We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Shopping trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #17 of 149 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shopping trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great hotel, excellent location, friendly staff, food in the Iveagh Bar was beautiful, only thing I can fault is the fact there was no shower curtain in the bathroom but other than that everything was lovely!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,089
    1,460
    321
    69
    32
See reviews for
785
1,786
174
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (752)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Many thanks to the staff of the Ashling Hotel Dublin. I have ben a guest here for quite a number of years now. Each time I am made to feel welcome as if it was my first visit. Food is wonderful , very good location, room top class and staff a delight. Can be recommended anytime for any trip to Dublin.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luceys-Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

My lady friend and I were told of the Ashling by some friends. Since we were staying in Dublin for a few days, we decided to try it. We had a rental car, so the hotel's location on the perimeter of central Dublin was ideal. We were able to leave the car at the Ashling and ride the LUAS into town. The hotel itself was delightful. We were allowed to check in early (11:30am) by the receptionist. We had been mistakenly assigned to a twin room, which was corrected immediately. In fact, we were upgraded to a very large double room. The room was very large, had a queen bed, and a huge bathroom. It was spotless and had an excellent view of Parkgate Street. We were given this lovely room by Silvana at reception. This lady is efficient, professional, quite personable, and has a great sense of humor. She is a credit to the hotel. We frequented the restaurant and bar, and found both to be excellent. The Irish coffee was one of the best we've had. We look forward to returning to the Ashling.

Room Tip: We found room 352 to be outstanding. It's exceptionally large and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Railman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed for a weekend in January 2013 when in Dublin to watch a rugby game. Very good location with excellent transport to and from Airport and city centre if you didn't fancy the 15 minute walk. Very comfortable clean and spacious rooms. Excellent breakfast and good choice of quality meals in both bar and restaurant. Best of all for me were the the staff. Very friendly but very efficicient and polite. I wish all hotels had staff like this. Would recommend to anyone staying in Dublin.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welsh-grecophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Have enjoyed overnight stays when travelling via Dublin's Heuston Station. Access to rooms and associated elevator service is card controlled. Although there is lively activity in lobby areas when you retire the rooms are very calm. Our stays have noted updated furnishings and sophisticated electronics. Very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: We request that the rooms are fitted with windows which open. All the rooms may have that feature bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmi6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed at the Ashling Hotel for 1 night, I booked via expedia 3 or 4 days before and got a classic double for 59 euro. Looking at other hotels throughout the city which i've stayed in before and similar quality the Ashling was definitely the best value for money. The classic room nice and clean and very spacious with a modern bathroom. It did seem a little tired though, I wouldn't classify it as 4 star standard but if you're willing to pay extra for an executive room go for it.
The staff were very friendly and welcoming on arrival. My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our stay here and would return.
We attended a gig in Vicar Street, and the hotel location was ideal. Very close to the likes of the Guinness brewery, temple bar, zoo etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank armedwithamind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon and were very happy with our room and the hotel in general. The room was very good, and all the facilities and amenities met our expectations. It was in a very good location. We enjoyed eating in the restaurant. We found the hotel staff to be helpful. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.8 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 149 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,114 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
3.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 149 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 149 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,867 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 149 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,534 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Property: Ashling Hotel
Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing