We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this hotel”
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #16 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“We loved this hotel”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here on a quick city break Thursday night, we booked via Secret Escapes so we received quite a good deal. The hotel seems to be used by just about every type of traveler there is, with lots of familes around. The lady who checked us in was nice enough to ask which part of the hotel we'd like to stay in, I asked which had the best view and we were checked in to a room at the front on the 4th floor - which looks out onto the River Liffey and the Guinness Factory. If you would like a quieter room, then opt for the back of the hotel if you're given the chance, having said that, I did not find it overly noisy.
We stayed in room 466 which is a Superior King room, the bed was absolutely huge, which prompted pleas from the other half to invest in a newer, bigger bed for the home! The room was clean, well lit, with a small seating area and coffee/tea facilities. There is no mini-bar or fridge available. In the bathroom we had a bath-over shower and a toiletries kit which includes cotton buds, cotton pads and a nail file - very handy!
Breakfast is a buffet affair but for the cooked full Irish you are served your choices from a lovely lady behind the counter. It gets very very busy - we had to wait a few moments before being seated, they obviously have a rush hour where almost everyone staying in the hotel descends to be fed. Anyway, it was delicious and there are some really thoughtful touches for people who may have special dietary requirements - e.g. there were rice cakes available alongside the pastries and bread, a large choice of nuts, mixed berries and fruit too.
We found the staff really friendly and welcoming the entire time we were there. The hotel is located about a 30 minute walk from Temple Bar (across a very flat landscape), 10 minutes from the Guinness Factory and about 2 minutes from two great pubs one called Nancy Hands and the other Ryan's which both do great food outside the hub-bub of Temple Bar. If you get a two day city tour bus pass there are two stops very close by - one just opposite and the other just down from the croppies memorial.

Room Tip: Good views to the front of the hotel, quieter rooms are at the back as the hotel is on a busy road o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fallon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Ashling and for your very high praise from your stay in the Ashling last week. We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and we do hope to welcome you back to the Ashling in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Alan Moody
General Manager
Ashling Hotel Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,301
    1,566
    335
    72
    34
See reviews for
851
1,943
183
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmacthomas, Ireland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Ashling Hotel is situated 5 mins walk from Heuston Railway Stn.Dublin (Taxi avail).
Very clean, smart with attentative staff. There are several grades of rooms ...I opt for the 2nd grade..this costs for 2 people and extra 20euro a night. The rooms overlook the Liffey which at night is lit up. Very close to ALL shops/Museums/Zoo - the Luas/Tram is close by the Hotel and stops all the way through Dublin.
Breakfast is great value...fresh,hot cook items/various bakery/fruit&yogs etc; recommend.
There is room service for food, but, I went to the Bar and ordered and brought a tray up to my room...
Having stayed in several Hotels in Dublin...this is the Hotel I now use on a regular basis.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd Floor overlooking the River & small Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for feedback and your kind words regarding our Full Irish Buffet Breakfast, bedrooms and attentive staff. We were delighted to learn that you will continue to return to us for your visits to Dublin and we look forward to welcoming back to the Ashling again and again.

Best Wishes,
Alan Moody
General Manager
Ashling Hotel Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I booked this hotel for a weekend break. We are regular visitors to Dublin but had not stayed at this hotel before. We found the location to be quite convenient as the hotel is situated a very short walk away from Heuston Station where you can access the Luas Line and a regular bus service to the centre of town.The car park was useful and was charged at only 8 euro per 24 hours.We found the food at the hotel to be of a high standard and the waiting staff were friendly and helpful. We were initially shown to a family room with a double bed, single bed and cot which we did not require. Having informed Silvana at reception, we were offered a complimentary upgrade to a deluxe room on the 7th floor. This room was very nicely decorated and spacious with great views of the Liffey and the city. The bathroom was particularly well appointed and large and if we should book in the future, I believe the extra money for the upgrade would be well spent. The hotel had a very friendly atmosphere and we would be happy to stay at the Ashling again, as well as recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted as first time visitors you will return to the Ashling again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Ashling in thenot too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Alan Moody
General Manager
Ashling Hotel Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night after arriving to Dublin and I must say throughout my short stay the staff was very helpful. I also must say this was the nicest of the hotels I stayed in during my Ireland adventure. The hotel had two twin beds in my room, one for me and one for my backpack, as I came alone. The bed was very comfortable and was a great place to collapse after my almost 14 hours of traveling. The room was spacious as well, something different than the other hotels I stayed at, and it had a pretty nice view of the River Liffey. There was also complimentary soaps and shower cap. Room service was great as well, I had the Thai red curry. They also have an all you can eat breakfast, I don't remember the exact price, but I think it was around 12 or 13 Euros and happened to be pretty good with plenty of options. Regarding location, was not directly in the city center, so it was nice and quiet, and the Luas train is just out the door and to the left, easy access to the city center. It is right across the street from one of the major bus stations as well.
One thing that I did not like about the hotel was the shower, which seriously was just an extension of the bathroom floor, with a shower curtain. The floor was even concave to allow water to flow to the drain. Although it looked pretty sleek, it was not practical. After my shower, the floor was wet, even the toilet paper roll was splashed with water. The shower did have a detachable shower head though, which is always helpful. All in all, I liked the hotel and would stay again, and many thanks to the wonderful staff who helped me .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin92185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback from your stay with us. We were delighted to learn that you were delighted with our customer service from our staff throughout your stay and we do hope to welcome you back to the Ashling in the not too distant future.

Best Wishes,
Alan Moody
General Manager
Ashling Hotel Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Location of this hotel is excellent, across the road from Hueston train station and 2minutes from the Luas line. The rooms are in very good decor with everything you need for a city break. Staff very helpfull and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandCWmeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Ashling. We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and we do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best Wishes,
Alan Moody
General Manager
Ashling Hotel Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Decided to take my girlfriend to stay here during our trip to Dublin for our 5 year anniversary after reading the reviews.
The hotel was extremely good with everything you need for a good stay - rooms clean and well kitted out, well priced, reasonably priced food and excellent staff.
The location looks a little far out on maps but the LUAS, bus and train station is less than 2 minutes walk away; and the walk into the city centre is only about a mile anyway.
The hotel is also near to Phoenix Park which is really nice to walk around/have lunch in.
Overall, great experience - if I'm ever in Dublin again I will be staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amutualthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to welcome you back to the Ashling should you return to Dublin in the future.

Kind Regards,
Alan Moody
General Manager
Ashling Hotel Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Location of this hotel is excellent. Very easy to get to and it has its own underground car park, although this is charged for.

Check in was very easy and straight forward. I must have been staying in the old part of the hotel. The rooms were ok, but do need some work. They are becoming a wee bit outdated, including the bathroom.

The room was clean as was the bathroom no fault here.

The food in the bar is lovely although can be very slow service. I was not asked if I wanted desert, tea / coffee and I had to go to the bar everytime I wanted a drink even though I could see others being served drink at their tables.

I would return to this hotel. The Luas goes right past it and its close to the train station. Its close to major tourist attractions as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hgst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Ashling. We are constantly upgrading and bringing on our bedrooms and we thank you for your comments and take all on board. We were delighted to learn that you will return to the Ashling in the future, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Alan Moody
General Manager
Ashling Hotel Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.8 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,398 reviews
3.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,728 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,146 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,789 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Property: Ashling Hotel
Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing