We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #17 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed for a week at the Ashling Hotel. A good quality hotel in a good location on the Luas line (although we didn't use it as it really isn't that far to walk to and from town) The hotel is clean and comfortable and the staff friendly.
We arrived quite early and our room wasn't ready so took advantage of the baggage hold.
The room was spacious, modern and clean.
We only had breakfast once which had plenty of variety. We had dinner which was very good and also good value.
Overall a good hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikk9392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to welcome you back to the Ashling in the future.

Kind Regards,
Alan Moody
General Manager
Ashling Hotel Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,407
    1,625
    348
    73
    39
See reviews for
916
2,009
192
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (823)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tipperary
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We availed of the Zoo Package for one night which included Bed & Breakfast and a family pass to Dublin Zoo for €168 ( great value for money ). Just 2 minutes walk from the train station. And has the Luas just passing the front door.

Although check in is not until 3pm we arrived early( stored away our luggage)and were greeted by a top class lady on reception . We had some lunch in the bar was very reasonably priced and were served by a lovely waiter.( top marks again)

The room itself was large consisting of a double and two single beds located at the back of the hotel which was ideal as it was so quiet. The room was clean and you could change the heating to your desired level.

We are already planning our next trip up and I would definitely recommend this hotel to
anyone looking for a family night away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank limericklasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to learn that you and your family had a most enjoyable stay and found the food and service to be excellent. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Ashling in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Alan Moody
General Manager
Ashling Hotel Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Ashling is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed at in Europe. It's a little pricier than we usually spend, but we got a 3 nights for the price of 2 deal that made the cost more moderate. The facilities are great. Our room was spacious, with nice furnishings, attractive lighting, and great bedding. And the bed was huge! We appreciated little touches like the Walker's Shortbread left with the tea supplies every day, and lots of counter room in the bathroom, which was pretty luxurious by European standards. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is a bit off the center of Dublin, but multiple nearby public transit options make this no big deal, and it's not so far that you couldn't walk to the center of town in nice weather.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We were delighted to learn that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us and our "little touches". We do hope to welcome you back to the Ashling on your next visit to Ireland.

Best Wishes,
Alan Moody
General Manager
Ashling Hotel Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights over Easter weekend and had a very enjoyable stay. Did not really use hotel's facilities, so can comment on a limited number of issues. The hotel seems to be at the periphery of the town centre when you look at a map (close to the main park, Phoenix Park) but in reality it is only 15mins pleasant walk by the river to what one would normally understand to be the 'city centre' so I would describe it as an ideal base for travellers who prefer to be 'close but not too close to it all'. If you dont like walking, there is a tram stop literally next to the hotel, and the Hop On Hop Off Bus also had a nearby stop.

The hotel has very nice settings, the rooms are spacious and comfortable (perhaps could do with some more storage space).

Did not try the restaurant but the ambience seemed nice.

Hotel staff was helpful when assistance was required. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We were delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay and we do hope to welcome you back to the Ashling in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Alan Moody
General Manager
Ashling Hotel Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Ashling Hotel. The entire hotel is first class for a reasonable price. The bar is so cozy with couches, tables or you can sit at the bar. The hotel is close to the museum, and right on the bus transit route. Also close enough to walk to places, like Guinness House, although we did not walk as it was very cold and rainy. Take a cab from the airport as the buses do not run all the way to the hotel for some reason, cabs are very reasonable. We ate in the bar area one night and it was very good with a varied selection. The breakfasts are superior. The staff is also top notch and friendly,helpful

Room Tip: The rooms are all very quite. they are spacious and very clean. The beds were a bit firm for me, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettydaviseyes1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and your kind words. We were delighted to learn that you had a most enjoyable stay and we do hope to welcome you back to the Ashling in the not too distant future.

Best Wishes,
Alan Moody
General Manager
Ashling Hotel Dublin



_____________________________________________
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Booked in for 3 nights with my family ,did not get a good nights sleep on the first night as i could hear a fan outside my window (i;m a light sleeper)the staff had no problem the following morning in my request to change rooms which i was very happy about . Breakfast was one of the best i,ve ever had , the choice was second to none .The Luas stops outside and the train station is across the bridge . This is the hotel i,ll stay in any time i need to go to Dublin

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We were delighted to learn that our staff were helpful in a room move for you. Thank you for your kind words about our breakfast which we are sure set you up for the day. We hope to continue to welcome you back to the Ashling Hotel on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Ashling Hotel Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

will def. stay here again. Asked for a refurbished room and it did not disappoint. Staff very friendly and helpful. Ideally located for attractions. Lovely meal and breakfast. Traveled with a young baby but it was no problem. Staff gave us a table where the buggy could fit in out of harms way.
Room a little background noise as could here extractor fans going all night but was fine once you got used to it.

Room Tip: Ask for new room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 15kate15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we were delighted to learn you had an "excellent" stay. We do hope to welcome you and your family back to the Ashling in the not too distant future.

Best Wishes,
Alan Moody
General Manager
Ashling Hotel Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.8 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4,546 reviews
3.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,968 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,216 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
3,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Property: Ashling Hotel
Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing