We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to base yourself in Dublin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Academy Plaza Hotel
Ranked #43 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed in a room with our two children (6&9). The room consisted of two single beds and a double. The room size was fine as were the comfort of the beds, shower and other facilities. The location was brilliant for the airport shuttle bus and the green hop on hop off bus that we absolutely loved. It was also very pleasant walk along OÇonnell st to the Temple Bar area and shopping spots in between.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brolga1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,571)
There are newer reviews for Academy Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,608 - 2,614 of 4,572 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

It is in a good location but is not a great hotel. The rooms are so small and need updating. Our shower handle was coming off and the soap dispenser came off of the wall when we tried to use it. It was clean just crappy over all.

The only good thing is the location.

Parking is expensive and not very close. It is a block or two away and the hotel is on a dead end street so loading and unloading your luggage is not easy.

Breakfast is not good with very limited options and no waiters. It is self service only and not worth even eating. Do yourself a favor and go some where else and get a real Irish breakfast!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srpiccollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel K, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear srpiccollo

Thank you for your very informative review of the hotel and bringing the above issues to my attention. I’m very disappointed to read that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for not having met your expectations on this occasion. Our aim here at the Academy Plaza Hotel is to make sure every guest is completely satisfied with there stay before departing.

The hotel offers car parking facilities opposite the hotel and also offers guest a special over night car park rate of €12.00 once a guest validates there car park ticket when checking out they can avail of this

In relation to breakfast we offer a full Irish traditional breakfast and on our buffet we serve rashers, sausages, eggs, puddings, beans, tomatoes, and mushrooms. We also serve fresh fruit, cereal, yoghurts and a variety of cooked cold meats, cheese. Breakfast is priced at €9.90 and you can have as many serving as you like.

Once again I do apologize for not meeting your expectations.

Kind Regards
Hazel Kumbula
Sales & Marketing
Tel: 018174109
Email: hkumbula@academyplazahotel.ie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Check in and out good but busy reception due to an overseas school trip. Room clean but very small, would be hard work with 2 people. Room clean, walls typically thin. The are better locations, I was told south of the river was better. Good free wifi. Plus point is the Airlink, bus stops right outside only 10 euro return and takes 20-30 minutes to airport

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank Mac4SouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel K, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Mac4SouthWales

Thank you for your very informative review of the hotel and bringing the above issues to my attention.I’m very disappointed to read that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for not having met your expectations on this occasion. Our aim here at the Academy Plaza Hotel is to make sure every guest is completely satisfied with there stay before departing.

If you are in Dublin again and would like to make a booking with the hotel please email me directly on hkumbula@academyplazahotel.ie and I will look after your booking enquiry.

Kind Regards
Hazel Kumbula
Sales & Marketing
Tel: 018174109

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here for our last three nights of our vacation. This hotel is very conveniently located with many places to walk to as well as using the hop on and hop off Dublin buses and the buses to the airport. The rooms are very pleasant and the breakfast is good. Many tour groups put up their guests here and the hotel lobby can be very busy. The front desk staff are very pleasant and efficient and we will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Ireland.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here on our last two nights in Ireland and compared to the other hotels we stayed at during our visit, this was our lowest rated hotel. It is centrally located to great shopping, dining, and sight-seeing. We easily accessed the Hop-on/Hop-off bus and were able to walk back to our hotel from St. Patrick's Cathedral and the Guinness Storehouse at our leisure. However, our room was quite small and our mattress was pretty beat. The lounge and restaurant were very good and the staff was very helpful. The hotel was 'sold out' both nights, most probably because of it's location and proximity to the airport. We traveled in rush hour to the airport and it took us less than 30 minutes to drive 7 miles. Overall, we had a good stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Really liked this place and are planning a second stay in it now. Right bang in the middle of my favourite city in the world! Clean, very clean, bedlinen and towels changed daily, room serviced properly, furniture new and well kept and interior modern and welcoming. No unpleasant odours or sounds. I've noticed that some people stayed in tiny rooms, but our was very spaceous (both the room and the ensuite). All together very pleasant stay. Would definitely recomend. Oh, but don't go for the breakfast if you don't want to overpay for cheap sausages and eggs swimming in grease. In general breakfast was probably what you would expect from a hotel one, but if you like good food go to town and explore as I am sure you will be more pleased with something from numerous cafes in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was our first time out of the county. We arrived into Dublin and the Academy Plaza around 6am. It was our first experience. We weren't able to check in, but we were able to check our luggage, and start to explore the city. We walked for a while, before returning to the hotel. Our key to the luggage closet would only work once before we had to have it reprogrammed each time. This might be an anti-theft tatic, so really no bother to us. They were kind to let us relax in the lobby until our room was ready at Noon, which was a few hours before check-in. Check in was quick, they girls seemed overwhelmed, pleasant but quick with everyone looking to get in, get out, get cabs, etc. Once arriving to our room, we struggled with lights. I know that may sound like something everyone should know how to turn on, but again, its our first time aboard... not like home. We stayed in 10 different hotels, and in every other hotel they told/asked about the lights... small detail, but kind of important! We asked for more toilet paper when we got back to our room after walking around town, and it never came. The main reason we booked this hotel was the fact they had a king size bed. Perfect! Except its two beds pushed together.
Its a nice hotel for the money, and it very close to Temple Bar, Trinity College, etc.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel K, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Allison N

Thank you for your very informative review of the hotel and bringing the above issues to my attention.I’m very disappointed to read that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for not having met your expectations on this occasion. Our aim here at the Academy Plaza Hotel is to make sure every guest is completely satisfied with there stay before departing.

If you are in Dublin again and would like to make a booking with the hotel please email me directly on hkumbula@academyplazahotel.ie and I will look after your booking enquiry.

Kind Regards
Hazel Kumbula
Sales & Marketing
Tel: 0035318174109

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#38 of 150 in Dublin
1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,583 reviews
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Plaza Hotel

Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin D01 X2X0, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#56 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $88 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is a family run business located in the heart of Dublin. Just off O'Connell street it is well connected to all means of transportation and a walking distance from Temple Bar, Croke park, business district as well as Dublin business convention centre. Our hotel has 304 newly refurbished bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms as well as a number of accessible rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, a fitness room and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. Our friendly staff provides excellent guest service with genuine friendliness and integrity so weather you re visiting for leisure or business it is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing