We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very convenient for public transport”
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #17 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very convenient for public transport”
Reviewed September 1, 2007

My husband and I stayed there for 2 nights, August 30th to 1st Sept. Check in at hotel was at 2.00pm and we arrived in Dublin early in the morning, we were able to leave our luggage at the hotel and go around Dublin. I strongly recommend getting a rambler ticket (cost 8.50 euros for 2 adults and children) from a sweet shop at the airport [a very kind lady bus driver told us about this ]and have unlimited travel around Dublin for both of us including from airport onwards. The Ashling is very convenient for the train station and loads of buses which go to the city and also for the 748 airlink bus which starts its journey next to Heuston train station. We also visited the famous Kilmainham gaol which is only 3 stops from the train station. The hotel was comfortable, clean and quiet, the worst thing was the lift to the rooms as it was constantly busy and full, sometimes we had to wait a while for space in it, so sometimes we walked.

  • Liked — convenience to public transport
  • Disliked — the crowded lifts
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkHali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,403
    1,625
    346
    73
    39
See reviews for
913
2,008
191
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (823)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Devon
Level 6 Contributor
617 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 555 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2007

This hotel is excellent value for money; as others have indicated, if you don't wish to walk, the trams are so easy to use to get into the centre. I had a room with one double and two single beds on the top floor and heard no noise - though the view might not be fantastic.

The menu at Ryans Restaurant just a few metres away is exellent value for money.

  • Liked — Location close to city
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hetton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2007

Me and my wife stayed at this hotel for one night on our honeymoon before flying back to England to go on our proper honeymoon. The hotel was situated about 20 minutes walk away from the Temple bar area of dublin. The walk was great as it was by the river which at night was light up. The hotel is also right next to a tram line so transport was great.

The room itself was good with eveything working and the bed was very comfortable. The room also was clean and tidy and it had good parking which was essential.

Th hotel is enough distance away from the busy temple bar area so that you could get a good nights sleep but is also within walking distance to the shop and bars.

Good city break hotel especially for those with cars as the hotel has its own multi storey car park which the hotel let us stay in till late in the evening after we had checked out.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markie_Burrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham, nc
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2007

I found the hotel from Trip Advisor and Booked on Best Western's Website. We arrived very early and knew we wouldn't be able to check it, but we were able to store our luggage and went out for the day. The location is ideal to Guinness and Old Jameson Factory. The LUAS tram is adjacent to hotel and inexpensive (for Dublin). It was only 3 Stops to Temple Bar.

The Rooms were clean, comfortable and had the basics. You're not paying for a lot of amenities. The staff was overall polite, but not overly friendly, but I'm not paying for that.

Breakfast was the standard Irish Buffet. Filling, but not healthy.

Would definitely recommend the hotel and would stay again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of Personality of Employees
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bigworldlittletime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2007

Enjoyed a two night stay. Good standard of cleanliness.
Within walking distance of the Guinness Factory and the tram stop for travel to and from City Centre.

  • Liked — bar facilities
  • Disliked — hen parties !
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeatherhoneyWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2007

We had a comfortable stay at the Ashling in a triple room with a double and two single beds which were very comfortable (but the pillows were a bit thin). We had all we needed; everything was very clean and well-maintained and the security is good. The reception staff were efficient but not especially friendly or welcoming; a smile would have been nice. I would stay in this hotel again. We didn't use the restaurant or bar. The location is ideal for public transport with trains, buses and the LUAS tram a couple of moments away, but beware of trying to get on the LUAS with a suitcase in peak time; there is no queueing system and the tram gets very crowded - people barge on regardless of how long others may have been waiting. It's fine at other times and is the fastest way into the city centre. We would recommend the Guinness Storehouse, the open-top bus tours, and the Brazen Head pub for food and music.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, value
  • Disliked — Unfriendly reception staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poppins2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2007

We Stayed in The Ashling for two nights, on arrival our non-smoking room smelt of cigarette smoke, i informed reception and Eugene, the Duty Manager, moved us to a larger room and offered us complimentry drinks from the Hotel Bar. He was very professional in his approach to our problem and we were happy with the solution.

The location of the Ashling Hotel is excellent, the LUAS (Tram) runs outside the hotel and the Train Station is a 5 minute walk across from the Hotel where you can catch a bus into the City Centre.

The rooms were clean, beds comfortable, selection of TV channels could be better, (Teenager with us !! )

Breakfast very good also. The Ashling rates 3 star and i think this is a fair description of it.

We will stay there again when visiting Dublin

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — TV (Portable Set) and selection of Channels
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank univibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.8 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,541 reviews
3.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,962 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,210 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Property: Ashling Hotel
Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing