We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Comfortable 4 star in Dublin”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #16 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable 4 star in Dublin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this hotel. Being from Dublin I was aware of the Ashling in it's previous incarnation as a rather seedy premises, however the recent refurbishment has turned it into an excellent quality hotel, deserving of it's 4 star status. Our Superior King Room (364 I think) was very comfortable with a nice view over the little park opposite and the river Liffey beyond. The hotel is in a fairly good location, whilst not in the very centre of the city it is a short tram ride to O'Connell street and close to some attractions such as the national Museum at Collins Barracks, The Guinness Storehouse/Brewery, Irish museum of modern art (IMMA) and Kilmainham Gaol, and Heuston station is just across the river (for mainline trains to the south and west of Ireland). The lobby, bar and restaurant are very nicely appointed with modern decor and the breakfast was excellent with a good choice on offer. One minor quibble was with the availability of a late-night residents' bar. We were staying here after a wedding reception nearby and had asked a couple of times about the residents' bar, as we knew we would be late returning to the hotel. We were informed on both occasions (as were others in our party who enquired) that the bar would remain open until 2.30 - 3 a.m. However when we returned shortly after 2 we were told the bar was closed and that if we wanted to wait for other guests we would have to sit in the lobby. It took some negotiation and the intervention of the night manager before we were allowed to get a round of drinks and could sit in the bar. I guess that the late residents' bar is at the management's discretion - and I appreciate the night manager facilitating us, but I felt that clearer information should have been given, and other members of the night staff could have shown greater flexibilty.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FR73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,269
    1,548
    332
    72
    33
See reviews for
842
1,917
182
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (789)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for 7 nights in July . The main reason to stay here is to be within 5 minutes walk of Heuston Rail Station or to be on Luas Red tram line just 5 minutes from city centre.The hotel itself is a lttle isolated from all other facilities.The area is very quiet at night and it would be prudent to exercise caution if walking in area late at night.The hotel itself is very secure.
Hotel service was what you would expect from a 4* Irish Hotel. Clean,well kept rooms,friendly bar/diner and good restaurant.Staff are international.At breakafat with so many rooms the breakfast room was under a bit of pressure
For our 1st 3 days one of 3 elevators was out of order and on 4th day this increased to 2 out of order which caused some problems. By nightfall all were back in order.
There is integral car parking in garage at 7 Euros a night.
When entering by car you have to turn across the tram tracks to get into the garage. Be wary of trams ! Exit is onto a side street.Do not follow google earth streetview signs as the film is outdated. You enter by vehicle at front of hotel.
Food and beverage service was good throughout.
All in all highly recomended if you need to use station or Luas line.

Room Tip: Wide selection of rooms.Just choose what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buckfast39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

Great Hotel. Not in City Center (which we liked) and just across the street from Heuston Station which was very convenient for our day trips out of the city. The Zoo & phoenix park are within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pratts81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

This hotel is in a very convenient location for train travel as it located across from the Heuston Train station. Heuston Station also has Dublin City bus stops and tram service. We booked a Hop on - Hop off Dublin City Bus Tour and there was a stop for this just down the street from the hotel, as well.
Do yourself a BIG favor and pay the extra 10 EURO per night for the superior room. It is well worth it. The standard rooms are in the older part of the hotel and not nearly as nice. We were in Ireland for 3 weeks and stayed at the hotel on 3 different occassions. They held our bags for us when we went to Belfast for an overnight trip. We didn't want to take all of our bags. Great service.

Room Tip: Book the Superior Rooms for the extra 10 EUROs - much better than the Standard room - well worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaLawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

Big, comfortable rooms. Newly renovated. Modern and up to date. Exceptional hotel staff, helpful and friendly. Lots of sofas and easy chairs in lobby to socialize with your party and visitors. Luas tram/light rail stops nearby and will take you to city center. Heuston Train Station, 2 minute walk across river, has ATMs, quick lunch and trains to west. Guinness Storehouse just across river. Collins Barracks, a unit of the National Museum, next door and free. Highly recommend Ryan's Pub for drinks and dinner. Two blocks west on Parkgate. Exceptionally friendly and helpful bar staff. Pub open since 1886. Great wooden bar. Full dinner available in bar. Better than sterile modern restaurant upstairs. Popular with Dubliners.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rock56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

We recently returned from a 10 day trip to Ireland where we took a 4 day Irish Railway Tour. Thoroughly enjoyed the tour which took us from Dublin down to Cork, Cobv, Killarney, Limerick, Galway, Cliffs of Mohr, etc. We saw such wonderful sites and the train tour, guides (Norman, Billy, Martin, ) were all wonderful! Also, took a Wicklow Mountains tour bus for a 1 day tour (our guide, Joe, we highly recommend!). Anyway,
staying at the Ashling was perfect! Beautifully situated near the Heuston train station where we had to be at 6:30am to catch the tour train. Also, we caught the tram from Heuston to go in and out of town with great ease! Just a 5 minute tram ride to O'Connell Street which was our startiing off point each day after we returned from our 4 day train tour. Perfect vacation! We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dublinbound493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

Hotel is lovely and clean and we always sleep very well there as it is so quiet. Its very easy to get to and very near a Luas stop. The only complaint is that you have to pay full price for breackfast even if you only eat lightly . My sister who is having cancer treatment only wanted scrambled egg and was made pay for full breackfast.this should be changed.

Room Tip: rooms at back hotel very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molly190754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.8 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,346 reviews
3.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,649 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,101 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,744 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Property: Ashling Hotel
Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing