We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous castle hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Gorgeous castle hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

I chose Clontarf Castle for our last night in Ireland, spend the last night at a castle. I was not disappointed. It is rather difficult to find, esp at night since I couldn't see any signs,but thanks to the helpful man at the parking garage in Dublin we found our way. The place is just stunning. It has the original castle walls and they have added on hotel rooms to the rear of the building. Some of my companions didn't think this represented a true castle, and the rooms were the most modern we had on our trip, but I'm still glad we stayed here. The castle is over 1,000 yr old, and will be celebrating the 1,000 yr anniversary of the Battle of Clontarf. You can see the original walls and floors in the lobby, bar and lounge area, they were just stunning. The rooms were beautiful, the beds were great altho they roll rather fast and are higher than normal. We ate dinner in the restaurant and the food was good. We needed reservations which the front desk kindly made for us. I would most definately stay there again if I'm in the Dublin area. Just fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessieNoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you were so impressed with your stay at the castle and that your last night in Ireland was so enjoyable. I'll be sure to pass all your comments on to the team here at the castle. Many thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We would be delighted to welcome you back to the castle again in the future if you return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,457
    775
    262
    100
    69
See reviews for
787
1,758
71
279
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Booked the Clontarf Castle through Trivago for a family visit, surprisingly this hotel was not as expensive as some of the others on offer, but the chance to stay in a castle was a must as the location was central for our visit and only a short distance from ferry. This hotel impressed from the start, a hidden gem in Dublin, with plenty of parking and grand lobby with huge fireplace and suits of armour. Check in was easy and friendly, the actual hotel is modern with clean modern design rooms with desk, table, tub chairs and flat screen TV, this is a 4 star hotel and was certainly up to the standard expected with really comfy beds. Unfortunately we did not use the 'Fahrenheit' restaurant as this was too expensive being a Michelin star restaurant and chose to eat locally as there are plenty of places to eat within a short drive from the hotel as is the centre of Dublin, however we did take the 'full Irish' breakfast option which is self service buffet style with the best white pudding, but no baked beans. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel being close to the city centre but also something special to remember Dublin.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 21Alizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you were so impressed with your stay at the castle. It's great that you experienced excellent customer service and liked all the facilities. I'll be sure to pass all your compliments on the team here at the castle. I was sorry to read that you didn't dine in our restaurant as you perceived it to be too expensive. Fahrenheit Grill actually isn't a Michelin star restaurant and offers A Lá Carte and Early Bird options. Many thanks again for your feedback on your stay at Clontarf Castle Hotel. We would be delighted to welcome you back again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabash, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Beautiful setting! Friendly and professional staff! Concierge was exceptional especially DJ! We loved our stay ant Clontarf Castle and would recommend it to our friends and family! Food and drink were the best. Easy to visit the city from this location! Restaurants in the area were high quality!

Room Tip: Executive rooms are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluffy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel and for choosing to stay with us for your honeymoon. I was delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. I'm particularly pleased that you found the staff at the castle to so helpful and friendly. We aim to achieve excellent standards in customer service so it's great that you experienced this during your stay. Many thanks again for your feedback and for your kind recommendation, we really appreciate it and would be delighted to welcome you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

beautiful hotel but very relaxed lovely helpful staff couldnt fault it at all,. very reasonably priced restaurant- will definitely stay again. 15 mins by taxi to centre of Dublin, as usual the Taxi drivers are so entertaining great wedding venue . Have stayed at some classy hotels but rarely felt at such ease as in the Clontarf . rooms were lovely great bathroom and facilities excellent cant remember the waitress/ manageress in the restaurant but she worked so hard and was so helpful if your thinking of going dont hesitate

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was so pleased to read your feedback, it's great you had such an enjoyable stay at the castle. I was delighted that you found the staff to be so wonderful as we aim to achieve excellent standards in customer service. I'll be sure to pass all your comments on to the team at the castle. Many thanks again for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. We really appreciate it and would be delighted to welcome you back to the castle again in the future if you return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingle, Ireland
Level Contributor
267 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Perfect for a romantic night and date :)

We got the romantic suite package - having the dinner and breakfast included was so handy and such a great deal. The champagne and truffles were delicious as well.

room was modern but still charming. Great pillows and mattress too!

would highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your romance package at the castle. I'll be sure to pass your lovely comments on to all the team at the castle. Many thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate it and would be delighted to welcome you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed here last week and it was wonderful! The staff was welcoming, friendly and helpful and the room was cosy and very comfortable! It was relatively close to city center, about 10 min away. The breakfast and dinner in the pub were both good as well! We would stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor and it was quiet and comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the castle so much. We aim to achieve excellent standards in customer service so I was delighted to read that you found the staff to be so welcoming and helpful. I'll be sure to pass your comments on to all the team here at the castle. Many thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We would be delighted to welcome you back to the castle again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

When you first pull up, you are thinking you are staying in a castle, which you are. However, they have added onto the original structure with a modern hotel and all the modern conveniences one would expect. This is in a great location in northern Dublin, rooms are spacious and comfortable and beautifully appointed. Breakfast was buffet style and a wonderful value. There was the full English breakfast along with cereal, fruit, yogurt, plenty of coffee and juices and pastries from which to choose. Very pleasant stay, I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the castle so much. It's great that you liked how the castle maintained many original features while also having all the modern conveniences you enjoy. I was particularly pleased to read that you enjoyed your breakfast as this is something we really strive to achieve excellence in. Many thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We would be delighted to welcome you back to the castle again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,354 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,106 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,753 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Property: Clontarf Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing