We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great city break hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #17 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great city break hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Ashling is an excellent choice for your stay in Dublin. We had 3 nights here last week and can't really find fault. The room was big and spotlessly clean, the shower was great as hotels go. There are lots of staff on hand to deal with any requests quickly and efficiently. The bar staff are excellent and the breakfast buffet was really good. The only drawback we found was the road noise - we had a room facing the road and tram line - if I go back, I would request a room towards the rear of the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the front of the hotel if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teppin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you so much for this wonderful review about your time with us in the Ashling Hotel. I especially like the mention of our 'excellent' staff, and the rooms being 'spotlessly clean.' Just let us know that you would like to be put at the back of the hotel when you are next booking with us and we will allocate your room accordingly.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,087
    1,459
    321
    69
    32
See reviews for
784
1,784
174
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (752)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

ASHLING means Dream or Vision.Stayed in the Ashling Hotel on 9/08/2013, The impression from the time we went inside the door was excellent,There were a lot of people at reception desk when we arrived but we were seen to right away, the room was very comfortable as there were four of us in one room found there was pleanty of space for us all.The hotel is very well kept and so clean,We had breakfast in Chesterfields restaurant is was great value for money,We had dinner in Iveagh bar which was beautiful,service was excellent in both,the staff take great care in their work,But most of all I have to say those who stood out the most for us were the doormen the went above and beyond their duties advised us in best was to travel around dublin and to advise us how to look out for our personal belonging while out and about,To those men we say a big THANK YOU. The hotel is only 2min walk from Heuston station.and approx 15min from dublin airport.It certainly lives up to it's meaning of it name,It is a dream to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank urs41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you so much for this tremendous review about your stay with us. I have made sure the doormen on during your stay have been made aware of this review and they appreciate the mention as they can often be forgotten about.
Thank you so much for mentioning your food experiences in our hotel. I am so pleased to hear you found both enjoyable, and that the service was up to the standard we aim for.
I would be over the moon to welcome you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here as a family for 5 days in the last week of July. Room in the old part was very clean and of a reasonable size. I don't know about the rooms in the newer part but our room did not have air conditioning. Not a problem to be fair as it was not too hot when we stayed. Breakfasts are excellent. The Irish bacon and sausages are fantastic. All staff were good especialy Finbar and Fiona in the Bar. Bar food good if a little pricy. This hotel is a little way out of the centre but is perfect for the Zoo and the Guiness tour. It is well served by the Luas (tram) with a stop just down from the hotel and a 10min max trip into the centre. The bus stop is only a 5 min walk. All in all a good experience with the caviet of the lack of Airconditioning in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Ashling Hotel. It was a pleasure to hear about your 5 day stay with us. I have made sure that the staff mentioned in the review have seen this and they are thrilled to have had their names mentioned.
I was delighted to hear that you found our location perfect for your stay and hope to welcome you back again.

Kindest Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

we had a very nice stay for only one night, but very clean, friendly and helpfull staff. Breakfast nicly done with a chef behind buffet and everything you could think of. The room we had was into the backyard and a bit loud because of the vending/aircondition machines. But all in all we would stay there again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BerlinSfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent review about your stay with us. It was lovely to hear about our staff and breakfast, and in particular our breakfast chef. I was also pleased to read that you would definitely stay here again. It would be my pleasure to welcome you back.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Overall, our impression from this hotel was very good. We stayed in a superior family room which was huge with great shower. However, the queen-size bed was rather small and not very comfortable. Breakfast is amazing with many choices and the food quality is very good. The staff members that we met were very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is not located in the city center and you need to take a bus or the LUAS red line in order to get there. If you wish to go out and return to the hotel more than once a day, consider a more central location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiDa_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your review about your stay. I was glad to read that you thought our family rooms were huge, and that you also thought the breakfast was amazing. Thank you for mentioning that the bed didn't meet your needs, we will look into this. Lastly, thank you for mentioning that you found our staff pleasant and helpful, and I hope to welcome you back to us in the future.

Kindest Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
162 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for four nights in late July. We booked this hotel as it was close to the Heuston train station and we would be returning very late after attending Bruce Springsteen concerts in Kilkenny. The location was perfect for this purpose. It was also very convenient to the zoo, museum and Guinness Brewery. It is not located in city center but the LUAS is very convenient and easy to navigate. You can pick up the red line at the museum stop or at Heuston Station. Take it to Abbey Street or Jervis and walk across the river to get to Temple Bar. Also, the Airlink from the airport drops you off at Heuston Station so it is very easy to get there from the airport. It is the last stop on the route.

The gentleman who worked the late night / early morning shift was very friendly and helpful. Most of the staff that we met were very pleasant; however, there was a young lady who also worked at the front desk and was rather rude in the manner in which she spoke to us and to other guests. She seemed to take pleasure in reminding people that they do not promise rooms until 3 pm. I understand that but you can speak to guests with more professionalism - particularly when it is quite obvious that they are dealing with some major jetlag. You should be aware that they really do not let you check in until 3 pm. Every day we saw weary travellers waiting in the lobby for their rooms to be ready. Except for the CIE tour group. They seemed to have no problem getting into their rooms.

Our room was quite nice. It faced the front but was not loud. The air conditioning was very efficient and was appreciated during the warm weather. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was fine. We were able to sleep well and heard absolutely no noise from neighbors.

After check out we moved to a hotel in the city center and it had a great location. If you want to be in the center of things look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with working A.C. if it is during warm weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cityorcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review. I am so pleased to hear that you found our location perfect for your stay, and that you also found Dublin's transport systems efficient.
As check out is not until noon it can be difficult to get people checked in before our 3pm check in time. We try our best, but unfortunately this is not always possible.
I was also pleased to read that your room was suitable for all of your needs and that you were comfortable during your stay with us.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sikkim
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had booked a triple room in the last week of July and had a wonderful stay here. Had booked ahead and found it quite easily as we drove in from Galway. Its just across the Guinness Distillery and near the Heuston tram/bus station.

Location: Quite well located if you do not mind being a little distance away from the city highlights, namely O'Connel Street and Temple Bar etc. In fact these places are only a short tram/bus ride away and quite convenient if you buy the all-day long tickets (6 Euro for a day). And the tram actually passes in front of the hotel door!! The airport is about 45 minutes away by the airport bus that starts from the stop across the road. The link bus for the Red Dublin city HOHO bus also leaves from the hotel. However, if you want to join any of the other buses such as the Green Dublin city HOHO bus or the the Red City Sightseeing HOHO, you can also take them from the bus stops closeby.

Check in: The lady at the reception was very prompt and helpful with the check-in. She agreed to upgrade us when I requested for a refurbished room and prebooked the breakfasts while checking in. (Do book direct with the hotel for best rates.)

The Room: Well we couldn't have asked for anything more. It was huge despite the 3 beds and the seating. The windows overlooked the river and the Guinness distillery!! The bathroom was the largest I have ever seen in a hotel room...with 2 wash basins, a shower and a bath tub. Soaking in the tub was a luxury after the long drive. There was plenty of storage space too for the luggage. Wifi was fast and easy to connect to...they gave us the password during check-in. Sleep quality was good...no unnecessary noise and the AC was very (too??) effective.

Breakfast: The breakfast spread was quite vast with a huge array of cold and cooked options. At 12 Euros per head it was not a bad deal. Moreover, there was plenty to go around and no one was in a hurry. We did not dine in or use the hotel bar. There are some interesting pubs closeby such as Ryans and Nancy Hands, if you do not want to dine in at the hotel. Both are very popular and are usually full so its difficult to find a seat!!

Staff: A special mention of Mr Eugene, who was very friendly and helpful. He kept a close eye on the staff and looked after and mingled with the guests - at breakfast and later in the day too!! He showed us where we could buy the tram tickets and board the tram for for O'Connell Street. (He recommended that we go shopping at O'Connell Street, but I think I disappointed him!!) Also the friendly doorman, whose nameI've forgotten!!
And not forgetting Claire, who was at the check-out that day. Although she was very prompt and helpful in the morning when we wanted to know how to get to the airport, we were delayed at the check-out for a little while. However I'd like to point out the reason why. This young lady excused herself leaving us waiting in order to help a very old gentleman (who had just checked out) to cross the road along with his bags. (Probably the doorman had gone to hail a cab for him.) Although one associates courtesy with the hotel staff, one comes across such exemplary behaviour very rarely. Full points to her.

Cons: The only con that I can think of was the parking charge for the car. We felt that it should have been complimentary on the part of the hotel as we were staying there. As someone else has also pointed out, we were told to present our parking ticket on check in, We thought that this would waive aside the parking charges!! But no such luck!! The charge was added to the bill...However, we otherwise enjoyed our stay and this was the only negative I could think of!!
We highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Dublin.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room..they are far better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review, as it was a pleasure to read. I have made sure that the staff mentioned have been made aware of your review, and they are thrilled.
Thank you so much for commenting on our location, our rooms, our staff, the breakfast and the check in procedure. To have them all so positive is just tremendous. I would be delighted to welcome you back to us in the future if you are in Dublin again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.8 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,111 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
3.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,530 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Property: Ashling Hotel
Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing