We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rare family friendly hotel in Dublin”
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #17 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Roscommon, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A rare family friendly hotel in Dublin”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

One of the few family friendly hotels in Dublin, we stayed for 3 nights with our 2 children (3 & 6) over the mid term break. A 4 minute walk from Heuston station and the Luas Red line made it very convenient for us to travel around the city, the Dublin Bus Hop on/off stop also nearby. The public areas of the hotel were well appointed with a comfortable open bar to one side, we arrived early and were able to leave our baggage in the luggage store until check in. It was a 15min walk to Dublin Zoo which incidentally was lovely, not like many zoos these days which try to sell you something at every opportunity.
Our room was spacious and had all the amenities you would expect of a 4 star however we were disappointed with the view, overlooking a central flat roof area housing the A/C plant, not pleasant! This also made the room quite dark and gloomy with some noise from the A/C units.
The receptionist did not seem quite "clued in" as to what was taking place in the hotel as when we enquired about the Children's DVD night in the restaurant (as displayed on the board on the reception desk!) she didn't know anything about it. This in itself was a great idea as it allowed parents to enjoy their meal while little ones can eat and watch a movie at the same time although I would suggest making a more suitable seating area for the kids. The restaurant is large enough to take this.The waiting staff were lovely and friendly, great with the kids, which more than made up for a mistake with our food order.
Breakfast was very good with a varied range of hot and cold options. Again staff were very friendly and helpful.
I would also like to mention that the Manager was almost always present around the hotel, was very welcoming and seemed very hands on, not something you see in many hotels.
Overall I would say this is a good value option for families, good location with convenient transport links. Would definitely stay again but in a room with a nicer view!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view or on a higher floor to avoid being placed near the A/C units!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dellymch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,366
    1,605
    345
    72
    39
See reviews for
891
1,985
186
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (811)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Longford
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Stayed here unexpectedly one night when my partner was taken ill, and brought to nearby St. James's Hospital. A little pricey, I thought, for a very standard type of room, but it is pretty much city centre, I suppose. Staff were as courteous and helpful as I could expect, food was pretty good. There was an irregular metal screeching outside the window somewhere, which made sleeping a problem - I was at the back of the hotel, as far as I could make out, on the third floor. The Luas tram stops pretty much outside the front door, giving access to the city centre, transport and shopping, etc. They have a parking garage. The immediate surroundings are pleasant, not far from the Phoenix Park, and a branch of the National Museum, and other attractions. Heuston Station, with its train connections to the South and West of the country, is across the road. This is one of the 2 or 3 closest hotels to St, Jame's Hospital, if that's the reason for your stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fourcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in the Ashling Hotel around Halloween break - as part of our deal we got 3 nights B&B plus one evening meal.
The hotel is well located on the Luas line - although I would recommend that the hotel website suggested to disembark at Heuston instead of Museum as this stop is closer and the Museum stop can be dodgy at night!
Our room wasn't huge but it was nice and comfortable. The only complaint we had was that it was too warm, but we were provided with a fan when we mentioned it at Reception.
Breakfast is very good, plenty of choice, but because the hotel is so busy it can be difficult to get your tea and coffee! We did appreciate that the staff were busy though so we didn't mind.
The meal we had in the restaurant was lovely and the hotel bar is very comfy and the staff are efficient.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay, the Ashling Hotel is a great base to visit Dublin - especially Collins Barracks, the Jameson Distilery & Guinness Storehouse, and if we visit Dublin again we will stay in the Ashling.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jannie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed at the Ashling on our last night in Ireland. Upon arrival the staff was friendly but not as welcoming as other hotels. We were told to upgrade for an additional fee of 20 Euro, otherwise we would be sure to be disappointed in our room. Once at the upgraded room (it was our honeymoon and last night so the upgrade was an easy sell) we were very pleased, the room was very spacious, bed was large and comfortable and the bathroom was the size of some of our hotels rooms!
We did not eat dinner in the hotel but it did smell very good... breakfast the next morning was very nice. Full Irish breakfast and a substantial buffet to choose from. The parking garage was free once they validated the ticket and that was wonderful but the parking spots were extremely tiny so it was quite the effort to get in and out (thank God for insurance).
Hotel was close to the museum (free admission), Guinness factory and a short walk to the ha'penny bridge and the Temple Bar area.
My only negatives would be the lighting in the hallways.. I'm a little short so the motion detectors to turn the lights on never saw me (even when jumping like a two year old!) so I had to walk to the room in the dark unless my Husband was with me (he's 6'4, detected him just fine). Once the lights come on they only stay on for 30 - 45 seconds.... which is ridiculous. While waiting for the elevator it was like a disco with the on and off lights. Just a very uncomfortable feeling being in the dark in a hotel.
Overall we enjoyed our stay but if it wasn't for the upgraded room we probably would have been less then happy.

Room Tip: Get the upgrade in the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saorisenyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for three nights at the start of a CIE tour and then again for one night at the end of the tour. Both rooms were very nice ... modern, clean, comfortable, quiet, with all the amenities you would hope for, including free wi-fi. My iTouch didn't pick up the signal in our 4th floor room but worked fine in the lobby. The buffet breakfasts were very good as were the dinners. Transportation from here is right out in front of the hotel but we chose to walk to the center of Dublin, along the River Liffey, about 15-20 minutes to Grafton Street. We'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Our 4th floor room, center front, looked out on the little park in front and we didn't hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank60616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strabane
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed in family room for 2 adults and 2 children (3 & 4) for two nights. It was a great stay, suited us down to the ground. Quiet area, easy reach of Luas which kids loved. Perfect for exploring the zoo.

Room was modern, clean and spacious, comfortable beds and well decorated. I needed to ask for lamp for nighttime but nothing was too much trouble. Staff always engaged with kids and they loved the big sofas. Breakfast was delicious but lunch in bar was disappointingly overpriced.

I would definitely stay again, perfect for a family break.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline1456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Autriche
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We chose that hotel after seeing reviews on Tripadvisor and were very satisfied. The first time, we were upgraded and got a very nice room with a wide view over Dublin. The second time, the room was on the first floor. Although also very nice, it was not so quiet and despite thick windows we coul hear the noise from the street. So if possible, it is worth trying to get a room higher up or not on the street side. Very good connection to the city center and close to railway station.

Room Tip: Try a room on an upper floor or at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viennoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.8 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,499 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
3.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,116 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Property: Ashling Hotel
Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing