We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality property in a good location”
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #16 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, Virginia
Level Contributor
376 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Quality property in a good location”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Very nice hotel with friendly service away from the tourist crowds. Adjacent to the train station and easily accessible to city center by tram. Outstanding restaurant is a great choice for dinner, but expensive for breakfast. Nice spacious rooms at a good price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernjack1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments about the Ashling Hotel. I was pleased to hear that you received friendly service from our staff, and that you found our location great for accessing the city centre. I would be delighted to welcome you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,330
    1,592
    341
    72
    39
See reviews for
867
1,973
183
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (804)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
345 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My last night in Dublin required a stay near the Hueston Train Station. A cab driver recommended the Ashling. what a refreshing and wonderful hotel! Great atmosphere, beautiful room, great restaurant with a world class wine menu and delicious food. This hotel actually looks, feels like, acts like, and delivers 4 star accommodations. wish I had found this place two weeks ago. While this hotel is not cheap, it does provide true class at a reasonable price for the services offered. If I ever return to Dublin, this will be my hotel of choice. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Rooms that can accommodate three people are larger and slightly more luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlesodonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Ashling Hotel. It was really lovely to read all you had to say about your time with us. I would be delighted to welcome you back to us again in the future.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines Iowa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Booked at Ashling through Rail Tours. At first I was not happy about the location, wanting to be closer to city centre. As it turned out, we was glad to be away from the busy areas, and it is a very easy jump on the Luas to get to anywhere, also right across from Hueston Station. The hotel was fine, clean, friendly staff. If you have the opportunity to upgrade to a King room, do it. Especially on the 6th floor as there are patio doors to get more fresh air. Our first room was not air conditioned and although the temps are not hot, it was very humid, especially after showering. We did get a fan and that helped. Breakfast is served late for us as we had to be up and out early to catch the train, not even coffee was available until later. Not like American hotels where coffee is available 24/7. There was instant available in the rooms.

Room Tip: Sixth floor King, with patio doors and one king bed with huge bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DizeeDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your review about your stay at the Ashling Hotel. It was lovely to read your comments. Upgrading is definitely the way to go, especially in the hot weather. If you are ever back with us, please let the night staff know that you will be leaving early and they can have a continental breakfast ready for you, or a packed breakfast for you to take with you.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel itself is lovely and great customer service awaits you. In case you are booking a room with two beds, make sure you specify that- apparently, two beds mean "double", and "double bed" might mean something else, there. Just be aware of it.

The location is ok, in a quiet area by the river, but a little far from the Temple Bar area...if you don't mind cabbing or taking trains, you should be ok. Breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTheRunChgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your stay with us. I am not too sure what you mean about the room types, but just for clarification from our side, a twin room has two single beds and a double room has one double bed in it. I hope that clears things up a bit. Again, thank you for your comments and I would be delighted to welcome you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Across from the train station so it is a easy hotel to find and to use as a base. It does take a tram to get down town but the hop on hop off bus stops close by. The hotel was as new with very good rooms. The expensive breakfast was a negative and we went downtown to the Parisienne cafe... breakfast was 6 euros.

Room Tip: The older we get the more we apreciate the little comforts, this place has them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Califbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your stay in the Ashling Hotel. I was pleased to hear that you were happy with our location and your room. Our breakfast is currently priced at €10 for a continental, or €12 for a full Irish, and we have an extensive selection with over 100 items to choose from. I am sorry that you did not get to sample any of it, but I hope your breakfast in the city centre was enjoyable. I would be delighted to welcome you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Although this hotel is not in the centre of Dublin, there are very good transport links, being close to the station. The Citilink buses run from the airport to Heuston station which is only a couple of hundred yards from the hotel and only costs 6 euros. The tramline runs past the hotel and there are hop on hop off buses which will take you to the tourist attractions throughout the city which stop closeby. The hotel was very welcoming and our room at the front of the hotel was clean and comfortable with a nice view over a small park with the Guiness factory beyond. The breakfast was excellent and we ate a couple of times in the Iveagh bar at a reasonable cost and had no complaints.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the hotel which had a nice outlook, although there was a little noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you so much for this lovely review of the Ashling Hotel. You seem to have made the most of our public transport systems which are fantastic, and right on our doorstep. I would be delighted to welcome you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killorglin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

had an evening meal there a week ago with my kids after the zoo,staff were friendly comfy seating area on sofas food was nice but could be improved,chicken both in the thai curry and noodle stir fry was dry and dark in colour ,thai sauce needed more heat salad with burger was inferior and the EATON MESS./RIP OFF, in excess of €6 for crushed meringue cream a drizzle of strawberry sauce and 1 YES 1 strawberry in the whole mess,IT WAS A MESS ALRIGHT,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacC1_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your experience at the hotel. I am sorry to hear it was not a positive one, and that the food was not to your taste. We aim to make sure everyone enjoys their dining experience and on this occasion, you unfortunately didn't. It would mean a lot to me if you were to come back again, and not to let this experience put you off.
On a different note, I was glad to hear that you enjoyed the seating area and found our staff friendly.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.8 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,459 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
3.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,040 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,839 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Property: Ashling Hotel
Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing