We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Tourist City Hotel”
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #13 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2006

Stayed at the Ashling on business. Regular Best Western hotel, rooms average nothing special, I experienced some external noise at night but nothing too annoying, the hotel has a multi-story car park, which is free for quests. The bar area is quite small and doubles up as a bistro type restaurant, there is another restaurant on site but I cant comment on the food quality in the evening as we didn’t eat at the hotel but the buffet style breakfast is good. The hotel is about 20 minute walk from the Temple Bar and shopping areas but there is a tram stop just down the road.

Ok hotel for tourist and business purposes alike – nothing special to stand out from the rest.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Travelsanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,564)
There are newer reviews for Ashling Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,044 - 4,050 of 4,564 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2006

Stayed at the Ashling last week, 5theDec to 8th.
The hotel was fine ,we had a good room 250,which overlooked the River Liffy,and to-ward Houston Station. Although the traffic was continuos outside ,from dawn to evening,the double,double glazing eradicated any noise.
Nice warm room comrortable beds,lovely clean bathroom,TV,and coffee on tap. No Problems.
got the bus straight from the airport ,to Houston station,very reasonable,9e return each.
good location ,away from the noise,but very close to the centre ,accessed by Tram or Bus No Problem.
Two great "Pubs" within two minutes walk, Ryans and Nancy Hands,absolutely superb in character and good food. The People are superb,in both,customers and all and all.
The only problem we had was the WEATHER it was just awfull,wind and rain throughout, worst for years apparently.
But whatever we enjoyed ,and would recommend the Ashling.
Paul & Dee Woodruff, Lancaster<England

3  Thank top chef woodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2006

Stayed at the Best Western Ashling during November 2006. Very good value. Arrived early so was able to leave luggage at hotel until able to check in. Outside appearence of the hotel does not do the inside justice very pleasent and welcoming. The hotel is in a perfect location with both Heusten Station and the tram and bus stop just over the road only a few minutes ride into the centre. Was disappointed with the food in the Guiness Lounge very expensive and not worth the money would advise to eat outside the hotel. The hotel is in walking distance from Dublin Zoo, well worth a visit excellent value from money. Highlight of the trip was Kilmainham Gaol prison probably the best attraction in dublin. Located about 15 minutes walk from the Ashling but definitely not to be missed. Overall, very pleased with hotel had everything we needed will definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2006

Stayed at the ashling for 2 nights on the 28th oct for my 40th birthday. The hotel room was very clean and roomy. If you want a good nights sleep then you wont be dissapointed. The beds are so comfy, wanted to take it home. If you get breakfast included you are spoilt for choice. They even had boiled eggs to order, with soldiers of course.
Definately be returning to ashling real soon. If you get chance to have a snack from the bar, try a turkey and cranberry sandwich really nice.

Stayed: October 2006
5  Thank jellybelter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2006

The hotel room we had was huge, absolutely massive compared to normal hotel rooms. Maybe because this was above the bar. Although the noise did not effect our stay and was never open to late. The location of the hotel is ideal. Just 1 min walk to the tram (LUAS), the bus station (to & from the city centre and airport) and the city tour bus. As for safety, who walks around big city suburbs late at night anyway!! There is no pleasing some people. What do you want for 70 pound. You could get a better hotel but then you have to pay the extra, i think this hotel is just fine.You can even store your luggage safely on departure day. Me and my girlfriend thought it was good!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William&Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2006

We have just returned from a three day trip to Dublin staying at the Ashling Hotel. It is a clean and comfortable hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was included in our price. If you came away hungry, it can only be your own fault. There was absolutely every thing you could want. We knew it was a long way out before we booked. It was a good 30min walk. I would advise using the tram which runs passed the hotel. We would definitely recommend it if you want a quiet location.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NewTravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2006

Stayed here for a weekend away without kids!!!! Dublin is a very cosmopolitan city, extremely busy and expensive!! Ashling Hotel is out of the main shopping/bar areas but that didn't bother us as it is very well placed for buses, airportlink, trains, trams and the city tour bus. Dublin's transport system is very good and you never wait long for a bus/tram. City tour is well worth doing only 14 euros per adult and ticket last 24 hours and you hop and off as many times as you like. The tour guides are very funny and make it most entertaining. The hotel was fine for a short break, bed was hugh, room spacious and clean and housekeeping no problem as clean towels, more toiletries, coffee, tea etc left each day. Breakfast was lovely and plenty of it. Guiness lounge has a nice atmosphere, Cobblestone Bistro food was gorgeous but there is no atmosphere, no background music playing etc. We went to the local pub "Ryans" up the road, very welcoming and friendly. Shops are pretty much the same as in any city and lots of them. Temple Bar we went to Fitzsimmons right on the river Liffy with a roof top open bar which was really nice, shame it faced the back and not over looking the river. All in all we had a great weekend and would certainly recommend the Ashling if you do't mind a bus ride out and taxi ride as last tram is 11.30pm.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank libemijoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.8 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,588 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
3.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
1.0 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $121 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing