We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #16 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here recently as a treat after the Mumford and sons gig. Upon arriving back at the hotel we tried to order room service. When the food eventually arrived it was cold and tasteless. We ended up ordering a pizza!!! The room itself was perfect and the staff seemed efficient...... Maybe we just went on a bad night but along with the food it left a bitter taste.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feeder9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your review from your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel Dublin. I was delighted to read that you found the room to be perfect and the staff efficient. I hope to welcome you and your partner back to the Ashling on your next trip to Dublin.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager

ASHLING HOTEL DUBLIN


.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,330
    1,592
    341
    72
    39
See reviews for
867
1,973
183
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (804)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Will definitely be back again! :) Firstly on arrival the girl at reception was so nice and friendly asking us how our journey to Dublin was and chatting to the kids and even had some lollipops at hand for them which they absolutely loved!!!! :) Thoroughly enjoyed our stay- rooms were clean tidy and fresh bathroom was spotless and beds nice and comfy.Such a great selection for breakfast the following morning there was something for everyone and as always staff were all so friendly smiling and helpful!So close to the Zoo too literally 2 minutes away.

Room Tip: We checked out the family deal instead of booking stuff separately so we got our family room with br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Many thanks for your review from your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel Dublin. I was delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and found the location to be so convenient beside Dublin Zoo. I hope to welcome you all back to the Ashling again soon.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager

ASHLING HOTEL DUBLIN


.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
151 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in the Phoenix Park area. Our room was large, clean, and cool (during an Irish heat wave!). We loved the power-saving device with the room key (haven't seen this in any American hotel yet...), and the bathroom was large and gorgeous, with lots of black granite shelving and backlit recessed spaces.

We didn't visit the hotel bar (There are at least 3 neighborhood pubs within walking distance.) but the buffet breakfast was the best we've found, and beautifully presented.

Above all, the service was wonderful: friendly, and welcoming. Our room was ready early, and though the lobby was very busy, the desk clerk was unhurried and treated us like we were her most important customers.

Location? Right on the rapid transit line, and walking distance to Europe's largest park. If we are lucky enough to travel to Dublin again, this is where we'll stay.

Room Tip: Best views are probably on the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agoneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review from your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel Dublin. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and you found the staff to be friendly and welcoming. I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Ashling if you get the opportunity to travel to Dublin again.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager

ASHLING HOTEL DUBLIN


.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

What a lovely place to stay in Dublin. I is right on the banks of the Liffey, next to Heuston train station (for all trains to South and West Ireland and on the red tram line. It is a little way from the main sites, but it is therefore traffic and noise free as a result. Everything was so clean and the staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was a real treat and delicious. I cannot rate it highly enough, free unlimited wifi too, and a prpoer Irish pub a couple of doors up the road, what is there not too like about this hotel! A super weekend break.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianH1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write an excellent review from your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel Dublin. I was delighted to read that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us and found our location to be so convenient. I'm also glad that you thought the breakfast was delicious. I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Ashling again soon.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager

ASHLING HOTEL DUBLIN


.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus Co. Antrim Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
200 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Having spent a relaxing weekend at the Ashling Hotel I would make it my hotel of choice on future trips to Dublin.
The Dublin hotel scene has usually failed to impress. It’s a city with more than its share of year round tourists so hoteliers don’t have to try too hard for room occupancy, something which is evident from the mediocre guest experience many of them offer. To date most Dublin hotels I’ve tried have come in somewhere between adequate and okay, with none being that special and complacency obvious in the management mind set.
The Ashling buzzes and is heavily used by tour groups, but they work hard at guest satisfaction here and there’s nothing impersonal about the feel.
The whole team is welcoming, approachable and competent.
Reception was friendly and efficient, room housekeeping standards were impeccable and the breakfast experience was hard to fault.
Our Superior King Room was three floors above the hotel entrance with a great view over the very pretty Croppies Memorial Park and beyond that to the Quays. Despite the Luas passing underneath, the street was quiet. Vehicle traffic was confined to occasional coaches and taxis. Tinted floor to ceiling windows gave a degree of privacy in the rooms. The bathroom was spacious and nicely fitted with loads of shelf space. My only gripe was the hairdryer. This was the wall fixed hose type with precious little air flow but which gets hot as you hold it and is uncomfortable to use long before the hair is dry.
I liked the overhead flat plate rain shower. The room was gleaming when we arrived and over the next two days was maintained that way. The hospitality tray was generously stocked, especially with milk, which made loads of tea and coffee possible.
The breakfast room had ample space for everyone, making eating there a relaxed experience. The buffet choice was way above average, with a great selection of dried fruits, nuts and seeds and a range of continental offerings including fish choices, cheeses and cold meats. The ‘full Irish’ was freshly cooked and appetising, served up from behind the hatch by the chef. I also liked the ‘Today’s Produce’ hand cart display of fruit, vegetables and trays of eggs at the entrance to the dining room.
This hotel is in a great location for getting in and out of the city centre with a Luas stop at Heuston Station just over the bridge. This makes it easy to get in and out, but also to escape from the crowds and traffic of the city centre. This section of the quays is quieter, but still has that unique Dublin imprint. Car parking is secure in their high rise car park and not exorbitantly priced at 6 euros a night. The Guinness Storehouse, Phoenix Park, Dublin Zoo, the National Museum and Kilmainham Jail are all just steps away along the street. The hotel also provides advice for those wanting to do some genealogy whilst in Dublin. That was something I haven’t seen on offer anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tripstaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Many thanks for your excellent review from your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel Dublin. I was delighted to read that you and your partner had a very enjoyable stay here and that you found our location near the Guinness Storehoue, Phoenix Park, Dublin Zoo, The National Museum and Kilmainhaim Gaol to be so convenient. I would also like to thank you for your kind words on 'Chesterfields' restaurant. I look forward to welcoming you both back to the Ashling on your next trip to Dublin.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager

ASHLING HOTEL DUBLIN


.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here in July on our last night in Dublin with a CIE tour (fabulous). The hotel was modern, stunning reception area, room was clean, nicely decorated and very modern. And it had AC, which was necessary last week in Ireland. Beds were nicely dressed and very comfy. Breakfast buffet was ample and lounge area where we had a cup of coffee while waiting for our transfer to airport was very nice. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Our room was right in the front on the 2nd floor. I was a bit worried about the noise from the Luas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryAnn410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review from your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel Dublin. I was delighted to read that you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us and thought the hotel was gorgeous. I hope to welcome you both back to the Ashling again soon.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager

ASHLING HOTEL DUBLIN


.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel is a bit away from the Temple Bar which is the happening tourist night life center in Dublin. It is directly across from a train station where there are buses as well as a taxi queue and trains. There are ATM's located inside the train station. If you are in need of a driver to/from the airport or someone you would like to have drive you for the day I would HIGHLY recommend Brian O'Reilly. He has no affiliation with the Hotel, I stumbled across his name while searching. He is a TOP NOTCH professional and one SUPER nice person. brianoreilly@fsmail.net or 353 86 605 6119.

Room Tip: I asked for a room facing the river and seeing as the train passes RIGHT in front of the hotel (whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your review from your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel Dublin. I was delighted to read that you found the location of the hotel to be so convenient beside Heuston Station and I hope you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to welcoming you back to the Ashling on your next trip to Dublin.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager

ASHLING HOTEL DUBLIN


.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.8 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,459 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
3.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,040 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,841 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Property: Ashling Hotel
Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing