We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #17 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a lovely hotel. We had dinner here one night and it was good. A great selection for breakfast too. There is a lovely bar with a good selection of beers and spirits. I thought the cocktails were a bit expensive. The rooms are fine. Excellent location, it's very easy to get to the city centre or the trains from here. The tram runs by the door outside which will bring you into the city. I have stayed here before and will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunbeliveable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,959
    1,368
    300
    66
    32
See reviews for
733
1,674
156
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (717)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
galway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

very nice staff and buffet breakfast, room and bed very small, :( great location during the day but Luas stops daunting at night!! Hotel busy and great buz. Good bar food. car park only €8 for 24 hours,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalwayKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, texas, USA
Level Contributor
224 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,183 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

About 200 meters from the main train station and equally close to the main history museum as well as steps from the main tram line into the center of the city. We came in by train from Galway and found the hotel an easy walk even with a bit of luggage. Our room was clean and well kept and everything worked and while it fronted onto the main street it was very quite. Checkin was easy as was checking out. The only problem we encountered was breakfast which took a long time, probably because we ordered off the menu. It took long time to get our food and even longer to get the bill taken care of. Save from breakfast it I have no complaints and would stay at this hotel again, especially if I were traveling by train to or from Dublin.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsthouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Ashling Hotel in Dublin is just a few footsteps away from the Main Stadion and the tram thats going to the city centre. The Hotel has a really nice atmosphere with a huge foyer, restaurant, a nice bar and a lot of space. the that i stayed in was not really large, but big enough for a short stay. it's pretty clean and modern with a new bathroom, television, hair dryer and everything else thats really necessary. I can recommentd this place to anyone that wants to stay in nice place in the beautiful city of Dublin.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClemensGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The rooms were incredible and the service was impeccable. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. There was a slight buzzing in our room when we first checked in and we called down to ask about it. Rather than sending maintenance the front desk clerk was up literally within seconds with keys to a new room, upgraded. With rooms already booked back at the Ashling for the following weekend (we were traveling around in between Ireland), my wife asked if it would be possible to stay in the exact same room the following weekend, and they easily accommodated us.

I can't say enough about the incredibly friendly staff! Ever pleasant and helpful, they answered any questions we had about the city and transportation (and we had many). It was a great stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The room was lovely, adjoining bathroom was immaculate. Soft furnishings all in very good condition.
The best selling point on the hotel was is location. Two minutes walk from the tram, and open top tour bus stops. Or walking distance to the main shopping area (takes about half an hour to walk, depending on your pace).
I had two meals in the restaurant while I was there, both were extremely tasty and while not cheap I wasn't quibbling over the price either (2 courses for 20 Euro, 3 for 25).

Can't comment on room price as I stayed here as part of a holiday deal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LillyJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

having stayed here previously i was really lookinmg forward to our stay but on check in the receptionist was not very friendly, i had asked for one of the newer rooms and she told me they were full tonight. upon seeing our room i was not at all happy, went down to reception again and met another lady who proceeded to give us a large clean and modern room. thank you.
i work in the hotel industry myself so i know the importance of customer service.
however loved the stay, breakfast is fab!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalwayTantan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.8 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#4 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,928 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
3.7 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
1.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,323 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Gibson Hotel
The Gibson Hotel
#13 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 4,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Property: Ashling Hotel
Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing