We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good , clean , affordable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Academy Plaza Hotel
Ranked #46 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good , clean , affordable hotel”
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

We have just got back from a. very enjoyable 3 night stay at the Academy Plaza Hotel.It is situated at the top of O'Connell Street , right next to the shops and about 5/6 minute walk from Temple Bar Area.The hotel is clean modern and affordable.The rooms are of a good size .The bar/reception areas are very clean and nicely decorated .Although we didn't eat at the hotel we did use the bar and lounge which we enjoyed very much.we were able to use the internet facilities to print off our return boarding passes , saving time at the Airport.My only tiny complaint would be the shower which leaked water onto the bathroom floor because it was adapted for disabled people, so instead of a tray it just had a raised. lip which didn't really suffice.But hey, it wont stop us from returning next time we visit Dublin. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivanjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,669
    1,912
    626
    150
    53
See reviews for
750
1,913
289
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We (3 friends) spent our first 3 days/2 night in Dublin, at the Academy Plaza Hotel. It was PERFECT! Close to shopping, pubs, Hop On - Hop Off bus, the rooms were clean, service was good, and the fitness center got the job done.

Our two weeks in Ireland, we stayed at 6 different hotels, B & B's and a castle. This property had the BEST pillows and bedding.

I would stay here again and highly recommend

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krafty91384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and the experience was great. Our flight arrived EARLY and we were at the hotel by 8:30AM. We were able to check-in at 11AM (before the 2pm check-in time). The shower was warm, the room (bed and bathroom too) were clean, and the bed was the most comfortable I have slept in for the entire vacation. I highly recommend this hotel.

The 747 Airlink (stop #7, I think) is directly across the street from the hotel - quick and easy to get to from the airport. The hop on/off bus stops right outside the hotel as well. The location is great and it's about a 15 minute walk to the Dublin tourism center (across the river).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsmooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel is in a convenient location for seeing the sites of Dublin. It is on the north side of the river. While most of the sites and the actions are on the south side, it is a quick and easy walk from the hotel and, as a plus, the hotel is in a much more quiet location. The rooms are very basic and a bit on the small side. We stayed in a corner room that had one small window that was high up on the wall. This made the room feel a bit claustrophobic. But, when you're in Dublin, you hopefully aren't spending much time in your hotel room.

The shower in our room basically dribbled -- hardly any water came out at all. Also, I can blow harder than the hairdryer provided in the room. Given all this, it took us a bit longer than usual to shower, get the soap out of our hair and dry our hair. But, the room was comfortable, clean and quiet, and it felt safe and that's really all we expect from a hotel.

The staff at the front desk were very friendly and very helpful and knowledgeable about Dublin's sites and getting around the city. If you are looking for a reasonably priced, clean, comfortable and no-frills hotel, the Best Western Plus off Upper O'Connell will fit the bill.

Room Tip: There is a bar located next to the hotel that stays open late and plays very loud music. Our room fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank murnaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel K, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear murnaloo

Thank you for your very informative review of the hotel and bringing the above issues to my attention. I’m very disappointed to read that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for not having met your expectations on this occasion. Our aim here at the Academy Plaza Hotel is to make sure every guest is completely satisfied with there stay before departing.

In relation to your room being small unfortunately a very limited number of our rooms are on the smaller size and are only put into use when hotel is full and we should have conveyed this message to you with a view to move you immediate to our standard rooms so I must apologize if you were not notified on that also guests can be upgraded to a superior or executive room at cost €19 per night.

If you are in Dublin again and would like to make a booking with the hotel please email me directly on hkumbula@academyplazahotel.ie and I will look after your booking inquiry.

Kind Regards
Hazel Kumbula
Sales & Marketing
Tel: 018174109
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Good things:
----------------
-Location
-Housekeeping: Rooms are always clean and shining.

Bad Things:
---------------
-Gym: it's one tiny room, without ventilation, with one machine and no dumbbells :S
-Breakfast: sometimes you can wait half an hour in a queue just to be served. Don't be surprised if you see dirty plates because it always happen when the hotel is fully booked.
- I spent one month in the hotel and i had to activate my card daily to be able to enter the gym, it's either they don't know how to activate it for a month or they don't know :D
- Restaurant: they serve nice food but very few choices for a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Said_Abi_Nader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel K, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Said_AbiNader

Thank you for bringing the above issues to my attention. We are very disappointed to read that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay. We would like to take this opportunity to apologise for not having met your expectations on this occasion

We would like the opportunity to discuss your stay with us further. If you could email me on hkumbula@academyplazahotel.ie with your details i will get intouch with you directly.

Once again we sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused. I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards
Hazel Kumbula
Sales & Marketing
Tel: 018174109
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, Ireland.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel is right in the heart of Dublin, it's beautiful inside, the staff are brilliant from the reception staff the waiters/waitress & cleaning staff & not forgetting Seamus ( duty manager ) a great guy. While we were there my wife had an embarrassing situation which left her a bit up set ( I should say NO FAULT of any staff member ) I raised the issue with Seamus he delt with the issue very professionally and made sure my wife and I were looked after. The food in this hotel is lovely, the rooms are modern and comfortable with free wifi. The prices are very competitive too. THIS IS THE PLACE TO STAY IN DUBLIN!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great in this hotel, you just can't go wrong in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aphantom67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,486 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#34 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Plaza Hotel

Property: Academy Plaza Hotel
Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin D01 X2X0, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#56 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is located in the heart of Dublin, just off the capital's main thoroughfare. Our hotel boasts 304 stunning new bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, an On Site Fitness Room, Beauty Salon and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing