We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Academy Plaza Hotel
Ranked #42 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hotel is in a good location. You can walk to pretty much all the tourist stuff in the city in less than 15 mins and is very close to several bus stops and car parks. Average room to the money but te front desk was extreme friendly anf helpful.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor as there is a club near the hotel. We didnt go to bed until late but I ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,653)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,537 - 2,543 of 4,653 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

We came here for valentines weekend, and absolutely loved it! The hotel was really nice and clean, the staff were lovely and overall really enjoyed our stay! The room was a bit small but at such a good price it was expected! The gym wasn't amazing, but I think it's good they even had one! Really enjoyed ourselves and we'd definitely stay again. It was only a 10 minute walk from temple bar and 2 minutes from the other shopping so the location was amazing.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hdenn93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Excellent hotel, with the bus stop to and from the airport right outside the door as well as the Hop on/hop off Dublin tour bus. Hotel was clean and tidy in the reception area, very friendly staff. Check in was swift and even though our room wasn't ready we were able to stop off and leave our luggage until it was. We were offered a smoking or non smoking room.

The room itself was well equipped with tea and coffee making facilities. Not a huge room but a clean and tidy base for our visit, with internet access included in the room, remote control tv, beautifully clean bathroom with excellent bath and shower. Hot water was plentiful. Beds were very comfortable as well. We were on the 7th floor so not disturbed by any ground floor noise.

We did not visit the restaurant as were out and about.

A great base for a weekend away. Convenient for the centre of Dublin, just around the corner from O'Connell Street, 10 to 15 mins walk from Temple bar and Grafton Street area. Two mins from the nearest cinema and afternoon tea at the Gresham Hotel.

Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Higher floors bedroom better for less noise, back of hotel for less street noise but certainly was n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The rooms are beautiful and the people amazingly helpful! We were there for the Superbowl and the staff was very accomodating. We also had an early departure on Monday morning and they made sure that we were able to have our breakfast early prior to our departure for the airport.We look forward to visiting and staying again when in Dublin!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 850worldtraveler24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We arrived very early at the hotel & were told we may not be able to check in till later which is what we thought. As I was travelling on crutches the receptionist said she would try & find me a room we could check into immediately, she also offered us a room with a walk in shower (however I did decline this) the room was clean & tidy, not overly spacious but more than adequate. We took up a promotional offer for €15 pp for breakfast for our 2night stay. The shuttle bus to the airport is literally at the front door to the hotel & it is situated within walking distance of all the major attractions. We did have a small Issue with some noisy guests above us however the reception dealt with this very quickly. We would definitely return

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyrer4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2nights in Feb '13. Hotel is in a great location 10minute walk to all major attractions. Return airport bus only €10, stops outside the hotel. Service in the hotel was great, warm and welcoming. Would happily use this hotel again when visiting Dublin

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe_Mangan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The rooms are VERY small! It is clean and modern though. The bar and restaurant on site are uninspiring. The best part about it is the "hop on hop off" local tour bus starts across the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel K, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear Anne B

Thank you for your review of the hotel and bringing the above comments to my attention. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for not having met your expectations on this occasion in relation to the room size , restaurant and bar

Unfortunately a very limited number of our rooms are on the smaller size and are only put into use when hotel is full. Guests can be upgraded to a superior or executive room at cost €19 per night subject to availability.

Our aim here at the Academy Plaza Hotel is to make sure every guest is completely satisfied with there stay before departing. All comments you have made have been noted.

Once again I do apologize for not meeting your expectations. If you are in Dublin again and wish to make a booking for the hotel please do not hesitate to contact me directly and i would be delighted to make a booking for you.


Kind Regards
Hazel Kumbula
Sales & Marketing
Tel: 018174109
Email: hkumbula@academyplazahotel.ie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
1.4 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#32 of 151 in Dublin
2,022 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#54 of 151 in Dublin
2,056 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
2,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Plaza Hotel

Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin D01 X2X0, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#56 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $77 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is a family run business located in the heart of Dublin. Just off O'Connell street it is well connected to all means of transportation and a walking distance from Temple Bar, Croke park, business district as well as Dublin business convention centre. Our hotel has 304 newly refurbished bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms as well as a number of accessible rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, a fitness room and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. Our friendly staff provides excellent guest service with genuine friendliness and integrity so weather you re visiting for leisure or business it is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Splitty, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing