We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice stay”
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #13 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend, the first weekend of January. It was our first time to Dublin and although we had done our research we didn't realise just how close the Heuston train station was, next time we will travel in by train for the convenience, although the taxi price wasn't too bad at €30 each way.

The hotel was in really good condition, we arrived very very early to get the most out of our weekend as a result no rooms were ready so we left our luggage with the Porter out the back who stored securely and gave us a ticket to return with later on. I did request a phone call for when the room was ready so that we could comeback and freshen up before heading back out, this didn't happen and was probably the only downfall in the entire trip.

Ashling Hotel is located very close to the nearest LUAS Tram station, which is ideal for getting into the Temple Bar region, come out the hotel, turn left and it is roughly a 5 minute walk down the road. Make sure you have plenty of change for the machine, I think it was something like €3/4 for a return ticket inside that one zone, there is an iPhone app for the LUAS which I found useful to use.

Dublin zoo is a short walk away, approx 20mins and you can take the scenic route through Phoenix Park which is one of the most highly maintained parks I have been through, one side of it has wild deer roaming around too. Dublin Zoo is certainly worth a visit.

It is also approximately the same distance in the opposite direction to the Guinness Storehouse (after we found it!!), don't follow the map provided in the hotel to the exact road, it takes you the long way round as we found out haha!

One night after having done a lot of walking during the day and really couldn't be bothered to move we had room service, the portions were a healthy serving, price is not too bad, what I would expect for a city centre 4* hotel. Breakfast in the morning was very good, we ate from the continental menu which was everything but the cooked breakfast. We had a lot of choice, from toast, to half a dozen different bread rolls, croissants, cereals, fruit, ham, cheeses and more.

Overall this was a really pleasant stay and for anyone that wants to stay outside of the main hustle and bustle but has no problem getting public transport into the Temple Bar area or walking to some of the local attractions then this hotel is brilliant, highly recommended and made my girlfriends Christmas present even more special.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank GoddersGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted that you had a really nice stay with us. Dublin is a really great city with plenty to do and our proximity to both Dublin Zoo and the Guinness Storehouse is a great asset to us. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,564)
There are newer reviews for Ashling Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,236 - 3,242 of 4,564 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

We book this hotel after reading a selection of reviews on Trip Advisor, the reviews we read were on the whole good, but they really do not do the hotel justice.
From the time we arrived, the staff were very friendly and helpful, we left our bags in the secure left luggage room, then we board the tram outside the door and headed into town. We returned after 3pm, checked into our rooms, collected luggage and made our way up to our rooms. The rooms are very clean and well appointed, although we were able to hear noise from adjacent rooms.
We decided to eat supper in the hotels Iveagh Bar, the food, service and cost were fantastic.
The following morning we ate buffet breakfast in the hotel, once again superb food and marvellous service.
We were a party of 6 and all of us would thoroughly recommond it.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mckenziebsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We are really delighted that your party of 6 enjoyed your stay with us and would thoroughly recommend us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best Wishes,
Alan Moody
General Manager
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here as a couple in November 2012 for 2 nights, when booking the hotel I was slightly put off by the sales representative short attitude.
When we arrived the girl on reception was extremely rude and short and insisted we must pay upfront for the room and that no room charges could be added throughout our stay, however this was contrary to the information the sales representative had given me. When asking for taxis or directions the same girl on reception was very unhelpful and it appeared as though we were an inconvenience for her.
I must point out the restaurant staff and supervisor/manager were very polite, courteous and helpful each time we ate in the hotel for breakfast and dinner.
The location of the hotel is great for anybody travelling by train as it is right by the train station but close enough to the city center to get a luas into the main shopping and eating area. the decor of the rooms and hotel is very modern and eye pleasing, however although we booked a superior room it was very pokey and tight as was the en suite.
Since staying in the Aishling I have advised friends not to stay there and a family member has since canceled their reservation.
I was extremely disappointed with the service in this four star hotel and would strongly advise against staying here and will not return again myself.

Room Tip: Do not pay extra for a superior room as it is small and pokey with a small en suite, I cannot see ho...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay last November. I was sorry to learn that you felt a member of our Reception Team was discourteous to you during your stay.

On a more positive note it was pleasing to read that you found many other aspects of your stay including our location to have been great.

I regret that you feel that you would not wish to stay with us again based on your interaction with a particular member of our team, given that you found all our restaurant staff to have been so polite, courteous and helpful.

I hope you will reconsider your decision and I would be delighted to welcome you back.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just got back from a 2 night stay at the Ashling Hotel and could not fault it. We booked on a room only basis but upgraded to B & B on arrival; the breakfast is brilliant there is loads of choice and the quality of food is superb.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, the hotel has a great ambiance, rooms spacious and comfortable. The hotel is also ideally placed close to the Guinness Factory, Phoenix Park and the tram network (which was very quiet).

Highly recommend this hotel for people wanting a nice base for a Dublin city break, we will be returning there again.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rawlings_Rabble_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

We were delighted to read your fantastic review on TripAdvisor and very much appreciate your comments.

It was really lovely to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope that it will not be too long before you stay with us again.

Every Best Wishes,

Alan Moody
General Manager
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel on our first morning in Dublin, hoping that we could check in early, but were told our room wasn't ready yet, so we left our bags at the luggage room and walked into the city. The Temple Bar area takes about 20 minutes to walk to or can be accessed by Luas (Dublin light rail) located about a block from the hotel front door. The area the hotel is directly located in has very few restaurant and shopping options.

There is on site parking, available for a fee, and free wifi. We were in a classic room, which was a bit dated and plain. If you're going to be in the hotel for a few nights, I might suggest upgrading. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was spacious, but the amenities could definitely use an overhaul.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Many thanks for your positive review. We do hope to welcome you back to the Ashling Hotel.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel is amazingly good value and very comfortable and stylish . We booked one of the 2 night deals and would love to go back with the kids due to it being within walking distance to the zoo and Phoenix park. It is a little further out but only €6.40 per day to get in and out on the luas tram as many times as you want. You could walk it in 20 mins or a taxi for about 8-9€.
The rooms are clean and well presented. We booked a superior and got a lovely view over the river. Breakfast was fantastic and the service throughout was faultless. No pool or gym but we went for a run round Phoenix park
If only it was better value to take the children, I would book again tomorrow!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review and we were thrilled to learn that you had such a great stay here at the Ashling. We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your breakfasts and no doubt this set you and the family up for the day in advance of your visit to the nearby Dublin Zoo.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the not distant future, watch out for our special offers.

Best Wishes,

Alan Moody
General Manager
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Myself and partner (in our 20's) stayed here for 3 days in February, including Valentines, booked through an agent.

Location - About 20/30 minutes walk to centre of town. Based across road from Guiness factory and 5 mins from storehouse. Tram (laus) available outside the hotel - to get around city centre is 1.6 euro, also bus station right outside we got the bus to st Stephens green only 2.2 euros.

Public transport - tram and buses clean and cheap, easy to use. Howeve buses don't give change so remember to keep change for this purpose. From the airport it is easiest to take the big green airlink bus it's 6 euro one way or 10 return - see their website. Also a good promotion is the freedom pass which lasts 3 days.

Rooms - first we were is room 345 which was an older room out the back onto the road. During the first night I was disturbed and staff swiftly upgraded to room on fifth floor. Really smart room with modern bathroom huge mirrors etc... 30 euro a night to upgrade not sure we would have paid this.

Breakfast buffet - best I have ever seen! Both my partner and I thought this was the selling point. Smoothies, cereals, full Irish, continental, pastries, fish, fruit, eggs, porridge, nuts, seeds, toast - catering for all needs gluten free fair trade etc.

Staff - all very friendly and able to offer good advice about Dublin.

We also ate in the bar one lunchtime having the chicken wings and a panini melt. Both these were delicious.

Overall we had a lovely time in this hotel and if we were to return to Dublin we would book this again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsZebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for such a lovely review and for your accolade of "BEST BREAKFAST BUFFET IN IRELAND". We are finding that the gluten free options are extremely popular. We hope that you will come and stay with us again next time your in our fine city of Dublin.

Kind Regards

Alan Moody
General Manager
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.8 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,588 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
3.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
1.0 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $121 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing