We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fab Girls Night In at Clontarf Castle” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clontarf Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“fab Girls Night In at Clontarf Castle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2008

As a birthday treat my sister booked herself and myself into Clontarf Castle for the Girls Night In Package in August. The Hotel was great and the receptionist Eva was very very nice & helpful. The room was huge and comfy and we had everything they said the package would include. Only down side was that we had to share the cheeseburger and chocolate cake - there was only one between two which I thought was bad form as we both paid the same price for the room. We had unlimited access to the movie & music listing which was great. However the fire alarm did go off during the night but the hotel did all they could to reassure that everything was alright(turned out some guest was smoking in their room tut tut). They even apologised upon checkout which I thought was good.

Overall great stay would highly recommend it

  • Liked — The room was huge and the staff were lovely
  • Disliked — That we had to sahre the cheese burger and chocolate cake even though we both paid the same price
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperGirl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Marketing & Internet Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2008
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to hear that you had a fab girls night in!

Here at Clontarf Castle Hotel we have an array of special packages available including Girls Night in, The Ultimate Girlie Weekend! Thank Goodness it's Friday & our Romance Packages.

With all of these and more, there is certainly something for everyone in Clontarf Castle Hotel. For more information please visit our website.

Many thanks for all of your feedback and on behalf of the team here we very much look forward to your return to Clontarf Castle Hotel.

Kind regards,

Siobhan Fagan
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,396
    759
    263
    100
    69
See reviews for
753
1,731
71
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2008

What can I say? This place is perfect. We had our Wedding there in August so you may think we are bias but serioulsy the service is second to none, each and every staff member would go out of their way to help, nothing is too much trouble. We had the most perfect day but even our guests that stayed at the hotel were highly impressed with it, the accomodation standard, the food, the staff, the service. When you walk into the hotel you get a 'WOW' factor in the fabolous lobby. They have truely managed to maintain the old look but perfectly combine it with new and modern faciltes.

Would highly reccommend the hotel for a break away in a Castle environment but close to everything.

  • Liked — The look of the castle and the 'Old' feel it has. Love the atmosphere
  • Disliked — There are no grounds with the hotel - such a pity
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Marketing & Internet Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2008
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to hear that your wedding day was perfect! As this is one of the most important days of your life, it is crucial that your every whim is catered for and that you and your guests all experience the "wow" factor when you enter the palatial surroundings of Clontarf Castle.

As Clontarf Castle is a unique 12th century, 4 star deluxe hotel, we are indeed a perfect magical setting for your wedding day!

Many thanks for all of your feedback and here at Clontarf Castle we very much look forward to welcoming you and your husband back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Siobhan Fagan
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2008

Amazing hotel about 15mins cus ride from Dublin city centre.

Upon arrival reception checkin was very quick and to my delight one of my friends pad for an upgrade to a suite! Sweet! Slightly disappoined that the room was not actually in the casle but rather the uber-modern but complimentry to the castle section. The castle area itself has soo much character.

The room was perfect - nice (but quite small) four poster bed, two huge plasma screens on the wall, BOSE surround sound system (would have been nice for some instructions!) immaculate bathroom, private fridge (as well as mini bar) and every mod con a good room should have.

First evening went into Knights bar and enjoyed the perfect pint of Guinness with the food, which was quickly served and excellent quality and fairly priced.

Breakfast was very nice although not the best I've ever had. Certainly couldn't fault the service or selection , it just missed the mark for me.... 4.5/5.

Reception helpful on local bus route and directions to local exhibits

Would happily go here again, if only to see what it looks like without the scaffolding and to try the Indigo Bar, which looked fab but was always shut!

  • Liked — It's a castle!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DazzaHoare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Marketing & Internet Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2008
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to hear that your Honeymoon in Dublin was most enjoyable.

Here at Clontarf Castle Hotel we encourage our guests for their feedback as to ensure that each individual is happy with the service and their experience in our hotel.

I'm pleased to hear that your friend availed of our fabulous upgrades! At Clontarf Castle Hotel, our 111 guest rooms and suites range from the luxurious to the truly extravagant, with design that mesmerises your senses, and all the in room touches you need to ensure the perfect nights rest.

Many thanks for all of your feedback and should you have any queries at all, please do not hesitate to contact me.

On behalf of the team here at Clontarf Castle, we very much look forward to your return.

Kind regards,

Siobhan Fagan
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2008

I often stay in Dublin as we have an office there, and really like the Clontarf Castle as it is slightly more peaceful being outside Dublin City Centre - that said it is only a short taxi ride in.

Half of the hotel retains original walls and decor and half is completely new, but the whole place is elegantly furnished and very comfotable. The suites I have stayed in have 4 poster beds and are a reasonable size.

Onsite there is a good bar and a couple of restaurants and the staff are very helpful.

One word of warning though - if you want to charge to you room, make sure they swipe your credit card when you check in - this can avoid embarrassment later!

Also instead of going into Dublin if staying here, go down the coast to Malahide for some great seafood restaurants.

  • Liked — Good quality accomodation in peaceful location
  • Disliked — is a bit of a business hotel during the week
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DozyAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Marketing & Internet Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2008
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to hear that you regularly travel to Dublin and Clontarf Castle Hotel.

You are indeed correct that Malahide is in a great location for an array of quality seafood restaurants, another scenic village quite close to Clontarf Castle would include Howth which is also only a few minutes from the hotel.

Clontarf Castle has a location that is convenient to city centre and surrounding areas whilst at the same time our guests can enjoy the peaceful surroundings of the leafy northside suburbs.

On behalf of the team here at Clontarf Castle, many thanks for your feedback and we very much look forward to your return in the future.

Kind regards,

Siobhan Fagan
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2008

We celebrated my Mum's 60th Birthday and everything was flawless.
we hired the tower suite which was a private dining room for the eight of us, we could have been the only ones in the hotel, it was soooo private.
My parent's bedroom was lovely, very modern, not massive, but excellent. good plasma TV and my Dad kept raving about the light in the headboard! My Mum is a very bad sleeper, and she loved the bed and the bedding and had a great night sleep.
The food is expensive but wonderful, my sister said it was the best stake she had ever eaten and even the children's menu was good. The desserts are to die for- ginger bread cheesecake, trio of apple and the knickerbockerglory were all brilliant!
Susie in Banqueting was brilliant as was Daniel our waiter for the evening.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Marketing & Internet Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2008
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that your mother's 60th Birthday Celebration was most enjoyable.

You are indeed correct that our Tower Suite is a fantastic venue for an intimate private dinner. I am glad that everyone was impressed with the food and all had a perfect nights sleep to end a perfect night's celebration!

I will most certainly pass on all of your feedback and once again, many thanks for letting us know how everything went.

If you have any future queries at all, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Siobhan Fagan
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2008

The Clontarf Castle is located about 10 -15 minutes from Dublin Airport and about the same distance by bus from the City Centre (take the 130 bus right into central Dublin). Due to the location, it is a bit out of the way to the main city attractions, but this would be an advantage if you were looking for some peace and quiet! The castle would be a perfect location for a romantic weekend away. A rental car is definately a must if you dont like busing it into town or wish to eat outside the hotel. We thought the meals at the hotel were on the expensive side (33 euro for a steak, 3.95 euro for a latte, as examples) but since we had a rental car there are plenty of pubs and bistros in the surrounding area.

We had a family room on the third floor and it was more than adequate for three adults. The beds are very soft but very comfortable. The rooms were clean, but unfortunately other than restocking towels each day, we did not receive any new toiletries, face cloths or hand towels for the 3 nights stay other than on the first day.

The recent renovations to the hotel are obvious. The reception area is beautiful. Lots of marble and armour displays which compliment the theme of the hotel. While we were staying there appeared to be a conference on at the hotel and I think the hotel would be a stunning facility for a conference and absolutely perfect as a wedding venue.

The staff on the reception and conceirge in particular were very knowledgeable and friendly. The only let down in terms of staff I felt was at Farenheit Grill where breakfast was served. The first day was appauling. Absolutely none of the food or drinks were labelled, we had to ask twice for coffee and the staff were grouchy and unmotivated. Thankfully the second two mornings things appeared to be better in terms of labelling etc. However the maitradee appears to have this bad habit of critisising and mocking the other staff in front of the guests which comes across as tacky and unprofessional.

Overall, a plesant stay at the Clontarf.

  • Liked — Beautifully renovated
  • Disliked — Restaurant - staff attitude and inflated prices
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazza_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Marketing & Internet Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2008
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted that you had an enjoyable visit to Clontarf Castle Hotel and I very much appreciate all of your feedback provided.

You are indeed correct that the castle is in a "perfect location for a romantic weekend" with "plenty of pubs and bistros in the surrounding area".

My sincere apologies for any inconvenience you experienced throughout breakfast. I will most certainly be investigating this and very much hope that this didn't affect your stay.

I am glad that overall your experience at Clontarf Castle Hotel was a pleasant one and very much look forward to welcoming you back to the castle in the near future.

Kind regards,

Siobhan Fagan
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2008

stayed here for just one nite with my boyfriend,resption staff werent very friendly,room was lovely but small,was a conecting room,witch i wasnt happy about as when we booked it we askd not 2 b given 1,we were told on arrival the hotel was booked out and that was the only room for us,lovely hotel but not sure if id stay in it again

  • Liked — NICE SURROUNDINGS
  • Disliked — STAFF,ROOM
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank travel7369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Marketing & Internet Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2008
Dear Guest,

I very much appreciate your feedback on Trip Advisor and wish to apologise for any inconvenience you experienced whilst visiting Clontarf Castle Hotel.

I very much hope that we are given the opportunity in the future to regain your confidence in Clontarf Castle and should you have any queries at all, please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Kind regards,

Siobhan Fagan
Sales Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,278 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,045 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,747 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,184 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Property: Clontarf Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing