We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel in a great location”
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #12 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2010

We stayed in March 2010 for a special birthday and were given one of the older rooms at the back of the hotel. However, I loved this room as I felt there was much more privacy and less noise than other rooms at the front of the hotel. On noticing that we had been given a family room which was not needed the receptionist upgraded us to a larger room just for the two of us The breakfast at the hotel was amazing and offered so much choice, the staff were also efficient and helpful. The hotel was very well placed to explore Dublin I recommend a trip to the Guiness factory. It was defiantly worth the money and made the birthday extra special.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kat17_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,967 - 3,973 of 4,695 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2010

The Ashling is located very close to train station, bus stops & LUAS stops. Food is good and the menu has a good selection. Lite meals in the Pub are also very good. The Pub staff is great. The front desk staff could use some work, " not the sharpest tools in the shed" As they try to be helpful I found that if you did not see it happen don't count on them to make it happen. This is a great location for a holiday as it is not too far out of the center center and located with in walking distance from the Zoo and Phoenix Park.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EAN_Diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

We found this hotel to be very nice, very clean, very accommodating. CIE Tours did a nice job of providing lovely hotels during our tour. Loved every minute of it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adir0ndack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

The walls are paper thin! The TV in the room next to us stayed on until 3:00am. We turned ours on at 6:00am when we got up to catch our flight. Bring earplugs if your room is on the front since the train runs late at night. Then there are the smokers standing outside the front door at all hours of the night talking loudly.
Overall the staff was friendly and helpful. We just had a hard time getting some sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Ashling. The room was great value, clean, tidy and looked like it had been recently refurbished. The location of the hotel is great, just outside of the city centre, but very close to Heuston Station and tram stops. Our 2 year old son was with us, but the staff provided a cot and were incredibly helpul and friendly. The buffet breakfast was great too.

A couple of notes: the car park costs 7 Euros per day and our room didn't have any view. But these are very minor things and overall we were very impressed and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamesey010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

The Ashling Hotel was a great place to stay. The location was convenient for transporation. Staff were helpful and friendly: we arrived from the airport at 10am and they let us check in at 11am--three hours early. Will be going back for a return trip next year and staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia2kute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

we have went to Dublin for a few years staff there remembered us they are very friendly and made time to speak to us each day we really enjoyed our stay staff are so friendly and really nice

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deirdre025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,679 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 150 in Dublin
2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,189 reviews
Kilmainham
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $111 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing