We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, shame about the bedrooms (and the wi-fi)”
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #12 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2010

Very conveniently located for Heuston Station. Friendly staff but not much of an atmosphere.

I stayed on the 4th Floor, which may not have received a make over yet... as a result, there were a mix of smoking and non-smoking rooms on the floor. No air conditioning and windows that overlooked a noisy street - trash collected @ 6am!

Also there was no Internet connection in the bed rooms - sorry for the inconvenience. Whilst "good value" it may be worth looking for something a little more complete.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank digitalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,736)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,055 - 4,061 of 4,736 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2010

Perfect spot for a one-nighter after taking the train from Cork. I was heading back to the US the next day and didn't have a car anymore, so this was a great spot for me. It was a five-minute walk from Heuston Station and also close to the tram into the City Centre. My room was clean and recently renovated, and I had a great view of the city. I didn't spend much time here (went out for dinner/drinks so didn't experience the restaurant) but it was a good base to repack my suitcase, get a good night's sleep, and catch an early taxi to the airport (and I think I paid $88--great deal).

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kpaigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

I stayed here with my teenage daughter while on a shopping trip to Dublin. It was great to just drop our bags & go about our business when we arrived. We just got off the train at the train station, crossed the bridge to the hotel, dropped our bags & got either a LUAS or a bus more or less from the hotel to wherever we wanted to go. There was good choice at dinner & breakfast & the room was fine. Next day we left all of our shopping / luggage there while we did some more shopping & just picked our bags up on the way back to the train. Very convenient.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
1  Thank daily90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

We almost always choose B&B's when traveling abroad, but in this case we chose a hotel just across the street from the train station where we would be arriving and from which we could catch the airlink bus to the airport. We'd hoped (and reviews indicated) that it would be adequate for our needs. The atmosphere was like that of a well run American Hotel: very clean room and comfortable bed with all the expected amenities. We prefer places which reflect the country and the people, but the Ashling met our needs in every way for what we wanted at that moment. There was no breakfast included, but the rates certainly compared favorably with other accomodations in Dublin. Besides being near our major transportation needs, the location was convenient for getting into downtown Dublin. We walked part way and took a local bus the rest of the way.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

I stayed here for six nights while in Dublin. The location, though away from Dublin Center, was convenient as it was on the tram line into town and near a major train station. This location away from the city center made the hotel fairly quiet. The hotel had a convenient lounge with good food and mediocre service. The room was large and clean. I would not buy tickets for the Dublin Sightseeing tour from the front desk. We were sold the wrong tour company and charged the wrong price as well. Wait to buy your tickets from the bus driver. For the price I got, this was a good place to stay; there was just nothing exceptional about the service so hence the average rating.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuts4TravelSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

The Ashling was a wonderful place for so many reasons. The staff was informative and very helpful. The buffet breakfast offered a nice variety of food choices and the pub food was quite good. The hotel is located very close to the Luas and bus stops, as well as the train station, making travel in and around Dublin very easy. I highly recommend The Ashling.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LStewart2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

would recommend this hotel to families or couples. ten mins walking from centre of Dublin but yet far enough away from temple bar maddness but easily accessible if you want. We got a room on 7th floor on an upgrade of 30 euro extra. well worth it..it was lovely, great view.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livelife29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,723 reviews
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 150 in Dublin
2,062 reviews
Kilmainham
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#12 Family Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $120 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing