We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year in Dublin”
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #14 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We travelled as a family to spend New Year in Dublin. I phoned the hotel the day before as our flight was arriving in at 0930hrs and check in was not till 3pm to see if we could access our rooms early and was told to come to the desk on arrival. We arrived at 10 in morning and went to the desk as arranged and was told to come back at 3 which was disappointing as we wanted a rest before heading out for the nights events. We eventually got access to our room just after 2 and had a sleep although missed the people procession which was a bit disappointing for us but sleep took over. However it is clearly stated that the access to the rooms is 3pm, so really i cant complain too much, more a moan! The rooms were big enough for our family of four although none of the family rooms faced the front of the hotel as this is what I requested and told none faced the front. The walls are thin and the hairdryer is only very short of useless. Take your own if you can. The room suited our needs, was clean and tidy and we had no complaints and the breakfast was very nice and plentiful, Buffet style. Access to bus, tram and train are all within 2-3 mins walk. Would book again if going with the family.

Room Tip: Family rooms only appear to face back and side and not front. Walls thin but thankfully no guests w...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljt1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. I was glad we were able to check you and your family in a little earlier than 3pm, as we can be very busy at times, and cannot always guarantee it. I was also pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast. I would be delighted to welcome you and your family back to us again.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,554)
There are newer reviews for Ashling Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,743 - 2,749 of 4,555 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

I visited Ireland for the first time with my family.It was my dad's 60th birthday.
We found a very good deal when booking our holiday and was also shocked to find it looked like a very nice hotel too!! Appeared to be central to a lot of attractions..
On arrival we were impressed. The front desk were very attentive.. And we even checked into our room before check in time. However the view outside of our room wasn't fantastic.. We had a car park. Nevertheless the room was very clean and cosy!
One day I ordered a pot of tea which I waited over 45 mins for when I asked at the bar they were very apologetic and Katie (bar staff) got me a drinks voucher and treated me to a lovely cocktail later that eveningg.
Lovely hotel and central to everything.
Looking forward to my return!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siobhan_kj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for this lovely review of the Ashling Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you are looking forward to your return. I apologise for the wait on the tea, but I was glad to hear that Katie sorted the problem for you. I was also pleased to read that you found the staff at the front desk attentive. I look forward to welcoming you back to us again.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We have just arrived back from dublin 4hrs ago and we are already looking to book again . We found the staff to be very helpful at all times , one person in particular is very freindly & very welcoming (Silvana) and she couldn't help enough , always smiling & very bubbly . The hotel is great value for money . Food is excellent , rooms really clean , situated in a great location . We could not fault this hotel at all .

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philip w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for this lovely review of the Ashling Hotel. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff welcoming. I will be sure to show this review to Silvana and I am positive that she will be delighted to have had a special mention. I look forward to welcoming you back to us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Just returned from a 3 day break over New Year. The hotel is in an excellent location across from Heuston Station and the Guiness Storehouse. The zoo is about a 10 min walk and the tram stop a few mins away, there are always taxis outside as well. A walk to Temple Bar is straight forward and takes about 30 mins or jump on the tram.
The hotel itself is lovely and the staff very helpful and friendly. We had a superior king room with a balcony and the bed is huge. The room is spacious and the decor nice, only fault is the poor lighting in both bedroom and bathroom. We had a full Irish breakfast every day and tried the set dinner menu, food excellent. Would definately stay here again

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor and had no problems with noise at the front of the hotel
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudydudy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for this lovely review of the Ashling Hotel. I was so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dinner in Chesterfields restaurant and that you would definitely stay here again. I would be delighted to welcome you back to us.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Such a good hotel, really well maintained! Beautiful surroundings! Great service! 10 min walk from Dublin zoo!!
Lovely food the bar and restaurant afe spot on!! Breakfast: everything you will ever need! Even live lobster in the tank! Could not adk for more!! BRILLIANT!! ONly issue is its isnt 10 min walk from the temple bar area its prob 25 min but its such a good hotel! Would defo recommend :-) up the road to your left is a nice lil pub that does thee nicest guiness pie!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahruddick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for this lovely review of the Ashling Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed everything about your stay and that you especially enjoyed our breakfast. I would be delighted to welcome you back to us in the future.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Just returned home after spending 2 nights over New Year in Dublin staying at the Ashling Hotel. The hotel was modern, clean and the staff were exceptionally professional, helpful and friendly. We stayed on a Bed and breakfast basis and would highly recommend the breakfast, well worth the money.The hotel is about a 30 minute walk into Dublin city centre but it is an easy route, just follow the Liffey. If you prefer not to walk the hotel is on the tram route into the city centre.The tram stop is 3 minutes from the hotel and runs approx every 10 minutes.
If you have the opportunity to upgrade to a delux king room do it! The size of the bed, room and bathroom are amazing.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel can be quite noisy in the morning as the hotel is on a busy road jun...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments about your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was delighted to read that you found your bedroom great and the location of the hotel suitable. I was also pleased to read that you enjoyed the breakfast. I would be delighted to welcome you back to us in the future.

Kindest Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in this hotel over the New Year period, and would happily return. Bed was large and comfy, en suite room clean and well equipped for a few days break in the city. Location is within walking distance of Dublin Zoo and the town centre, and nearby are stops for the buses and trams. Staff were friendly and efficient, check-in was easy. Good choice of menus for breakfast or meals throughout the day. All in all, the hotel had a lovely feel about it, well decorated, clean, friendly, and is definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JR236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments about your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our breakfast and location great. Thank you for saying that you would recommend us to others. I would be delighted to welcome you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.8 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,583 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
3.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
1.0 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $121 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing