We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2009

This was a great hotel. The rooms were great along with the lounges. If you are looking to stay in a very authentic castle this may not be the place for you being that it is completely remodeled inside, but that is one of the things we loved about it. The hotel was a bit outside of the city center but it did not matter to us since we rented a car. But there were many buses available to head into town.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbarnett97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCahalane, Internet Marketing Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2009
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review,

We monitor these reviews on a regular basis to ensure our guests are receiving the best possible service whilst on their stay at Clontarf Castle Hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We are conveniently located outside the City centre, but within easy access to the town without being directly in the hustle and bustle of the centre itself.

Should you wish to revisit Clontarf Castle again in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Many Thanks,

Triona Cahalane,
Sales & Marketing Department,
Clontarf Castle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,457
    775
    262
    100
    69
See reviews for
787
1,758
71
279
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Clontarf Castle Hotel for our Honeymoon. We booked it as a package deal through Expedia without knowing anything beyond the reviews we'd read online. We had a very pleasant stay. The staff was friendly, courteous and very knowledgeable about the area and any questions we asked. The best thing about this hotel is the fact that it is quieter than the downtown area but near enough to tour Dublin. The Indigo Bar is worth the visit at any time of the day. We arrived almost two hours early to check into our room and the staff took great care of us; they took our luggage immediately, we got to enjoy tea at the bar and our room was cleaned as soon as the previous tenants checked out. It was a wonderful first impression and the staff treated us just well throughout our stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessandmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCahalane, Internet Marketing Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2009
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit at our charming hotel and took pleasure in visiting our award winning hotel bar, Indigo. I am also pleased to hear that you found our staff to be very friendly and helpful.

We are conveniently located outside the City centre, but within easy access to the town without being directly in the hustle and bustle of the centre itself.

Should you wish to return to our wonderful Four Star Deluxe Clontarf Castle Hotel please do not hesitate to contact us.

Many thanks
Triona Cahalane
Sales & Marketing Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary, alberta
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2009

Clontarf Castle Hotel is spectacular. They have loads of parking, beautiful hotel rooms with plenty of amenities. The Knight's Bar restaurant was excellent as was the breakfast that was included with our rate. HOWEVER, I have never stayed at such a noisy hotel. We had a late night and were planning to sleep in the next day. IMPOSSIBLE! The doors to the hotel rooms were so heavy that when you entered or exited the room, the door slams shut with a loud bang. Of course, if you were careful, you could prevent this but as I found out, most people don't care if they are waking you up. So, around 7am there was slam after slam after slam. Also, we were on the second floor which was a couple floors above the Indigo Lounge. There was a wedding there the following night and we could hear the music pounding until at least midnight. Needless to say, on the two nights we stayed at the hotel, we got very little sleep. Which was too bad because the beds were really comfy! Therefore, although it was beautiful, I would never stay there again. Also, they say it is easy to get to city center, but if you want to get to any of the touristy things like Trinity College or Grafton Street, you have to transfer buses. Or take a 20 Euro cab ride.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurrcyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCahalane, Internet Marketing Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor,

All feedback is reviewed regularly to ensure that all guests enjoy a most memorable visit in future.

On behalf of the team, I wish to convey my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced whilst visiting our beautiful hotel.

I very much welcome the opportunity to regain your confidence in our hotel, therefore should you wish to revisit Clontarf Castle in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me,

Thanks,
Triona Cahalane
Sales & Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsomekitty79
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2009

Considering the price tag they put on their rooms, I was not impressed. The service level was good, but not great. Even at the reception desk, you had to wait for them to acknowledge your presence. The room was small but very nicely furnished with some good touches. The minibar operates on a sensor basis, so forget about putting any leftovers or a beverage of your own in there to keep cool.

The concierge was helpful about figuring out how to get into town/nearby attractions, but in general this was about a 45 minute to an hour process because of having to catch connections. There is no type of shuttle to make this an easier process.

We did eat in the restaurant, Fahrenheit, which was very tasty, although again expensive. The Knight's Bar there is a much more budget-friendly option and is a good place to grab a beer---anywhere else is a bus ride and a hike! Breakfast was NOT included and was another 15-18 euros per person if you wanted it there.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winsomekitty79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCahalane, Internet Marketing Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2009
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review,

We monitor these reviews on a regular basis to ensure our guests are receiving the best possible service whilst on their stay at Clontarf Castle.

On behalf of the team, I wish to convey my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced whilst visiting our beautiful hotel.

We are conveniently located outside the City centre, but within easy access to the town without being directly in the hustle and bustle of the centre itself. A bus stop is just five minutes walk from the Hotel with regular service to the city center.

Once again, many thanks for all of your feedback. If you do decide to return to Clontarf Castle Hotel in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me personally, and I will do my utmost to ensure that your next visit will certainly be most enjoyable.

Many Thanks,

Triona Cahalane,
Sales & Marketing Department,
Clontarf Castle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2009

Just recently returned from a stay in Clontarf Castle and I have previously stayed there a few years ago on business so thought we would give it a go after it was on offer on Travelzoo at a special rate. Arrived from Liverpool to Dublin via Ryanair (excellent flights), Got the 1 day rambler ticker for 10 Euros (which covered 2 adults unlimited travel for the day and included the airport bus), so on arrival at the centre of Dublin (O'Connell Street), the bus for the hotel 130 was round the corner on lower Abbey Street. Stay on for only 10 mins then get off as you see the brown sign saying Clontarf Castle 300 yds, we then walked up Castle Avenue as recommended on here to get to hotel. Hotel was as good as I remember, very modern touches and nice decent size rooms, partners parents were knocked out with both the hotel and the room. Great size beds and no problem with noise. Didn't dine in the hotel as couldn't see anything we fancied off the menu, but had a drink in the Knights bar later and enjoyed that although very expensive! Finally breakfast was included in the rate and we enjoyed that before departing, must also say handy to have such a late check out, 12pm! Found all staff pleasant and accomodating and would not hesitate to stay in the castle in future, especially as the rate was half the price of average hotels in the centre.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukuser2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen_Clontarf, Sales Co-ordinator at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2009
Dear Guest,

Many Thanks for your review on Trip Advisor.

I am happy to hear that your partners parents were knocked out with both the Hotel and the Bedroom, and that you found all of our staff to be plesant and accomodating.

There are indeed special rates available online and I would reccomend checking our websit regularly for any new deals worth availing of.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel in the future.

Many Thanks
Jennifer McNulty
Sales Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2009

Although this hotel is a good 10 minute or so taxi ride from the center of Dublin, I really liked it and think it was worth being a little outside the action to stay here. In the interest of full disclosure, you aren't actually staying in a castle - the central lobby areas incorporate areas of the old castle, but the rooms are modern additions. They did a nice job in melding the old and new in the entrance, and the decoration adds some drama and grandeur. The rooms are great - nicely appointed, comfortable and spacious - but the bathrooms are not as high end as you've gotten used to in high end hotels these days (no sunflower showers, or jets in the tub). There is a wee fitness center hidden down some long hallways and in a basement, but really, skip it. Spend your time in the gorgeous lounge, bar or restaurant -- each has considerable charms, but the lounge is the real standout. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and they'll have a cab waiting for you immediately when you want to head in town. Or, you could probably hide out here quite contentedly for several days before you even want to leave!

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supergirl_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen_Clontarf, Sales Co-ordinator at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2009
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to hear that you found considerable charms in our Gorgeous Lounge, Bar and Restaurant. I am also happy to hear that you found our staff to be very friendly and helpful.

We are conveniently located outside the City centre, but within easy access to the town without being directly in the hustle and bustle of the centre itself.

Should you wish to return to the wonderful Four Star Delux Clontarf Castle Hotel please do not hesitaite to contact me.

Many thanks
Jennifer McNulty
Sales Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llanelli
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2009

Our experience of this hotel was very good. We were allocated a large room which was extremely clean. It was nicely decorated with modern fixtures and fittings. We stay in hotels quite a lot and know that free wifi isn't all its cracked up to be, but we had no problems at all in accessing the internet. Maybe the only criticism I would give was the view. It was of a brick wall but as it was such a lovely room it really didn't matter too much. We did not find any good restaurants within walking distance so we ate in the bar ,which was very reasonably priced for ireland and very enjoyable. The hotel had a warm friendly atmosphere and in my opinion is well worthy of its 4 stars. We found the hotel to be in a good position, very close to the centre of Dublin. The bus stop is just outside the hotel grounds and takes about 20 mins. Just a few minutes walk away is a promenade along the estuary that stretches for miles. In summary I would definitely recommend this hotel and will certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maloje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen_Clontarf, Sales Co-ordinator at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2009
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to hear that you felt the warm friendly atmosphere, and feel that we are worthy of our 4 stars.

You are indeed correct about our location, we are conviently located beside the bus stop and within a short walk from the promenade.

On behalf of all the team here at the Castle, we very much look forward to welcoming you back to our Four Star Deluxe Hotel in the future.

Many thanks
Jennifer McNulty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,353 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,751 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Property: Clontarf Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing