larger rooms on option when the availability is there. We also have the option to upgrade rooms to an executive suite for only €19.00. Again I apologise that you were not happy with the room.

Regarding dinner on the night we had prepared a special menu for you and the general feedback was positive on the night. I already have discussed how we could have gotten this wrong. We make no secret of our gym here at the hotel. The primary reason we have this gym here is for our corporate & leisure guests who inquired for an area to train in. We do not advertise it as a leisure centre but as a small gesture for our guests to train in.

Thank you for letting us know about you stay with us. Should you wish to discuss this further or give us more feedback at the hotel please contact me on seamus@academyplazahotel.ie

Best Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed as a business traveller and it met my 3 main criteria: it is clean, it had a good bed, and it had a good shower. The hotel offers discounted rates, and it kept me in budget. The room indeed was *tiny* but a worthwhile tradeoff for the location. There was some noise from the terrace bar, but not enough to disturb me. I have stayed here before, and I will choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shallam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Deputy Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Shallam

I am delighted that we at the hotel provided you with a good stay and met your three very important factors clean hotel, good bed and a good shower. Your comments are very positive and I am very happy you shared them with us. Thank you.

We try our utmost to be competitive with our neighbours in the city and are looking at ways to always appeal to every customer. Our city is very competitive and we are delighted you choose us. With the comfortable clean rooms and free WiFi and being right in the city centre has its advantages. We do hope you will come and see us again soon.

Should you need to discuss this mail or your comments futher do not hesitate to contact me seamus@academyplzahotel.ie

Best Regards
Séamus Brennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

When I visit Dublin I always stay at the Academy Plaza Hotel. The staff are always very helpful and friendly. The hotel has complimentary wi-fi and newspapers and all rooms have a safe, coffee and tea making facilities, flatscreen TV and an iron board. Breakfast has something for everyone. The buffet offers hot and cold food, so nobody has to go hungry. All Dublin sights and shops are within walking distance. The Aircoach stops just around the corner, as do the city busses. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. I can’t recommend the Academy Plaza highly enough! Well done to everybody at the Academy Plaza!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColetteNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
1.4 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 150 in Dublin
2,044 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#54 of 150 in Dublin
2,072 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#43 of 150 in Dublin
2,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Plaza Hotel

Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin D01 X2X0, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#56 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $78 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is a family run business located in the heart of Dublin. Just off O'Connell street it is well connected to all means of transportation and a walking distance from Temple Bar, Croke park, business district as well as Dublin business convention centre. Our hotel has 304 newly refurbished bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms as well as a number of accessible rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, a fitness room and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. Our friendly staff provides excellent guest service with genuine friendliness and integrity so weather you re visiting for leisure or business it is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing