We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good start to tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #18 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“good start to tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our first stop in Ireland on our tour after getting off the plane. Very nice hotel, friendly hotel (they let me borrow a power adapter rather than paying for one). The planned food was good and the room was suite size.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harborctylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your stay with us. I was so pleased to hear that we were a good starting point for your tour. I would be delighted to welcome you back to us again in the future, if you are ever back in Dublin.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,901
    1,341
    295
    65
    33
See reviews for
702
1,634
153
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (703)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
275 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We drove here and parked in their garage (thankful it is on-site). It is a tight space, but fine if you don't hurry. Our room was fine, no complaints. WiFi wasn't great, but worked ok. Breakfast was fine - quite a few choices. Really nothing great or bad, worked well for our night. We walked to dinner and walked down the street to the museum.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeremyHakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was pleased to hear that your stay was pleasant, and would be delighted if you could join us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moosup, Connecticut
Level Contributor
120 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed here as part of a tour group(10/9+10/10). Small rooms;updated bathroom. North of river Liffey, next to Collins Barrack/National Museum. Short walk to Phoenix Park and Dublin Zoo.Jamesons and 1 3/4 miles to St Stephen's Green. Caution advised if walking after dark Extensive breakfast buffet in Iveagh Dining room for many tour groups. Hot selections were barely warm

Room Tip: As Luas tracks are within 2 feet of hotel, ask for side or rear facing room. Trains runto past midn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SissyBiff2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. It is unfortunate to read that you felt the accommodation was basic, but I appreciate your honesty. I was so glad to read however, that you found our location good for the Phoenix Park, and other tourist attractions. I was also pleased to read your comments about our breakfast. I would be delighted to welcome you back to us, if you are ever back in Dublin.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

I just returned from a one night stay in this hotel and decided to read the bad reviews before writing this. The bad reviews must be about a different hotel because my experience here bore no similarities with any of them. This was my third time staying here this year. On every occasion I have found everything about this hotel to be wonderful. The staff are all extremely pleasant and friendly and the staff in the bar and restaurant couldn't be more friendly. The staff in the bar seemed to be in great form and I noticed how well they interacted with each other, joking at times which to me made the hotel seem like a happy place to work!!
I was asked at reception if I had stayed before and I said I had. Without anything being said my room was upgraded. A very nice touch! I decided to eat in the bar and the food was excellent as always. The breakfast is incredible and the last time I was there I noticed people actually came in just to have breakfast!! No more needs to said if it can attract people who aren't guests!! Once again I cannot see how there could be any bad reviews at all unless there was an entire change of staff, food, bedrooms, electrics, wifi etc!

I will be back and would recommend this highly! Thanks to all concerned.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Tommy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you so much for this lovely review of the Ashling Hotel. I was so pleased to read all of your comments and truly appreciate them. I am so glad to hear your experiences have always been positive, and I would be delighted to welcome you back to us.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zebbug, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the Ashling for 2nights in July 2013 after visiting Belfast. When we arrived at the hotel, the receptionist welcomed us warmingly and also said she loved our country (Malta) which made me feel more welcome. The room was really nice and spacious with a nice view of the garden in front of the hotel. The hotel is literally a walking distance to Jameson Distillery, Guinness Storehouse and right next to an interesting museum. Right next to the hotel are a really good steak restaurant and a fun pub (Eamonn Rea's) with really friendly people. The breakfast food was delicious and there is a lot of choice from where to choose.

Something which we didn't use but might be really useful for other people is the laundry service. For a charge, the hotel offers to clean any clothing you want.

Overall it was a fantastic experience, both in Dublin and at the Ashling Hotel. Really recommend it to other visitors.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rach A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for this lovely review of the Ashling Hotel. It was really nice to read all of your comments, and I was especially glad to hear you received great customer service from our staff. If you are ever back in Dublin, I would be delighted to welcome you back to us.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Due to a misunderstanding regarding currency conversion, I paid way more than I wanted to. The reservation was made quickly as I was boarding a flight. Upon arrival, we decided to chalk it up to inexperience and enjoy our 2 day stay. We could walk from the hotel to most attractions, and we could run in Phoenix Park which was close by. The room was very large and was perfect for our family of four.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djholloway50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was pleased to hear that your misunderstanding worked out well in the end. I was especially glad to hear that you made the most of the location, and went for a run in the Phoenix Park. I would be delighted if you were to come back to us again, if you are ever back in Dublin.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, IA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

As other reviewers have noted, the Ashling is superbly situated steps from Heuston Station (convenient because the Airlink 747 bus from the airport terminates at Heuston). It is away from the city center (which is good, because the hotel is quiet), but an easy walk and an easier ride on the Luas tram. (Purchase a LEAP Card at Heuston Station to make riding Luas and the buses more convenient.)

The room was large, clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was enormous, with myriad choices of hot and cold foods. The staff couldn't have been nicer. This is a large property, but it appears to be very well managed. I will stay here again on my next visit to Dublin.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heartland23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so much for this lovely review of the Ashling Hotel. I was delighted to read all of your comments and was especially delighted to hear that you found our location great for what you needed. I would be delighted to welcome you back to us again in the future.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.8 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#4 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,845 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
3.7 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,249 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
2.6 mi away
The Gibson Hotel
The Gibson Hotel
#14 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Property: Ashling Hotel
Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing