We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Allrounder!!!!”
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #13 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2007

I was well impressed with this hotel. I was my first visit to Dublin and would definatley stay here if I return!!! Its near the Guiness Factory and the zoo. About a 20 min walk from the centre but theres a tram stop just down from the hotel which run frequently and cheaply. Bars near by great value compared to Temple Bar area.

The rooms were fantastic, nicely decorated, comfortable and cosy feel. The breakfast was delicious and very generous. The Bar at the hotel is called The Guiness Lounge and is lovely and cosy and prices are o too. They do nice snacks which I ate as a main meal and there was plenty....i was very full!!! Irish coffee delicious!!! There is also internet acces at the hotel which is convenient.

Service was good and always with a smile.

I would reccomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank vjcc80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,106 - 4,112 of 4,673 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2007

Stayed in dublin quite a few times and have always stayed at other hotels in dublin but saw this hotel and thought we give it ago .Arrived at the hotel before 2 pm checkin and we left our bags in the lockable luugage room so as you do in dublin went for a drink the bar was ideal resonbley priced and we ate in the bistro a couple of times and each day for breakfast which could we could not fault . The hotel is clean well organised and the staff freindley this also goes for the rooms the location is ideal for most landmarks tourist attractions etc and the hop on bus plus the local tram network which is a stones throw away .Would recomend this hotel to most and on my return to dublin soon i hope will more and likley choose this again ....

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank m666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2007

Booked this on a whim via teletext. Booked four nights and flew with Ryanair. With regard to the flight I was apprehensive due to all the "horror" stories but absolutely no problems. We were about 5mins early!
The buildings in Dublin are fantastic to look at if that is your thing but be warned in January the weather was terribly cold and wet.
The viewing tower at the top of the Guiness factory is superb. An allround rooftop of Dublin.
The hotel was only a 3star but the food was lovely, rooms very clean and the staff were friendly. The only down side, to me, was that it was a bit too far away from the centre and sites. A trifle but there it is. Would revisit the hotel and the place.

  • Stayed: January 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThommyCrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2007

just returned from dublin, after staying at the ashling hotel
all i can say is FAB.
Food was great , good veriety,rooms good nice and clean,
great value for money breakfast excellent. will be going
back at sometime. tram outside takes you into dublin city
centre in 5 mins.
Dublin if you have not been BRILL.

Stayed: September 2007
2  Thank nell2b2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2007

I stayed here on a weekend away with my partner. It is brilliantly located in the city centre but away from the noise and busyness of a city. Our room was very nice and clean with a balcony. We were joned by friends who's room was much smaller and clearl of a diffenert standard but still fine. There is good parking for anyone driving and it is located perfectly for transport into city centre. The food is very good here especially the breakfast. Friendly staff

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sinduf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2007

This hotel is well situated for the Heuston train/tram station being only an 8 minute walk away. The staff are very helpful, the hotel is very clean has a good breakfast and good value bar meals. The rooms are of a good size. The only fault with the hotel is that there is no air conditioning and despite it being warm during our stay the heating was on and so the rooms were very hot. But due to the location of the busy road it was too noisy at night to have the window open. Also there was no fridge in our room which would have been a bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madge002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2007

I have rated the hotel as average, not because there were any problems but because it was exactly as we expected, which is to say comfortable, clean, convenient for public transport and good value. There are no frills, but for the price we didn't expect them. I would certainly recommend the otel for anyone visiting Dublin for a few days.

Things worth seeing:
Kilmainham Jail
Guiness Storehouse (The bar at the top has fabulous views of the city)
The Arts and Science Museum next to the hotel

We had an evening at the theatre too, seeing Private Lives at The Gate, which was excellent and to be recommended.

There is also an excellent Japanese restaurant called Sushi about 15-20 minutes walk from the hotel. It faces onto the riverbank. You can reach it by taking the tram to Jervis from the hotel, crossing over the tramlines and walking down the pedestrianised street to the river. Turn left at the bottom to find the restaurant. There are some super cafes on the pedestrianised street too, particularly Lemon Jelly.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twiceover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Croke Park
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4,662 reviews
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 151 in Dublin
2,025 reviews
Kilmainham
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $111 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing