We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful welcome”
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #17 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful welcome”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My 2 daughters & myself went up to Dublin for some retail therapy & we picked theAshling hotel tomstay 1 night for its convenience to Heuston station, the Luas & the good reviews it had received. We weren't disappointed in our choice. We were welcomed to the hotel even though we were too early to check in we were told to leave our overnight bags in the luggage dept. The staff on reception were very helpful & there is even free maps available on the front desk. Our room had a double bed & 1 single bed. The room was very clean & Beds extremely comfortable. We had dinner in the hotel resstaurant & it was divine. All the waiting staff were very curtious & very friendly. We would highly recommend this hotel we were just sorry we could not stay another night! We will return. Big thank you to the staff at the Ashling hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank c-porter333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your review from your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel Dublin. We were delighted to learn that you had a most enjoyable stay with us and we hope we get the opportunity to welcome you and your daughters back to the Ashling in the near future.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager

ASHLING HOTEL DUBLIN


.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,373
    1,606
    346
    72
    39
See reviews for
895
1,987
187
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (814)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for one night to attend Bloom in the Phoenix park. We arrived by train early in the morning and the hotel were helpful in letting us store our bags while we attended the garden show. When you returned, and checked in, the staff were friendly,enquiring about our day and delivered our bags to the room. The rooms were well appointed,comfortable and clean. The only negative was that the towels in the bathroom were not as good as they could be. The following morning, once we chceked out, we were able to leave our bags again while we enjoyed our day in Dublin. The friendlessness of the staff made our stay. The hotel is perfect if you want to be close to transport limks as you have buses and th luas on your doorstep. It is also within walking distance of the Guinness Hop Store. If you are looking for a hotel right in the centre,it is probably a little out,but I would stay there again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your review from your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel Dublin during Bloom. We were delighted to read that you had a lovely stay with us at the Ashling and thank you for your kind words about our staff and their customer service. We hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Ashling in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager

ASHLING HOTEL DUBLIN


.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in April after booking through Secret Escapes. Ideally located opposite Heuston station, convenient for the bus from the airport and the tram. Centre of Dublin a short trip on the tram or a 20min walk.
We arrived early in the day and the staff where very helpful. We were able to check in and leave our luggage in the luggage room. We also did this on departure day as well.
The rooms are spacious and clean and we had lovely views over Dublin. Our only fault with the rooms are that there was a slight draft coming through the floor to ceiling windows!
Breakfast was a buffet..wide variety and very tasty. We ate in the hotel one night and had a lovely meal which was reasonable priced.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and found it a great base to enjoy Dublin without being right in the centre. All staff very friendly and welcoming. Would recommend!

Room Tip: Go for a superior room...worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prime84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your review from your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel Dublin. We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and your positive feedback about our Full irish Breakfast and dinner. We hope to welcome you back to the Ashling on your next visit to Ireland.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager

ASHLING HOTEL DUBLIN


.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at hotel. Stayed 3 nights. Delicious buffet breakfasts, lovely evening meal, friendly helpful staff, friendly taxi driver (Dinny), handy to tram links to central city but nice and quiet. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serpentinetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel Dublin. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Ashling in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager

ASHLING HOTEL DUBLIN


.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for one night on a room only basis. We booked through lastminute.com secret hotels and were very pleased. The hotel is located about a 15 minute walk from the city centre and immediately opposite Heuston railway station, which was fantastic for us as we'd arrived by train.

The hotel is well presented and the staff we dealt with were all very pleasant. We stayed in room 449, which was very spacious and clean. The only criticism would be the Roberts coffee in the room - it was foul but the same brand of tea was fine. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and at €24.50 for two courses the food was very good and good value.

We booked a taxi through the hotel to the ferry port, as we had an early departure the following morning. The hotel handled this extremely efficiently. We enjoyed our stay at the Ashling and would return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your review from your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel Dublin. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Ashling on your next visit to Dublin.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager

ASHLING HOTEL DUBLIN


.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Ashling Hotel is a lovely and modern place located on the water just outside the crowded heart of the city of Dublin. It has spacious rooms, lovely décor, excellent food, especially in its pub, and a wonderful and helpful staff. The rooms were quiet which is of primary importance to us as we come from a very crowded and noisy part of the greater Philadelphia area. The beds were terrific; the amenities more than adequate. It was just a 20 minute walk to the heart of Dublin and we took full advantage of the location in to explore on foot, as well as connect to other transportation for one longer journey needing a train connection, by taking the tram that stops one half block from the hotel itself. Breakfast, which was part of our package, was incredible: it had both an amazing and complete cold/continental set of selections that went far above and beyond anything I saw anywhere in the United States (cereals, yoghurts, fruits, nuts and other additional stuff to add to breakfast, all kinds of breads and sweet stuff to eat, and cheeses....and a traditional hot Irish selections of foods. This latter selection included eggs done several ways, cheeses, cold meats, cold fishes, hot mushrooms, grilled tomato wedges, beans, potato cakes, and black and tan puddings. Needless to say, lunch was not necessary. We stayed at the Ashling prior to joining our group tour, and thankfully, returned to the Ashling the night before we left Ireland to return home at the tour's end. We were very grateful to be returning and only wished we could have stayed a few days more to see some of what we had missed, especially the National Museum and Barracks located one block away, the Gaol, located about 15 minutes away, and the two art museums, located about 20 minutes away. Anyway, if I ever returned to the incredible country of Ireland, I would not hesitate to stay here for the Dublin part of my trip. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: If quiet is what you need, ask for it! they aim to please and work hard to help you and don't fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Ashling Hotel from your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us before and after touring with your group. We hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Ashling should you return to Dublin City.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager

ASHLING HOTEL DUBLIN


.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We booked a 3 night stay at the 4 star rated Ashling hotel based on reviews and location 50% was great the location. No matter how great the venue if the staff are abrupt, arrogant and unfriendly your experience is ruined. The hotel offer specials for 3 night stays BUT are only interested in filling a bed all their attention is focused on the corporate market sadly. The cleanliness in our room was sub standard with black mold growing on the bath tiles and bath tap leaking excessively. Must add when reported was addressed promptly and efficiently, unfortunately the only good service rather sad. If you can ignore the above the facilities are great and location excellent, we will never use this hotel again

Room Tip: sorry cant give any good advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug pullen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your review and I was sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your stay. Certainly our staffs attitude as you describe it is very much at odds with the normal care and attention that our guests receive, I am sorry that you felt this way. I am delighted to learn that when you did report an issue it was quickly addressed promptly and efficiently by our staff. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you and hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager

ASHLING HOTEL DUBLIN


.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.8 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,502 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
3.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,124 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
3,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Property: Ashling Hotel
Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing