We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW - amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2007

Without a doubt this is one of the nicest hotels that I have ever stayed in. It's a fabulous 12th century (I think!?) castle with an extension for the bedrooms. Lobby, bars, restaurant and some areas are in the original castle, and the bedrooms are in the new extension that blends really well with the orignal.
The food in their Grill- Fahrenheit Grill was great. Best steak my husband ever had. Breakfast was hearty and make sure you have the seafood chowder in the Knights Pub - it's a real pub with loads of atmosphere! If you like Golf - Royal Dublin is less than a mile. The open top bus tour even stops at the front door of the hotel - so you can visit all the top attractions in Dublin so easily...
Try arriving a night time - the driver up their priavte avenue is very romantic!

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank MadIrishFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2007

Many thanks for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found our restaurant The Fahrenheit Grill and Knights Bar of excellent standard.
We like to offer variety and choice here at Clontarf Castle Hotel, that is why our newly renovated restaurant along with Knights Bar and the Indigo Lounge offer their own uniqueness with a blend of old and new, so that there is something of interest to everyone.
If a romantic getaway is what you are looking for, look no further than Clontarf Castle Hotel.
We very much look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,909 - 3,915 of 4,154 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2007

Got a good rate of 111 euros for double room (no breakfast). Directions supplied on website were excellent- very easily accessed from the North - first time ever for driving straight in and out of Dublin without getting lost. Room was excellent, very modern with every amenity. Good food served in the bar area - large helpings, so share.Dined in the Farenheit restaurant in the hotel in the evening- superb, and made all the more special with the offer of free bottle of housewine - (we just happened to find this voucher at the concierge desk ). Took a taxi to Croke Park which cost E10 . The next day took the bus into town - 1.40 euro each, and well worth it - no hassle, no car parking fees. Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank dtiwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2007

I wish to thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you found our website user friendly & our newly refurbished restaurant The Fahrenheit Grill of excellent value.
We truly value your feedback & if you have any queries, or wish to return to Clontarf Castle please do not hesitate to contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2007

We stayed at the Clontarf Castle hotel for a romantic weekend, we were welcomed by friendy receptionists and allowed into our rooms at 11am instead 2pm.
Although there was some work going on (both externally and internally), this did not in any way spoil our stay.
The breakfast was superb with such a wide choice of food. I guess if I had to pick a fault it would be that we just took a seat in the restaurant and didn't give our room number or wait to be seated but there wasn't anyone on the desk when we arrived, we were quickly asked to move which at the time seemed a little petty but I guess they have rules for a reason. Overall the hotel itself is beautiful, it has three different restaurants/bars all with a different style, very welcoming, warm and friendly.

Stayed: February 2007
2  Thank Annie_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2007

Many thanks for your review on Clontarf Castle Hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel and staff to be warm and friendly.
Please do not hesitate to visit our "new" website showcasing our €10 million refurbishment.
Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to your visit to Clontarf Castle in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2007

We wanted a nice hotel to just spend 1 night for a weekend break to celebrate my dad's birthday. This hotel suited our requirements perfectly. The bedrooms have been recently refurbished and were fairly modern in style and had very comfortable beds and luxurious bed linen. The bathrooms were also very modern in style, and the shower was a "trendy" design, with both a large fixed head, plus a 2nd shower head on a hose. There were tea/coffee making facilities in the room, although there wasn't a fridge.

We booked on a special weekend package of 99Euros per person for dinner, bed and breakfast, so it worked out at 198Euros per room per night. This was very good value as the meal that we had in the restaurant on Saturday night was extremely good, and equalled many of the top London restaurants! Breakfast was good too, and there was plenty of variety. We were seated for breakfast immediately at 10am on Sunday morning, but as we left there was a queue of people waiting for a table, so we would advise going for breakfast early.
The hotel was a little way out of the city, and we did have to get a local bus to go sightseeing (although the concierge did offer to order us a taxi). There are some "free" buses during the day that are operated by one of the bus tour companies, but these didn't fit into the timings that we wanted to go into the city.

The staff were all very helpful and friendly, particularly the concierge and one of the French waiters. Our only complaint would be that we found the room to be noisy. All the bedrooms seem to have large LCD televisions, and when we went to bed at midnight the people in the rooms both sides of us were watching television and we couldn't get to sleep as it was so loud in our room. The main part of the hotel appeared to be an old building, but our rooms were in a modern section, which we didn't feel looked right architectually with the rest of the building - but it was very comfortable!

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank foodiesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2007

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted that your time in Clontarf Castle was worthwhile and that you had an enjoyable experience.
We really appreciate your feedback as it allows us to improve our services and guarantee a high level of professionalism within Clontarf Castle Hotel.
We always try our best to maintain a high standard of excellence for our guests. Our vision statement is: "Making history through our passion for excellence" and we feel that through the thoughts and suggestions of our customers, there is always room for improvement.
Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2007

Booked a long weekedn to thishotel thru travelzoo. New rooms are really nice and comfortable, nice to get back to after discovering the city centre. Cheap to get into town, take the 130 bus, but walk down to the road by the river to get the bus. You need 1 euro 40 in change o take bus else they won't let you on. Bus takes you down to oconnel street. Expect to pay 20 euros to airport, same down town. staff were very friendly, breakfast is nice. Knights bar tends to have wedding partys in on sat ights, so might be best drinking down town. Throughly recommend it and would stay there again

Stayed: January 2007
3  Thank DavidwukLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2007

This is one of the most charming hotels we have ever stayed in. The attention to detail was amazing. Everything about it was wonderful. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us. We landed in Dublin at 5:00 a.m. after our overseas flight from NY and we were comfortably ensconced in our room by 6:30 a.m. I cannot recommend this hotel enough. It's a step back in time that is well worth the trip! We will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinkerII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2006

We stayed in the hotel for one night as we were attending a wedding. The hotel is beautiful with huge open fires and lots of candles. Some parts of the hotel are quite old but the bedrooms are ultra modern.

The room had a huge double bed which was really comfortable. A plasma TV, Safe, trouser press, iron and ironing board, hairdryer and a tea tray which included biscuits.

The bathroom was spotless with nice big towels, a bath and a fantastic shower, Complimentary toiletries of shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and body lotion along with a shower cap were included.

Breakfast was excellent. The lady in charge introduced herself by name, told us what was available from the buffet and what we could order from the kitchen, offered us a newspaper and then brought us tea coffee and toast.
Several juices as well as mineral water was available, Plenty of choices of cereals, pastries, croissants etc also yoghurt
There was a hot buffet which had scrambled and fried eggs, tomato, bacon sausage etc and the most delicious potato bread.

We found the staff to be really friendly and professional and really enjoyed our stay. I would have loved to stay here a bit longer and intend to return in the future

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Coffebean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4,656 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,447 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#5 of 151 in Dublin
1,642 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 151 in Dublin
4,668 reviews
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $137 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Splitty, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing