We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible”
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #16 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Metairie, Louisiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

I am currently at this hotel of sorts..Thus far I an extremely disappointed with this place. No a/c, horrible Internet connection . when management was approached, I was told that this was what the rate was even though none of this was stated at the Hotwire website where the rate was posted , however should I be willing to pay more than I could get a room with a/c and better Internet....I hope this will assist others considering this place to stay.....So much for treating the customer properly...if I could rate this place with negative numbers I would definitely do so

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GrandPoohbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are sorry to read of your concerns. We try to monitor the accuracy of information portrayed about us on third party websites and which in this case does not suggest that we have air-conditioning in all our bedrooms. Regarding the WiFi, we have just significantly upgraded our Free WiFi facility. Despite these initial problems we do hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and your trip around Ireland.

Kind Regards,
Alan Moody
General Manager
Ashling Hotel Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,329
    1,591
    341
    72
    38
See reviews for
866
1,972
183
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (804)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed here with my Boyfriend recently and have to say, it was one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in. The room (superior king) was big and spacious and tastefully decorated. The bed was huge, and the room had a floor to ceiling window, tea making facilities, tv, modern bathroom and most importantly, it was spotless. The hotel isn't in the immediate centre but is just outside the busy parts of Dublin and the tram line runs right outside the front of the hotel, and you can get a bus from Heuston Station (both around 1EUR 30).
The communal areas (bar restaurant and reception) are all modern in decoration and clean and staff are very helpful and friendly.
We dined one night in the hotel restaurant and were pleasantly surprised. The food was excellent, as was the service and price. The breakfast was also to a good standard.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, you wont be disappointed. I'm really looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: Go for a Superior King! Worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to learn you were happy with all aspects of your stay from the bedroom to the service and staff to the food in the restaurant.

Delighted to see you will recommend the Ashling and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Alan Moody
General Manager

ASHLING HOTEL DUBLIN
_____________________
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I'm just home from staying at the Ashling hotel for two nights. After reading some reviews online I wasn't sure what to expect. However, I had an excellent experience staying here and would definitely recommend it. I had breakfast and dinner at the hotel both nights and the food was great. Breakfast included a huge selection of food catering for all tastes.

The staff were extremely friendly and more than happy to help. My room was very nice and the extremely clean. It is slightly outside of the city centre however it is only a short luas or taxi ride into the centre. It's very close to Phoenix park, the Guinness factory and Kilmainham jail.

I would 100% recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niamh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Ashling Hotel from your recent visit. We were delighted to see you had a most enjoyable stay and will recommend us. We hope to welcome you back to the Ashling in the near future.

Best Wishes,

Alan Moody
General Manager

ASHLING HOTEL DUBLIN
_____________________
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Slightly out of the City Centre, however, just 5 mins by tram from Heuston station to Jervis, which is slap bang central area for a bargain 1 euro 60 single.

Taxi at OMG o'clock in the morning a bargain 7 euros, so between 4 is incredibly cheap. We were told by a local taxi driver to avoid Algerian taxi drivers as they are reknowned for over charging, so we took this advice and stayed with the local taxi drivers, so I cant comment if this insinuation is true or not.

We stayed in a room that was for 4 people, but could have slept 5 as there were 3 single beds and a Queen sized bed in our room.

The staff very friendly and it had a very chilled out ambience in the hotel. We unfortunately never made it to breakfast, however it was 12 euros for a full Irish or 9 euros for continental breakfast. If we hadn't have been celebrating our friends 40th Birthday we may have made it up in time!

Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familyoffive74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to learn you had a great stay and enjoyed the birthday celebrations. We hope to welcome you back to the Ashling in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Alan Moody
General Manager

ASHLING HOTEL DUBLIN
_____________________
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel at the beginning of an 8 day self dive tour of Ireland
The hotel was clean, comfortable and cosy. Staff were friendly and helpful. The bar area is good, breakfasts hot and lots of choice.
The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance of lots of attractions.
We enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topmark4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to learn you had an enjoyable stay and we do hope to welcome you back to the Ashling on your next trip to Ireland.

Kind Regards,

Alan Moody
General Manager

ASHLING HOTEL DUBLIN
_____________________
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at the Ashling to celebrate a big birthday and to soak up a bit of Irish Culture.

The Hotel is excellent and the service was what you would expect from a 4 star hotel. The hotel is well situated on the outskirts of the city but close enough to all the city centre has to offer. Transport is good with buses and trams but we chose to walk into into the temple bar area where the food & pubs are good.

Beds were a bit solid for our taste but I suppose that's a personal thing.

Watch out for the heated towel rail in the bathroom, its in front of the sink and you can toast your dangly bits whilst shaving - if your a man that is!!

Great value for money.

Room Tip: The higher floors were noisy because of the windy weather but you can't do much about that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Ashling from your recent visit to us. We were delighted to learn that you had a most enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming to the Ashling Hotel on your next visit to Ireland, possibly for another birthday!?

Best Wishes,

Alan Moody
General Manager

ASHLING HOTEL DUBLIN

_____________________
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I had to stay in the Ashling recently for a work trip, but in fact it turned out to be a very pleasant home from home and I felt refreshed and relaxed during and after my stay. Dinner in the bar was grand, but the self-serve breakfast was magnificent - full of fresh and healthy alternatives and also catering for large and discerning appetites.
I would definitely recommend it for business, and may even come with my children some time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Ashling on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable business stay. We do hope to welcome you back and perhaps this time with your family.... we are extremely close to Dublin Zoo so ideal for your leisure visit also.

Best Wishes,

Alan Moody
General Manager

ASHLING HOTEL DUBLIN

_____________________
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.8 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,448 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
3.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,030 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,835 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Property: Ashling Hotel
Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing