We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #16 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

The hotel is new, clean, is situated very near Euston Station and on a Luas line for Connolly \station and the city centre.
Good breakfast, attentive staff, plenty of space for relaxing if you are waiting and very good value.
Highly recommended if you do not want to spend a fortune in a city centre hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 240fedora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you so much for this lovely review about your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was delighted to read all of your comments and especially pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and felt our staff were attentive. I will be delighted to welcome you back to us if you are ever back in Dublin.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,272
    1,550
    332
    72
    33
See reviews for
843
1,920
182
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (789)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

I took my wife to Dublin as a birthday treat and in selecting a hotel considered previous reviews here on Trip Adviser. Glad to say the hotel lived up to expectations.

Conveniently situated only a 2 minute walk from Houston rail/bus station and only a 5-10 minute Luas (tram) ride to O'Connell Street. It is in a quite location overlooking the Liffey River and within 5-10 minutes walk to Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Pheonix park, Dublin Zoo and several museums.

On arriving at 8:30 a.m. we were offered an immediate upgrade to a room that was available for us to check into straight away and the staff were extremely helpful.

Our room (superior king) was spacious, clean and well equiped and serviced well during our 3 day stay. Breakfast was wonderful with plenty to choose from whether you prefer a traditional Irish fry up or want the continental alternative (I sampled both options and they both left me wanting more).

The staff couldn't have been more helpful and were a delight to deal with, always smiling and willing to help no matter what your request.

There is a choice of the main restaurant (The Chesterfield) or the Iveagh bar which serves lighter food but of an excellent quality.

If you are looking for a quality hotel, conveniently located but not directly in the bussling city centre then you won't go wrong in selection The Ashling

On my next rrip to Dublin this hotel will definately be at the top of my list of accomodation

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for this fantastic review of your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel for your wife's birthday. I was delighted to read all of your comments and especially pleased to read your thoughts about your room, and about our staff. Thank you for recommending us to others. I hope to welcome you back to us in the near future.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
150 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Lovely modern Hotel, nice spacious rooms:
On site parking at a small cost:
Luas just across from the hotel which brings you directly to O2 where I was attending a concert:
Lovely Bar and bar food:
If you want to stay away from the city centre madness but also have cheap transport into town centre and all that is to see in Dublin it is a gem.
Also adjacent to the train station.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gcsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was delighted to read your comments about the bar and our location. I will be delighted to welcome you back to us again in the future.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed at this hotel a few days leading up to St. Patrick's day and were very pleased. It's conveniently located opposite the Heuston train station, which makes it easily accessible via the 747 airport bus and easy to get the tram into the city. The Guinness storehouse is also just a short 15 minutes walk away. Although there is a taxi stand right in front of the hotel's entrance. We were celebrating a very important occasion and were really delighted when we were upgraded to a better room. Another pleasant surprise was that in the restaurant they had gluten free options, including gluten free bread and pasta. The room was comfortable, the staff friendly and the location although not in the center of Dublin was convenient. Definitely consider this hotel if you're visiting Dublin!

Room Tip: Great views from room 708!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sralenteja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for this lovely review of your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was delighted to read all of your comments and especially pleased to read that we were able to upgrade your room type. We have a good selection of gluten free food in both our lunch and dinner menus, and for breakfast, as we are aware that this is a growing need. Thank you for saying to other readers to definitely consider us if they are visiting Dublin, and I hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
428 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

As a business traveller who likes to experience a bit of central Dublin but who likes to get a really good break for the border in the morning (the border being the M50), then the Ashling is the perfect place. Parking is on site and the hotel is right at the border of central Dublin (great for a walk into town at night and a swift exit by car in the morning). However, the Ashling court the tourist clientele hard and it's not often you can get a room last minute as a business guest. That's great for the Irish tourist trade and as a businessman great to see. I stay in Dublin perhaps twice to three times per month and very frequently check to see if a room is available as it is a friendly and efficient hotel but if they are fully booked as often they are, it gives a warm feeling to know that oversees visitors are enjoying good Dublin hospitality and I just go to the next establishment on my list. Keep it up Ashling Hotel, I will keep booking with you every now and again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for your comments about the Ashling Hotel. I was very pleased to read your thoughts about how we cater for both tourists and business guests. We do value both and hope that we have enough to offer both types of guest as we would not want to lose either. I am delighted to hear that you will continue to book with us from time to time. On that note, as a business guest I do hope you have a corporate rate with us. If not, just give us a call on 016772324 and ask for our Sales and Marketing Manager who will be delighted to help you set one up.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights in March for a city break to Dublin. Great wow factor reception pink and black with fabulous lighting. Spacious rooms, great breakfasts, very close to the Luas stop Museum. We got a pass for the luas so that you can hop on/off and get into the city centre very easily.

While there was no one feature of the hotel that really stood out, what was so refreshing was that everything worked very well. The room was spacious and very comfortable. The bathroom well equipped. The breakfast was excellent and definitely saved us buying lunches!

All in all, excellent value. Clean. Well equipped and very friendly atmosphere.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LizzyRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you so much for this lovely review of your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was delighted to read that you found everything great, and could not really fault anything. Thank you for saying that our breakfast was excellent. I hope to welcome you back to us again soon.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

I took my daughter to Dublin for 8 days. After a long overseas flight we arrived tired but eager to enjoy the city. The check in was a breeze.

The room we were assigned was located in the back of the hotel. It was very dated. I called down to the front desk thinking there was a mistake as it was nothing like what the British Airways site had indicated. I was told that there was nothing they would do and that the room we received was what was the package I had ordered. DO NOT even think that the photos on the BA site are what you will get!!

Not wanting to ruin the trip with complaining we carried on.

After two days I left a card on the door citing that the shower drain was slow and that we didn't have a bathroom fan (no one called to resolve).

This is not a 4 star hotel. The level of room cleanliness and offerings are not to that standard.

I sent a note to the Manager about our room experience and to date have not had a response.... we checked out on March 15th.

The location is really great for heading to the tourist areas but the area is a little rough at night.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 343.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beetle225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. I have checked on the BA website and you did stay in one of the rooms advertised. We have two tiers of rooms in the hotel, our standard (classic) rooms and our superior rooms. We only sell these standard (classic) rooms with BA. It is regrettable that you did not like the room that you had paid for.
I must say that I am sorry nobody got back to you with the shower drain and the bathroom fan. I have now made our maintenance team aware of both so thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.8 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,351 reviews
3.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,658 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,751 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Property: Ashling Hotel
Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing