We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2007

Stayed at the Clontarf Castle Hotel for one night with our 8yr old daughter. The room was beautiful and luxurious with two very comfortable double beds. There was nothing to fault with the room or the service. We had dinner in the restaurant that night and was treated to impecable service. The food was wonderful but on the pricey side. It was worth being spoilt though. Breakfast was plentiful although I'm not a fan of eggs in bain maries.

I would recommend anyone staying here. The unique facade of the building and it's wonderfully interesting interior (try to snare the little nook of comfy armchairs in the candlelit alcove to the left of reception for after dinner drinks).

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ozallens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2007

Dear Guest,

I was absolutely delighted when I read your review on TripAdvisor, and I wish to thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback on your visit.
On behalf of all staff here at Clontarf Castle Hotel, we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Siobhan Fagan
Sales & Marketing Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,975 - 3,981 of 4,248 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2007

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend break in January. Beautiful hotel with an impressive facade and reception.

The rooms were excellent with one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in (2 doubles). Everything in the room was spotless, wide screen wall mounted t.v.

This hotel is nice for a relaxing break if you don't want to be in the center of Dublin and is fine if you have a car with you to explore.

The restaurant is very expensive but the bar food is reasonable and good quality. No music in the bar on Friday or Saturday night and although busy is lacking in any atmosphere.

You may feel isolated here if you aren't prepared to pay for expensive Dublin taxi's (if you can get one on a Saturday night)

Good for a relaxing weekend but with no leisure facilities and no music a bit dull!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ceadmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2007

Dear Guest,

I wish to thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted that you were impressed with our hotel and bedrooms. You are indeed correct about our beds here as we are regularly complimented on how comfortable they are.
Here at Clontarf Castle Hotel we very much take into consideration any feedback we receive from our guests and appreciate you taking the time to let us know your views and opinions.
We hopefully look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Siobhan Fagan
Sales & Marketing Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2007

This hotel is gorgeous, the rooms are very nice, the beds are comfortable. The restaurant is insanely expensive ($62 for two breakfast buffets!!) but decently good. Our main problem was that we arrived at around 10:30 a.m. exhausted from our international flight. We had told them we would be there early, which is normal for travelers from the U.S. When we got there we were told that the room would not be ready until 2:00. Granted, that is a normal check in time, but I expect them to make special accomodations for international travelers considering how much they charge for the rooms. There is no reason why they couldn't have prepared a room for us or at least given us a place to wait and lie down. We went to have the aforementioned incredibly expensive breakfast and then sat in the lobby for over two hours falling asleep. By the time we finally got into a room and slept a little bit, our day was gone. When I pay that much for a room, I expect better service and more accommodation.

But I agree--the concierge was fabulous!

Keep in mind that this hotel is not in a great location, but does have a bus running nearby that goes to the city center. It is also fairly inexpensive to take a cab there from city center.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank katshif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2007

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your review on Clontarf Castle Hotel. I am delighted that you found the hotel "gorgeous" and our bedrooms "nice" and "comfortable".
I do however, wish to apologise for any inconvenience caused, especially after your long journey.
As check-in is officially 2pm, we do however try to take this into consideration for our International travellers and if there are any rooms available earlier we try our utmost to accommodate our guests as soon as we can.
I do very much hope that this didn't effect your stay too much, and if given the opportunity we can accommodate you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Siobhan Fagan
Sales & Marketing Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2007

We were a group f 8 people. We all loved the hotel. Super breakfast. Super atmosphere. A very good place for our first night in Ireland. The city center is a short bus ride or cab away. We chose to take a cab. It was 12 euros. We found a place nearby for dinner then came back to the hotel for dessert. I would have to agree that the service in the bar wasn't that great. But I noticed that the service in Ireland is defnitely not up to the standards of Americans. Everyplace we went in Ireland we had to wait a long time for the check. So we started asking for it when they took away our plates. This worked great.

All 8 of us would agree that we would stay at this hotel again. Vijay was fabulous!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank InMotionTherapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2007

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Clontarf Castle Hotel.
My sincere apologies in regards to the service in the bar. We always try to maintain an efficient service for our guests and hope that this didn't in any way effect your stay.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle in the near future.

Kind regards,

Siobhan Fagan
Sales Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2007

I stayed at Clontarf Castle hotel for 3 nights last week and was very excited because of the reviews I had read on TA. I must admit that the hotel was definitely up to my expectations in every aspect. The room was spacious and elegantly decorated, the bed was really comfortable as some other travellers have already pointed out before. The bathroom was very modern and had a very beautiful and comfortable shower. Towels were changed every single day, even though we didn't leave them on the floor. Staff at front desk was extremely helpful and polite and kindly replied to all of our inquiries. There was only a minor problem when we arrived because the room we were initially assigned (on the third floor) was a twin room and not a double as I requested, but the guy at the reception immediately moved us to the room next door, which was in fact a double room.
Our package also included breakfast, which was served at the Fahrenheit Grill. On Sunday morning we had a cold and hot buffet , whereas on the following days we only had a cold buffet and different types of breakfast (including full Irish breakfast --- excellent, but too much for my stomach which is only used to one coffee in the morning...so the next day I switched again to continental breakfast) served at your table upon request. The only thing I didn't like too much as regards breakfast is that it was a little bit too crowded, and waiters seemed to be constantly in a hurry, moving rapidly through the tables in every moment...
As regards public transportation, it is true that the stop of the 130 bus is just round the corner, but I would advise you to take a little walk until the stop on Clontarf Road (more or less opposite the Yacht pub), since you will spare about 10 minutes through narrow lanes and road in Clontarf. If you plan to go back to the hotel after midnight, every day except on Sundays there is the Nitelink bus which is very convenient (n. 31N from D'Olier Street in the city centre to Clontarf Road, the 2nd stop after the Yacht pub).
Overall our stay at Clontarf Castle was absolutely relaxing and comfortable, I really hope to go back there next time we'll stay in Dublin. By the way, restoration works didn't affect our stay at all and finally, try to book through their website because rates are great.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Polpetta1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2007

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review on Clontarf Castle Hotel. I am very glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and found the bedrooms to be "spacious and elegantly decorated". After recently undergoing a €10 million refurbishment, we look forward to hearing our guests feedback on the general look of the hotel as it makes the work all worthwhile.
Your tip to fellow travellers is indeed correct. Guests can either get the 130 bus just around the corner from the hotel or walk a little further to the Clontarf Road and cut out a number of stops on your journey.

Many thanks again for all your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again to Clontarf Castle.

Kind regards,

Siobhan Fagan
Sales Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2007

We stayed for four days while at a vacation/work trip. Beautiful property in residential area, under rennovation while we were there (April 2007) but that did not impact the stay negatively. Great bar, restaurant and nightclub on property. A 12 minute walk to train stop and then about 15 minute ride into Dublin City Centre. Modern, nice rooms, flat screen tv.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MichiganKansan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2007

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and you like our "new look" Castle.
Our mix of old and new means that as a hotel we have something to suit everybodys' taste. Be it our chic, modern Indigo Lounge or our more traditional Knight's Bar, our guests can relax and enjoy the surroundings of a 19th century Castle.
Once again, many thanks for taking the time to let us know how your stay went and we very much hope that you visit Clontarf Castle again very shortly.

Kind regards,

Siobhan Fagan
Sales Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2007

We stayed at the Clontarf Castle Hotel in April 2007 for our Honeymoon. From the moment you see the hotel it looks wonderful allbeit building work was in progress but this did not hamper our stay.

We were meet by very friendly staff who could not do enough for us at all times. We had to change room because of a problem with the bathroom but this was quickly sorted out with no hesitation and we were lucky to end up with a "executive room" which was superb. I had read other reviews of this hotel on this site and we totally agree that the beds were to die for.

I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone and hopefully we can return on our first wedding anniversary next year.

We agreed that this is the best hotel that we have stayed in and congratulate all the hotel staff making our stay with them excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honeymoonersdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2007

Dear Guests,

On behalf of everyone here at Clontarf Castle Hotel I wish to thank you both for your lovely review.
My apologies for the problem with the bathroom, however I'm delighted that your room was upgraded and your honeymoon was made that extra bit special.
Clontarf Castle is indeed perfect for a weekend getaway or honeymoon as the romantic setting ensures our guests to a magical atmosphere that is unforgettable.
We very much look forward to welcoming you both back next year, and in the meantime if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Siobhan Fagan
Sales Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,733 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,534 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,652 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
4,749 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $138 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing