We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice second stay at the Castle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Very nice second stay at the Castle”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The second time we have visited the Castle over the last couple of years, and again, we were very pleased with our stay. Booking through Expedia we got our double room in mid-January for a good price (about £75 a night). The room had a nice view over Dublin and the harbour, a reasonable shower (perhaps not quite powerful enough), a massive bed, lots of room, and was very clean. The staff in the hotel were all very friendly, no qualms there. We had a few drinks and bit of lunch in the Knights Bar on a couple of occasions, which provided a lovely setting - log fire, wooden panels, and warm atmosphere. It was obviously very popular as it was very busy both at lunch and dinner times. The rest of the hotel had both modern parts (interesting reception atrium), and older bits with more character that allow for a bit of exploring. Quite a way from the city, but on a bus route if you want to travel in easily enough. We will definitely be staying here again to see family in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hert3284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had previously stayed with us at the castle, it's always great to get feedback from our loyal guests. I'm very pleased to read that you liked your bedroom and and found Knights Bar to be such a nice setting for relaxing during your stay. I'm also pleased you liked the staff at the castle as we aim to achieve high customer service standards. Many thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate it and are looking forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel again in the future when you return to the area.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,525
    787
    263
    100
    69
See reviews for
810
1,796
73
286
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Castres, France
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed in this hotel in the middle of January at short notice. I live in France and hadn't really planned to be in Dublin for two nights but decided to do it in style. What a fine hotel this is. The staff at reception were so helpful and friendly and I was immediately struck by the warm and welcoming atmosphere. The place was certainly busy, with various family events, but staff coped magnificently. The room was great , though the TV charge would be one bugbear. Breakfast was relaxing with very helpful staff and most importantly the Guinness I tested later on was top order. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I didn't know about pool and spa because I booked in haste. Maybe this could be publicised in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you were impressed by the castle and that you found the staff to be so warm and welcoming. It was also great that you feel the staff at the castle coped brilliantly despite the hotel being quite busy with events. We aim to achieve excellent standards in customer service so it's really great to get such positive feedback. Many thanks again for your feedback on your stay at Clontarf Castle Hotel. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us and we're delighted that you may return to the castle again in the future, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We recently attended a very special family event in the Farenheit Grill in Clontarf Castle. It is a beautiful hotel, clean and well maintained. On this basis and it's 4 * we looked forward to a very enjoyable experience. However it failed miserably to live up to expectations. The restaurant manageress on duty was the most unfriendly and unprofessional person we have ever had the misfortune to deal with. The service in the restaurant was appalling and we were made to feel a total n
uisance. The food most definitely was not by any stretch of the imagination 4 *. Definitely not the place to eat on a special occasion as you are only an annoyance to the staff !! Surely in this economy there are staff who would be delighted and proud to run such a beautiful restaurant. The hotel manager was as receptive as the restaurant manageress!! It was devastating to see our parents so very upset by the treatment we received on their special day. Shame on you, it was a poor, poor experience

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank g n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had previously stayed with us at the castle, it's always great to get feedback from our loyal guests. I'm very pleased to read that you liked your bedroom and and found Knights Bar to be such a nice setting for relaxing during your stay. I'm also pleased you liked the staff at the castle as we aim to achieve high customer service standards. Many thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate it and are looking forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel again in the future when you return to the area.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
505 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I was here at the start of January and had a very nice time. The hotel is in an old castle which looks lovely and there is a very nice driveway into the hotel. Inside it is decorated very cool, with knights in armour etc.The old stone walls are exposed which look great.
There are a number of places to eat and drink. The Indigo lounge modern and very plush.
The rooms are very nice and comfy. It was all very clean too.
The staff were all helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeenanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was really pleased to read all your comments. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay at the castle so much and that you found everything to be satisfactory. Many thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel again in the future if you return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed recently for 1 night and the hotel is beautifully decorated. Had a corner room with two double beds on the second floor at the end and it was lovely and quiet. The staff were very helpful with ideas to do and ways to get into the city centre. 10 minutes by taxi. Breakfast the next morning had more than enough choices to get you on your way. The hotel was busy with a wedding and some parties, but no noise or car parking worries. A lovely stay and it was disappointing it was only for one night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwysluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I really enjoyed reading your review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay at the castle so much. It was great to read that even though the hotel was busy with functions, this didn't negatively impact your stay at all. Many thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate it and we would be delighted to welcome you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Booked 4 rooms for friends and a big birthday. The hotel met every expectation for a 4 star hotel, attractive well equipped rooms, friendly efficient staff and a good breakfast. The only tiny criticism was a weak shower in our room.
We walked into Dublin centre the first morning which is probably a bit far particularly with buses and the train nearby and in the end some very efficient taxis.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was really pleased to read that you and your friends had such an enjoyable stay. I'm particularly pleased that you found the staff at the castle to be so efficient as we aim to achieve high standards in customer service. I'm also glad you liked your rooms and the breakfast in the hotel. You have my apologies that the shower in your room was quite weak, all our bedrooms are inspected on a regular basis so I will make sure this is investigated. Many thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us, We would be delighted to welcome you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel again in the future if you return to the area.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

First the positives. The staff are excellent. the hotel is lovely and the rooms very comfortable. Clontarf itself is very pretty and the promenade is lovely to walk along.We stayed mid week and on a package maybe these two factors led to the overall experience being less than expected.The restaurant was closed on both evenings we were there so we ate in Knights bar.The bar itself is lovely but our set menu on the first night had a limited choice of options and the main course we chose of beer battered cod was bland. The starters and desserts were fine though.What really did disappoint was the quality of the cooked breakfast both mornings.It was served remarkably quickly after ordering - it could not possibly have been cooked to order. The bacon looked as it tasted -poor and difficult to cut and the scrambled egg was what could best be described as watery and tasteless.we had a bar snack in knights on the second night and it was really tasty. Overall then a bit of a disappointment.If I were to return, which I doubt, it would not be mid week nor on a package deal.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was pleased to read that you liked the castle and that you felt the staff were great. I was also very pleased that you liked the Clontarf area, our location is really beautiful and only a couple of miles from the city centre. I was very disappointed to read that you were not impressed with the quality of some of the food. This is surprising as our guests often compliment the food at the hotel. You have my sincere apologies and I can assure you that this does not reflect our usual service standards. I will personally investigate this issue, Many thanks again for your feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us and would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future if you return to the area.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,407 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,158 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,799 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Property: Clontarf Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing