We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adored the place!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #16 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Adored the place!!!”
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

After a troublesome first day traveling to Dublin, the Ashling gave us exactly what we needed! The service is superb, can't express how much we appreciated the friendly staff. We were upgraded to a larger room on arrival ( maybe they could tell we were exhausted) and ended up having dinner at the hotel restaurant. Food was excellent and the waiters gave us a great laugh!
A huge thanks to the hotel. I Highly recommend the place to others!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshTudor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for this lovely review of the hotel. I was delighted to read that you found the service great, and the food excellent. I would be delighted to welcome you back to us, if you are ever back in Dublin.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,263
    1,544
    331
    72
    33
See reviews for
841
1,910
182
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (788)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for only 1 night on the 16th September, when we arrived and showed our reservation voucher we were asked to take a seat and was asked if we wanted drinks, I thought this was a very nice touch, when we was seated we decided to order bar food which was reasonably priced for Dublin.
The receptionist came into the bar to inform us that the company that we had booked through had gone into administration......so we had no booking! However they did have rooms for us but we would have to pay again and it was twice as much as we had originally paid. Obviously we weren't happy about this and I think then the duty manager came over. He did try to reduce our room rate a little and did sort out our bar food which we really were not expecting.
The room we got was for 4 (it was huge) but not a refurbished room unfortunately, however it was spotlessly clean with plenty of shampoo, soap & body lotion in the bathroom.
It wasn't a king size bed and that was my only moan.
Breakfast was really good, with lots to choose from.
From the minuet we arrived to when we left I thought the staff was amazing and they are a credit t the hotel. They even charged our mobile because we had forgot to bring ours!
We would definitely stay at this hotel again & would recommend it to people. Well done Ashling Hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracy131971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about your stay with us. I was sorry to hear that your booking had been compromised by the company you had made your reservation with, but I was glad to read that we were able to sort all of this out for you. Thank you for mentioning our staff and I hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My email below will serve as a review for this wonderful hotel:

Last night we were heavily disturbed by a racket in room 519. Your staff did everything they could to stop the noise so we could sleep. Today Eugene and Rosaline came to our room and apologized and offered to upgrade us for our final night in Ireland. We are now in beautiful room 605, more than we could have imagined, greeted with champagne on ice.

Why this is more important than you know...

The reason we are in Ireland is because my best friend was to be married to her Dublin fiance at Clontarf. He called off the wedding but all her friends and family were coming from Canada, so she came also.

This week her and I have been spending together trying to help her deal with this immense shock.

Tonight is our last night together and we have this gorgeous room to enjoy.

The customer service we received was incredible, but in the circumstances it became even more meaningful.

Your staff do not know this story and I wanted to share it so that they could understand what their kindness and service meant on this difficult trip to Dublin.

Thank you a million times.

PS. If you need a taxi in Dublin Dennis (Denny) Byrne is your man. You can often find him in the taxi queue outside the Ashling. He took us everywhere, counselled us, and was always reliable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlondieInTheDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for this truly lovely review about your stay at the Ashling. I am so glad that we were able to make this experience an enjoyable one. I have made sure that all staff have been able to view this review, and not just the people mentioned. I have also informed Denny that he got a special mention. I would be delighted to welcome you back to us if you are ever back in Dublin. Thank you again.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Greeted by cheerful charming and helpful reception staff, spacious room, great meal in bar restaurant, breakfast top quality and excellent service, altogether a great base for our 2 night stay in Dublin.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments about your stay at the Ashling Hotel. It was great to hear your comments about our reception staff and also about your room. I would be delighted to welcome you back to us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We just returned from our trip to Dublin and it was awesome. I did quit a bit of research on the hotels in Dublin and finally settled on The Ashling Hotel and let me tell you, it was a great choice. The hotel is beautiful, well maintained, friendly staff, and super location.

We had a corner room on the 7th floor and the views were really nice. Room was just right for two people and the bathroom was BIG with a walkin shower and a bathtub, double sink, plenty towels. If I had to say anything negative about the room was that the lighting in the bathroom was rather dim. The wife just used the light from the window to do her makeup, it was no problem. King bed made sleeping a dream, lots of room to place your bags about. There was a safe to place your valuables which the wife did place her jewelery in for safe keeping.

The restaurant has exceptional food, we only did breakfast which had a choice of hot bar or continental, so much food! The bar was awesome with local beers on tap, and everything you'd expect from a hotel bar. Large sectionals offered a great place to unwind with a pint after touring the city. The bar food was good, try the fish and chips!

Location, location, location, is the word and the Ashling has it. Directly across the street is the Guinness brewery (awesome tour), and adjacent to that is the train station. All access to Dublin and Ireland is right at your doorstep. The Hop-on/Hop-off tour bus stops adjacent to the hotel, the LUIS train (Dublin) is right across the street, and there are taxi's a plenty everywhere. The LUIS train goes all over the city so no need for taxi's. There's a small convenience store just up the hill past Ryan's Pub (worth a visit) that has an ATM and things like water, cokes, chips, and spirits.

All-in-all, I give the Ashling Hotel a 5 out of 5. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Dublin.

Room Tip: Rooms were nice, some bigger than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howboutcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you so much for this wonderful review of the Ashling. I was so pleased to hear that we ticked all of the boxes during your stay with us. I am so glad that you found our location great for visiting all of the attractions around Dublin, and that you found the hotel lovely. I would be delighted to welcome you back to us, if you are back in Dublin.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We Loved this Hotel !! We had an Easy Check in and went to our room and Wow it was gorgeous with a Huge Bathroom , Excellent view and very Clean and spacious with a Huge Bed !! The Breakfast was Excellent with alot of choices and definitely value for money , we also had a meal here and it too was very Yummy !! We found everything to be perfect and would happily stay here again !!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you so much for this wonderful review about your stay. It was really lovely to read all of your comments, and to hear that you would happily come back to us again.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

booked thru Exploring Ireland - room was very comfortable and spacious - breakfast was included in a pleasant restaurant - this was our 1st day so we had a bit of trouble parking because everything was so small in the garage !!! When we checked out we were asked where we were going - the young lady checking us gave us her friend's name who worked at the hotel we were going to in Belfast - and he was very helpful when we arrived in Belfast

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane0516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for this lovely review of the Ashling Hotel. I was pleased to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and that you also found our staff helpful. I would be delighted to welcome you back to us again, if you are ever back in Dublin.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.8 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4,338 reviews
3.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
3,650 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
3,096 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 153 in Dublin
3,743 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Property: Ashling Hotel
Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing