We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, if you're not paying too much”
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #13 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Overall I enjoyed this hotel. The rooms were pretty simple, but lacked a bar fridge which is a quiet standard these days. Staff were nice and the breakfast was good.

One disappointing thing is that it is an additional charge 20 Euros for a twin share as opposed to queen, irrespective of guests. I feel this unfairly discriminates for non-couples staying at the hotel. Even worse, because of the built in side tables, the "twin configuration" means that the beds are only 15 cms away from each other. Not great when you are slugged an extra 20 Euros and something I hope the hotel considers reviewing.

Overall satisfying, would stay here again especially a I like not being in town.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mattje7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,669)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,380 - 3,386 of 4,669 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

Beautiful hotel! Most comfortable overstuffed lounges in reception and casual dining area. Modern gas fireplace, very cosy. Food was delicious, we just kept eating in. The casual dining was a nice meeting place to catch up with friends/family. Breakfast buffet had many options & the staff serving were so warm & friendly, spoiling the children with kindness. We booked the largest room with a queen & two single beds which was ideal travelling with a 7 & 8 yr old. Ireland was the last leg of our journey so the boys enjoyed not having to share a sofa bed/ trundle & having single beds. Parking was available for our hire car. Although we also caught the tram as it was directly outside & taxi's made it easy for a quick trip into the centre of town. We booked the package with zoo tickets which was also a wonderful experience. Charming hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Renee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Amazing hotel, excellent service. Bed was incredibly comfortable.
Breakfast was delicious and a great variety.
Taxi driver Dinni working with the Ashling hotel was so helpful and friendly.
Only negative comment is that it is on the outskirts of the city, however the tram is a minute walk down the road and can take you into the city in about 7 minutes, in saying that it was nice not to be staying in the hustle of the city.
Will definitely be staying here again when we come back.

Room Tip: Standard room is excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peteandshez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I was very happy with this hotel at the price we paid i was surprised to receive the comfort and service that i did. stayed here for 3 days and it was a amazing stay.

Breakfast. the breakfast was the best we had on our holiday, a great selection and we were spoiled for choice every day. service was friendly and efficient, couldn't have asked for more.

Cleanliness. the rooms were very clean but my only complaint in this department would be that one of our towels were stained with ink and a minor stain on a otherwise amazing room

Dry cleaning. we were not very happy with dry cleaning (bit overpriced and bit shoddy).

Room. very spacious and had a amazing view was very happy with it.

overall i would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Dublin it is very close to Heuston Station which was very helpful for us

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YouthfulCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The room and bathroom are big.very comfortable.
Wifi is good.Only everyday the menu of the breakfast never change.no much variety and no Asian food.Location is a bit far away from city but easy to travel by tram.

Room Tip: tram service is a bit noisy if the room is facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessee2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Dublin is a friendly place. We had a lovely taxi driver and arrived at the hotel early - check in was not until 3pm, but our room was ready and we were able to check in early. The receptionist was very accommodating.The room was lovely and clean with a king size bed that was very comfortable. The tram line goes straight past the hotel, but this didn't bother us at all and didn't keep us awake. It stops at 12pm and starts up again about 5 am. Very handy if you want to catch it into town - its only a short walk (about 2km) but the tram saves your legs. The hotel has a lovely bar area which serves very nice food and we ate here after having a couple of pre-dinner drinks. Good pub food. Comfortable surroundings. We also had lunch here one day. The breakfast is spectacular with so much to choose from. We had the continental breakfast which was quite sufficient to keep us going all morning. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatieCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I would like to say thanks to Mr Paddy, he was so nice helping us last night, sometimes the little details are so important and for me Mr Paddy, is a mister of lovely service, thank you so much for your help, Merry Christmas

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthStefhany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Croke Park
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4,659 reviews
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#32 of 151 in Dublin
2,022 reviews
Kilmainham
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $111 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Splitty, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing