We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still good but a few niggles this time”
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #16 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Still good but a few niggles this time”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Well I booked a "superior" room again this time (our third stay) and got a room a third of the size I'd ever previously had. Closer to the tram as we were on a lower floor and it did affect the stay. The air conditioning was very intrusive and I felt we had been given a poor roon for th emoney spent.
The hotel is always a friendly place and the restaurants and food lovely. I shall still return but next time I'll be checking where I'm being put first!

Room Tip: High rooms = less noise from tram.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waltong1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and your kind words regarding the friendliness and the food. We were sorry to learn that you had a few "niggles" regarding the room type etc. Please do contact us directly on your next visit, so we can ensure that you receive the room you expect to. We do hope to welcome you back to the Ashling in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Ashling Hotel Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,329
    1,591
    341
    72
    38
See reviews for
866
1,972
183
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (804)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, West Midlands, England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our trip to Dublin was very spur of the moment so we hadn't looked at Trip Advisor reviews before booking. When we did we were concerned about possible noise so, being light slepers, we contacted the hotel in advance asking for a quiet room. We arrived at 11am and were delighted that our room (468) was already available. It overlooked a side street which was indeed quiet. It had a double and a single bed and pleanty of storage space. The bathroom was a very good size and thw whole room was very clean. The only problem with noise was that you noticed any cars that did drive past as they disturbed the silence!

The room heating stated that it was on a timed system so when it began to get cold in the evening we thought nothing of it and, as there was a oil filled additional radiator in the room (we had flown in to cold weather) we used that. However in the morning there was still no heat in the radiators. On the way into breakfast I asked how the heating worked and the receptionist felt that there was a problem with our room and siad she would make arrangements to move us and that we should return to reception after breakfast. We did so to find another person on duty who knew all about the change - great communication between staff - and we were told we were being upgraded to mark the inconvenience. We were offered help with the move if we so wished.

Our new room was 439 on the front overlooked the River Liffey, main roads and tram tracks. Our initial concern about the noise was soon put to rest. Yes, there was constant background noise from the roads but this soon became second nature and yes, there was noise from the trams but again this soon merged into the background and we were not awoken whenhthe service started at 5.30am. Our upgraded room had a different bathroom layout which we didn't think was as good and had less drawer space but more than enough for us.

Breakfast was excellent with a huge choice of hot and cold dishes. We ate twice in the Iveagh Bar and though the meals were very good and, when considering this is a 4 star hotel, quite reasonable compared to pubs and resteraunts in the city.

Serivce was exceptional throughout and it was a pleasant change that staff actually spoke to us and genuinely seemed interested in our opinions and what we were doing - more like being in a small B & B than a large hotel.

You can walk toi the city centre in about 15-20 minutes, the frequent LUAS trams cost 1.60 euro one way and a taxi ride was about 6-7 euros.

If returning to Dublin we would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want total quiet then a room facing the courtyard would be the best bet. We stayed in 468 &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaymiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank your for your extensive review from your stay in the Ashling. We were delighted to read that you had a most enjoyable stay with us and that you found our staff to be excellent. We do hope to welcome you back to the Ashling when you return to Dublin again.

Best Wishes,
Alan Moody
General Manager
Ashling Hotel Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Truly liked everything about the Ashling Hotel! Great room with free upgrade upon arrival to three beds instead of two. Excellent service by friendly, helpful staff. Very good breakfast. Nice bar. It would be my hotel choice again should I return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and your kind words. We truly look forward to welcoming you back to the Ashling should you return to Ireland.

Best Wishes,
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Located 2mins from Huston train station and tram stop, room basic but was spotless and with everything you will need for comfortable stay. Very nice friendly staff, very good choice at breakfast, and lovely food in the bar.
Would consider staying again and will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noelleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. We were delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay and will recommend us to friends. We hope to welcome you back to the Ashling again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel doesn't look very attractive from outside but has a lovely Reception was staying with my parents f nite got a lovely room very spacious dinner was also nice best of all this hotel situated just few yards from Lewes stop and 4 stops to city centre. Didn't find bar great there was 3 year old who was running around screaming in bar til 11.30 found this totally unacceptable as I had left my own 4 kids at home and just wanted a bit of peace f a chat but on the whole good hotel in great location f park and city centre

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caoimhe40402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us in June last year. We do agree that we are in a great location beside the park and close to the city centre with the Luas running directly by the hotel. We hope to welcome you back to the Ashling again.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Ashling Hotel Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killadeas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We got a "cheapy" 3 night break at the Ashling. Cause it was so cheap thought we might be treated like the poor cousins.. No way.. Service was excellent. food top class and reasonably priced and the staff are super friendly. Its an easy walk to the City centre but if you're feeling lazy hop on the tram or bus.. They seem to run constant and pass the front door of the hotel. Room was serviced every day and nothing was too much trouble for the bar & restaurant staff. The reception girls are walking encyclopedias of the sights not to be missed.. Overall and excellent experience. However there is no Fitness Centre or Pool but that's not what we went for anyway

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeJayFermanagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay and our Reception Team were able to help you with all sights to visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ashling.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Ashling Hotel Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manresa, Spain
Level Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was in Ashling hotel for business and is a very good hotel with friendly staff.
My room was clean and nice, and a really good breakfast buffet.
The Luas tram in front of the hotel will bring you there fast, but I was not able to visit Dublin center.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josep C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the Ashling in the not too distant future where you may have time to visit and experience Dublin's city centre and attractions.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Ashling Hotel Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.8 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,448 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
3.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,030 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,835 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Property: Ashling Hotel
Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing