We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Surprise weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #18 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surprise weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was taken to Dublin as a surprise to see my sister who lives there. my very generous partner booked my sister in to the same hotel as us for the weekend which was great. The hotel is in a good location, not too close to the very noisy city centre but close enough so as not to make taxis etc too expensive.
The rooms were excellent and although ours did not have a bath which I prefer, we were able to make a slight upgrade within 10 minutes to a room where you had to catch a bus from one side of the bed to the other and the windows were floor to ceiling giving a great view. The breakfast was all you could wish for and the bar and bar snacks were excellent. I cannot praise the staff enough, they were all exceptionally helpful and friendly. only one slight downside, we ate in the restaurant on the Friday night and whilst the majority of our meal was very good I am afraid to say that our steaks were barely edible. Luckily the restaurant manager agreed with us and took them off the bill thereby rectifying what I imagine was clearly a mistake on the kitchens part.It was a stones throw from the airport bus stop and a short way to Dublin Zoo, well worth a visit and also the Guinness factory which should not be missed. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Dublin unless you want to be right in the centre of it all.

Room Tip: Ask for a bath and a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tallulah2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,901
    1,341
    295
    65
    33
See reviews for
702
1,634
153
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (703)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Hotel public areas were lovely and Breakfast was great... However there was nothing 4 star about the room, It was drab and tired looking and for some bizarre reason had 3 beds?! Which is fine if you booked a family room which we did not, also another problem was the heat it was like stepping into a sauna making spending any long periods of time in the room just uncomfortable.

Room Tip: It would be worth taking the 30 Euro upgrade to have a nicer room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just returned from a four night stay at the Ashling Hotel, Was very impressed, lovely room ( superior king room) bathroom was huge with a great shower, spotlessly clean. value for money at £320. staff were excellant and i would highly recomend the food in the bar as very affordable and very nice, Although not central in the city it was very easy to get to by either tram or taxi, or even walk if your legs are up to it. A mini bar would have been good but otherwise i cant fault this hotel and would definetly go back again, a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had 6 rooms(party of 12) and checked in on the 12th Jan and stayed for 2 nights.All of our group were impressed with the hotel,the staff were helpful,the rooms were spacious and comfortable and the whole hotel was very clean.Although not located in the centre of Dublin,there are numerous buses you can catch in to the city and the bus to and from the airport runs frequently.Would definately reccomend the freedom 3 day bus pass (28 euro) which gives unlimited travel on all buses,hop on-off tour bus and the airport link bus.Will definately stay in the Ashling on our next visit to Dublin

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Really good hotel, modern and clean which is always handy! Right on the LUAS Red tram line so easy acess to the city - also the airlink bus at 10euros was very good and again the hotel is just steps away from the airlink bus stop!
Would definatly stay here again, the breakfast was everything you could ask for - booking direct through the hotels website means you can save money as a 2 night break with breakfast was on a special offer (which they have many of!) meaning i saved around £50!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren_93Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We arrived at The Ashling Hotel around 9.30am expecting to be told that we could leave the bags but would have to go back later to check in but, without hesitation the receptionist checked us in and we were directed to the room. We were shown to the room by another staff member who saw us looking a little lost. The room did not have a view but this did not detract from the room itself, big, clean and comfortable, my husband had requested a river view which we didn't get, but I think it would have been quite noisy as the tram line is right outside and I don't know what time they start. The hotel is beautiful and the staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. We did not eat in the restaurant but if the breakfast was anything to go by it would have been delicious, although it was a buffet lunch, the hot food was put on the plate for you and as the breakfast slot is quite big there is no rushing down to make sure you don't miss it. Sleep quality was good. The bathroom was big, clean and well maintained and we had a bath, and the choice of shower head, a rainfall one or a normal one, the shower was powerful and the water hot. The hotel, although not in the middle of Dublin is easy to get to from the airport, it is a few minutes walk from the train station where the buses also stop, costing a lot less than having a taxi from the airport. There is also a Hop on, Hop off bus (recommended) stop a few minutes walk from the hotel, if your getting the bus from the airport the ticket sellers can sell you a combined ticket saving you a few Euros. Although it isn't in the middle of Dublin you can still walk in, we walked from the Alrlington Hotel and the Brazen Head and it took around 20 minutes. Negatives, the room was a little dark, even in the bathroom and we didn't get the river view we asked for, but as previously stated this was probably a good thing, other than that, I think this stay was perfect and we would definately go again which I think is the best review possible.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jpdwilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is late review of our 4-night stay at the Ashling Hotel in June. I booked a superior twin room directly with the hotel, but I think we must have been given a family room, because it was HUGE, with a queen bed, 2 singles, a big sofa and table, another table with chairs, and enough room to host a party. :) It was a corner room, and as we walked along the corridor we could see that the regular rooms were nowhere near as large, so we felt very lucky.

The hotel is very easy to get to from the airport, as the airport bus stops at Heuston Station, which is just over the road from the hotel. The tram (Luas) runs outside the hotel and it takes only 5 minutes or so to get to the centre of town.

There is free, fast wifi in the rooms, but printing is a bit difficult. You can email something to the front desk to print or use the (pay-by-the-minute) computer and printer in the lobby.

The hotel offers a fantastic breakfast, with a huge selection of hot and cold foods. We didn't eat any other meals at the hotel, but it looked like there was quite a range of meals and bar snacks. There is also a vending machine for drinks and snacks in the lobby and just to the right of the hotel, on the main road, is a reasonably well-stocked convenience store. This also has an ATM, if you need to get some cash.

We had a very comfortable stay at the hotel and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MumPlusOne2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.8 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#4 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,845 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
3.7 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,249 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
2.6 mi away
The Gibson Hotel
The Gibson Hotel
#14 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Property: Ashling Hotel
Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing