We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,121)
Filter reviews
5,121 results
Traveler rating
2,816
1,796
384
83
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,816
1,796
384
83
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsphoenix parkiveagh barguinness storehousenancy handscity centresuperior kingheuston train stationgreat hotelnational museumminute walktram linekilmainham gaolbreakfast buffetacross the riverluas stopbar foodfamily room
Filter
Updating list...
4,496 - 4,501 of 5,121 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2007

We stayed at the Ashling for two nights--12-13 Nov 2007. We arrived early in the morning from an overnight flight from Boston. We stayed on the second floor and had to lug our suitcases down a few steps after exiting the lift. The room we had overlooked what looked like a loading dock area. Monday night there must have been a bar or lounge quite nearby as I was awakened by a loud singer/band music. This went on until 1230 a.m. I finally was able to fall asleep around 2 am. Definitely not the place to stay if you want some sleep!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mcfin17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2007

We have just returned from a weekend in Dublin, and stayed at this hotel, the welcome was great the rooms very clean, the breakfast was brilliant and plenty of it whatever time you eat. The hotel bar is very welcoming and the food served in there was just what you need. The local metro is a great way to get into the city but it is easily walked in 10mins max and its all flat!!!!!

If you get the express bus from Dublin Airport to Abbey Street and then the metro/tram from Abbey Street to the museum you will save loads and its sooooo easy!!

A very good hotel. Good value. We Will Be Back.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank palmers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2007

Have just spent 3 nights at the Ashling Hotel. Be aware that construction work is taking place inside the hotel. You will be woken just after 7 AM by the sounds of hammering & drilling. This noise carries on all day until 5 PM.

Next door an office block is under construction which adds even more noise.

The management have put a few signs up with an apology. This is of little use to the guests whose stays have been ruined. Be warned don't go until you are sure they have finished the building works.

Stayed: November 2007
3  Thank GeorgeBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2007

We stayed in this hotel primarily because it was very close to family
who could visit us at the hotel as we were only there for a night. We
arrived not really expecting much, what we found was a clean and tidy
hotel with very good reception staff and a check in time of approx 4-5mins(we had pre-booked).

After a long drive from the north west of ireland we just wanted a good room with good facilities for our stay and we got exactly that.
Breakfast was served in a very nice area of the hotel and was a very good buffet with all the goodies you would need from fruit to fully cooked.

We had a very nice stay and we thought at a reasonable price considering we booked late and it was a friday night! Note: for anyone with a car(we rented) it also has its own carpark and for residents its FREE!!!!

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank jch2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2007

Stayed here for a quick night away and for the price paid it comes highly recommended. The room we had was huge, almost like a 1 bed flat. Don't know if all rooms are this big but ask for room 517. Nice cosy bar and a great local pub a few doors down with a very friendly landlord who wrote down for us the best places to eat etc. It was a bit of a trek to the main O'connel St / Temple Bar (approx 20mins) but the tram is easy enough. We travelled by ferry into Dun Loaghrie and if you taxi it from there is costs 20 euros and with the ammount of traffic and traffice lights into Dublin it is so much easier and cheaper to jump on the DART across the way from ferry terminal costing 2 euros per person and taking you into the centre. I will be visiting again and although it is hard to beat staying in the Arlington hotel for atmosphere and location, the ashling is almost half the price and great for a base so a perfect alternative.

Stayed: October 2007
Thank WalesDavies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews