We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel, Staff let it down a little.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clontarf Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Staff let it down a little.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2006

I stayed at Clontarf Castle because my Husband's Christmas Party was being held here, the only issue I had prior to arrival was that the rate advertised on their website was cheaper than the 'discounted rate' which was given to staff attending the xmas party - luckily I figured this out early enough to get the cheaper rate. On arrival, at 3.45pm, we were offered an upgrade but had to wait for 45 mins for the room to be ready, we were happy with this as we got a fabulous suite with a four poster bed but having spoken to more guests later on, we discovered that very few of the rooms were ready at 2pm like they should have been. Staff were fine, not overly helpful or friendly, they just did their job and nothing more - a bit dissapointing in such a beautiful hotel. Overall the evening was fantastic and I would quite happily stay there again tomorrow. Perfect for a romatic escape.

  • Liked — Fabulous Rooms
  • Disliked — Having to wait for room to be cleaned
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Daisybelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,385
    757
    263
    100
    69
See reviews for
748
1,725
71
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2006

While the hotel itself was nice and clean, I found that some of the staff were very rude and unprofessional. In a service industry professionalism is important and this hotel failed on all counts.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pro_game
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2006

We checked in much latter than we planned, almost 10PM and the staff was amazing. They kept the restaurant open just for us and we had the entire staff waiting on us hand and foot in the most fantasic dining room (tudor with black lacquer chandeliers and purple/bue tulips). The hotel/castle is being totalling moderized and we had one of the new rooms. The hall carpeting was just layed and the new modern lounge will probably be open by the weekend. After a fabulous dinner we had cocktails in front of the fireplace in the Knights Pub. Then we retired to our room in the wee hours after exporing the castle.
I could see the castle tower from my room, since we had an inside room. The bed had the thickest down comforter and freshest sheets (nothing like white, white, white.....and elegant covers and pillows). The bathroom was marvelous, with a rainshower head and medium size tub, and the softest toilet paper I ever had with great toiletries. They even had shortbreads with the in room coffee/tea maker. Since we had an early flight in the AM, they called personnally to make sure we were up and the taxi driver was waiting at reception when we checked out. Book on their website 2 weeks in advance and you will get a fantastic rate.

  • Liked — The restarant
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Book on their website 2 weeks in advance.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MTanzella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2006

If you are looking for a mixture of the terribly old with the fabulous new, then this is the place to be. Only a short taxi journey from the airport and located in the up market, quiet suburban area of Clontarf, this hotel will take your breath away. Please ignore all the wingers, complaining that this is not a real castle, at these room prices, what are they expecting? What you do get for your money at this hotel is a refreshing mix of the old and new, not to mention some of the most comfortable beds in Dublin. The staff are polite and can't really do enough for you. The standard rooms come with fluffy towels, ironing board, plasma Tv, beautiful furnishings and the housekeeping is spotless. 24 hour room service is at your beck and call and the food in the Indigo Lounge is superb, offering a great choice. The waiter that served us at dinner had obviously been trained by the best as his service and friendly manner was exceptional. Obviously, the hotel is a popular choice at the weekend for conferences and weddings, so if you are looking for a romantic weekend away from it all, then it may be a little crowded. For a 1st class place to stay in The Fair City, this is an excellent choice and we cant wait to go back. A touristy hint: If you decide to walk to the Dart Station from the Hotel, walk to Killester Station rather than Clontarf Station, as it miles and will save sore feet

  • Liked — The Beds!
  • Disliked — Nothing, it was wonderful
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't have additional veg with your main course, leave room for your dessert...its well worth it!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Springlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the valley
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2006

It is advertised as a castle, from the outside it looks like a castle and only part of the lobby looks like that. It is set in a residential area with out any surrounding grounds. The rooms are all modern, which was not how they described them. When I asked about their dining room, and made reservations for a special anniversary dinner, they failed to let me know know that when I arrived it was undergoing renovation, and had been scheduled for 3 months ahead of time. Overall experience, disappointing, would not recommend.

  • Liked — the rooms were ok but not expecting modern
  • Disliked — the false info i recieved before the trip from the hotel
  • Tips/Secrets — don't book this property
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kasey55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2006

Great proximity to Dublin. A short drive or cab ride and you're in the thick of the city, yet it was so nice to come back to the quiet tranquil area of the castle hotel. The castle/hotel is very nice, doesn't look like a REAL old castle, looks built not so long ago. But still it 's neat and has a couple of pubs and a restaurant right in it and lots of areas to sit and read by the giant fireplace or have some wine and chat with freinds in any of the tucked away seating areas. Our room was on the top floor and had the most unique slanted cieling with windows that swung completly open. We could see the water but that area of the bay is full of industrial buildings and equiptment. Still we had a nice walk through the local neighborhood down to the stone walled waterfront with sidewalk. Strolled down to a local pub for a Bulmers on tap - highly recommended.

The worst part was just the directions to get there in the very begining. We were really confused as streets are only marked on one side of the 'wall' and placed very low. We just stumbled on the castle in the end as it's off of a turn circle with five ways to go. They really need to have signs all the way in from the main road saying 'Clontarf' at every turn.

  • Liked — Location to city
  • Disliked — Hard to find as streets are poorly marked
  • Tips/Secrets — Americans like me, driving on the opposite side of the car and opposite side of the raod with bad signage was stressful. I suggest taxis and tour buses. Cheaper than renting a car I bet, and you'll be more relaxed.
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sunshineiest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2006

We were so excited about staying in a real Irish Castle, but our expectations were somewhat tainted by the fact that there was loud jack hammering going on in the hotel (somewhere above our room). As honeymooners we were looking forward to an afternoon of luxury in our lovely room - which was lovely with an enormous and soft bed and lovely modern and clean bathroom. The room also included a bar fridge and iron - almost non existent in Europe. However all afternoon, all we could hear was this loud construction hammering - so loud we could not hear each other talk or hear the tv. My husband rang the front desk and complained three times, only to be told each time they would investigate the noise and it would stop after 5pm. It didn't. We asked to change rooms but this was not possible. Eventually, on the fourth phone call, the noise stopped and they offered us a complimentary meal in the hotel restauarant as compensation. The meal was delightful and we enjoyed ourselves enourmously during the evening sitting later in the foyer admiring the castle and its large fireplace and atmosphere. They also offer free internet access in the foyer which was great. Clontarf Castle is only a short drive from the city centre yet located far enough away to feel like a retreat. The construction, which was obviously part of a renovation, was the only problem. We wish we were advised of this when we booked.

  • Liked — the historical castle section was amazing
  • Disliked — the construction noise above our room
  • Tips/Secrets — check whether there is any renovations going on before you book
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Jen&Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,269 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,039 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,732 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,177 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Property: Clontarf Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing