We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Is this Oz or the Ashling Hotel?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #17 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Is this Oz or the Ashling Hotel?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

After cycling 55 km from Trim in the summer of 2013's unprecedented heat wave, we experienced the elation that Dorothy, the Scarecrow, the Tin Man and the Lion must have felt as they were about to enter the gates to the Emerald City of Oz. We opened Knockmaroon Gates's large ornate iron doors, peered in at the lush greenery, and began the pleasant pedal through Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed urban park, to our trip's final destination--Dublin's internationally recognized four-star Ashling Hotel.

As we had made our approach to the capital city along R149 earlier in the day, we had spotted about half of Dublin basking on the boulders along the River Liffey; the other half were now spread out over Phoenix Park's expansive 1750 acres--picnicking, reading, relaxing, kicking soccer balls, and chasing soap bubbles blown from their bubble wands. Everyone was out to enjoy the sunshine and work on their tans. We had been told that the the U.S. Ambassador's residence, the Irish Presidential Palace (Aras an Uachtarain), and the Dublin Zoo had addresses in the park but, in our zeal to get to the Ashling, we missed them all.

We received a cordial welcome in the Ashling Hotel's reception area and then made our way to our rooms, which we found to be quite serviceable, with free wifi, and decor and furnishings that were modern, comfortable, and clean. Our children heralded their room as being air conditioned--our A/C appeared to be out of service but we were pleased to cool down with a shower in the beautiful bathroom.

That evening our bicycle group chose to walk along the Liffey and dine at Ristorante Romano, 12 Capel Street, a family-run Italian restaurant whose proprietors obviously had great admiration for one of Dublin's own--Stephen Roche. The restaurant was decorated with posters, jerseys, bikes, and memorabilia from Roche's Le Tour de France Triple Crown of victories with stage wins in the Giro d'Italia and the World road race championships (ca. 1987-1993). After having just completed a 300 kilometer tour atop bicycles exploring the historical and cultural sites north of Dublin, it was a delicious gastronomical choice and fitting atmosphere for our group's final dinner together.

In the morning we walked down to the hotel's Chesterfield Restaurant which boasted a bountiful international buffet. We were cordially welcomed by the hotel restaurant staff, shown to our table, and offered tea and coffee. After having consumed, over the past week, many variations of the Irish Ulster breakfast (beans, bacon, eggs, tomatoes, puddings, and toast), we were absolutely reveling upon seeing the diverse breakfast specialties from all over the world offered for our enjoyment--German cheese, meats, and croissants, French soft cheeses, fresh fruits, dried fruits, granolas, hot Irish porridges, nuts, a wonderful assortment of world breads, sweet rolls, and the hot Irish breakfast for those so desiring . A sumptuous and most appreciated feast.

Upon check-out, we asked the concierge if they wouldn't mind holding our bags for the day while we explored the neighborhood sites unencumbered. After they happily obliged we walked to Kilmainham Gaol and Museum (one of the largest unoccupied jails in Europe and site of the incarceration of many Irishmen and women who struggled for political independence against the Crown) and the Guinness Storehouse and Brewery (home of Ireland's most famous beverage and Ireland's number one international visitor attraction--an amazing interactive tour rivaling anything Disney presents!). Also within walking distance from the hotel are the Dublin Zoo (which the hotel claims is their back garden), Collins Barracks, the National Museum of Ireland, and the Irish Museum of Modern Art housed in the Royal Hospital, Kilmainham.

The Ashling Hotel offers top notch hotel service, comfortable accommodations, and a most satisfying breakfast buffet; a convenient transit system with the Heuston Railway Station and Luas Tram's red line positioned literally at the hotel's doorstep; a premier and safe location for exploring the restaurants and night life along the River Liffey's pedestrian path; and comfortable walking possibilities to some of Dublin's most highly respected cultural, historical, and recreational sites. Like Dorothy and her friends who were treated royally in the Emerald City of Oz, we were more than pleased with our stay at Dublin's Ashling Hotel in the Emerald Isle.

Room Tip: Check to make sure your air conditioner works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you so much for this great review of the Ashling Hotel, and of your time in Dublin. Every so often we get a review that makes us truly happy to hear how we impact on the customers overall experience, and this was one of them. I am so delighted to hear that everything was fantastic whilst you were here in Dublin, and I would be over the moon to welcome you back to us.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,220
    1,524
    329
    72
    32
See reviews for
827
1,885
179
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (777)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here at the beginning and end of our trip to Ireland. We goofed up on our reservation and reserved rooms for the week before we arrived. This was entirely fault but The Ashling front desk staff could not have been more helpful, even honoring the rate from the previous week. Unfortunately, they could only accommodate us for the first night but they helped us find another place and made reservations for the second night at the Maldron which was fine but not as nice as The Ashling. We did return for our last night after touring around for a week.

We also enjoyed great service at the bar. They were quite kind and were able to get us all a sandwich even though the kitchen was technically closed. The Irish breakfast was delicious as well.

We had a triple room for ourselves and our college age daughter. There was plenty of room and we really appreciated the fact that we could open the windows. The beds were comfortable and we were quite satisfied.

The front desk was also quite helpful in helping us to find a nice restaurant. They really went above and beyond.

We will definitely return when our travels bring us to Dublin.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JesseHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for this lovely review about the Ashling Hotel. I was so pleased to hear that we were able to help resolve the issue you had with your booking, and this then made your whole holiday that little bit more stress free. Thank you for your kind words about our staff. I would be delighted to welcome you back to us if you are ever back in Dublin.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

There is nothing extraordinary about this hotel, but then again there is really nothing to complain about either. Friendly checkin with comp. upgrade to a slightly larger room, however with courtyard view - so nothing too swanky. Free WIFI as expected. Overall good breakfast buffet with friendly team greeting & seating. The team working in the hotel bar is as well very friendly and accommodating - assisting with tips for sightseeings & good shopping advice etc.

If you are looking for a clean, comfortable, modern budget hotel very close to Heuston railway station & the Luas Tram that will take you directly to the city center I can recommend that you book your Dublin experience to this hotel. I was not dissapointed and will return on my next passage to Dublin city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IaInIdIrIeIaIsI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for this lovely review of your stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was delighted to read all of your comments, especially those about the Wifi and our staff. I would be delighted to welcome you back to us on your next journey to Dublin.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Just spent the weekend here for my partners birthday and we couldnt have been happier with the servcie we got. The room was spacious, classy and very comfy. We had a great view out the front of the hotel over the pond. We only used the bar once but the service was promt and the place looked lovely. The front desk staff were by far the most helpful people ive come across. They gave us directions and advice on the trips we were going on and even recommended some great places to eat. Hotel is in an ideal location. We will most defintely be back next year!

Room Tip: rooms on the fourth floor were very modern, very classy and had a lovely floor to ceiling window in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments about your stay at the Ashling. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay for your partner's birthday. I was especially pleased to read your comments about your room and our reception staff. I would be delighted to welcome you back to us next year.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

This hotel is in an ideal location in Dublin, the staff are very friendly and the service is always first class.
My 9 year old nephew stayed with me and from the minute we entered the hotel he was made feel very special.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoloMurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for this lovely review about your stay in the hotel. I was delighted to hear that we made your 9 year old nephew feel special, as we strive to make all of our guests feel welcome, and especially our younger guests. I would be delighted to welcome you back to us in the future.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Have stayed here a number of times for business and pleasure. It has a great location close to Heuston station and on the Red luas line. The rooms are well equipped and spacious. The Restaurant is top notch, the quality of food and the choice is rather unexpected especially for the many meal inclusive deals the hotel offers. Bar is comfortable and has a good atmosphere although like most of Dublin is overpriced. And last but certainly not least, the crowning jewel of this hotel is the staff. Helpful without being annoying. They make you feel comfortable and welcome particularly when travelling on your own.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for this lovely review about your stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was so pleased to read all of your comments and especially delighted to read your point about our staff being helpful without being annoying. I hope to welcome you back to us soon.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

The Ashling Hotel is a wonderful place to stay. It is near the Heustin station, near the Luas, and walking distance to Trinity College, Guinness, Jameson's, and Christ Church. The staff is fabulous, friendly knowledgeable and helpful. The buffet breakfast is fabulous! All in all a great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mollymartin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel. It is lovely for our staff to have received such positive feedback and I will be sure to put this review up on our staff notice board. I was also delighted to read that you enjoyed our breakfast and found our location great. I hope to welcome you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.8 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,270 reviews
3.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,574 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,039 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Property: Ashling Hotel
Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing