We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They owe me £740 plus!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“They owe me £740 plus!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2008

Whilst we had an amazing time at the hotel, on our return we found that £740 was debited from my credit card unauthorised as we paid in cash, we are still waiting for a full refund of the money debited plus the interest it has accumulated and telephone calls made bearing in mind we have been calling from England. The customer service is awful we were promised call backs only to recieve none, we were told that compensation would be issued of which we have recieved nothing. Whilst ill admit the hotel is amazing and the location and setting is fantastic, it has really been let down by its staff and duty manager. We are currently in the process of of sorting out a fraudulent claim as the payment taken was unauthorised as it was completely the wrong amount even if i hadnt paid cash.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Me24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Marketing & Internet Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2008
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your stay in Clontarf Castle Hotel.

I am glad that this has been brought to my attention and I have been informed that our Front Office Manager Philip Walsh has been liaising with you regarding this.

I have been assured that everything has been resolved and very much wish to apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Should you have any future queries, please do not hesitate to contact either myself or Philip and we will do our utmost to ensure that your next visit is most enjoyable.


Kind regards,

Siobhan Fagan
Sales Department



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,457
    775
    262
    100
    69
See reviews for
787
1,758
71
279
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2008

What a wonderful, out of the way but not unaccessible, place to stay. The Clontarff was beautiful outside and in. The staff, especially Eva and Shane, went beyond and above to accommodate my friend and I. They made it easy for us to move about the city and enjoy our couple of days we had there. Also, Eva was very helpful with her knowledge of Prague, which is where we went next. I appreciate the management understanding our situation with the room phone calls and would like to thank each and everyone at the Clontarff for making our stay magnificent. Also, the pub located in the hotel had excellent food.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bonsey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Marketing & Internet Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2008
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that your time spent in Clontarf Castle Hotel was most enjoyable and that our team here were able to assist you in a friendly and efficient manner.

I hope that your trip to Prague was as memorable as Dublin and very much look forward to your return to Clontarf Castle in the near future.

Kind regards,

Siobhan Fagan
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2008

My wife, daughter and I just spent two nights at the Clontarf. Everything was great from the beginning, we arrived before check-in time, our room was ready, the staff was very helpful!
The room was fabulous, modern, and very clean!
The staff was very helpful and told us how to get to the bus, and taxi's if we wished. The breakfast choices were good, and the staff was very helpful! When our travel plans again find us in Dublin, we will definitely stay here again!
We had a great experience here!!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seaside14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Marketing & Internet Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2008
Dear Guest,

Firstly I wish to thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted that your visit was most enjoyable and that "everything was great from the beginning".

Here at Clontarf Castle Hotel we always encourage our guests for feedback as it allows us to ensure 100% customer satisfaction.

On behalf of the team here we very much look forward to your return to Clontarf Castle Hotel and if I can be of any assistance in future please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Siobhan Fagan
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2008

We spent only one night at the Clontarf Hotel, but we absolutely loved it. The Hotel is situated in a nice and quiet residential area, about 10 minutes away from the main city centre. The facade is of a 16th century castle, but the rooms have a wonderful modern and cozy style. The bathroom was super clean and nice with a big and spacious shower. The staff has been more than helpful offering more than one time to call us a taxi if we needed it. We booked through the Hotel's web site and the rate we found included breakfast. The buffet offered plenty of foods, cereal, fresh coffee or tea, eggs, Irish pudding, fresh fruit, breads and pastries. We didn't have the chance to try the restaurant but we did stop at the bar and the place was nice and and the staff was friendly. We wish we could have spent a little more time there, but we will definitely recommend this place to our friends!!

  • Liked — The Hotel is beautiful
  • Disliked — No ropes in the bathroom
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Granviaggiatori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Marketing & Internet Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2008
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your fantastic review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to hear that your stay was most enjoyable and that you were impressed by the hotel and it's recent refurbishment.

On behalf of the team here at Clontarf Castle Hotel, we very much look forward to your return.

Kind regards,

Siobhan Fagan
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2008

This castle is very cool and chic. The room was amazing, with the most comfortable beds and a really nice size bathroom. We had a large window to open for air and really enjoyed our stay there.

It's about a 15 minute cab ride from downtown Dublin, but if don't want to go too far, they have a great bar area that we hung out in one night. Lots of activity at the hotel, but the room was still very quiet.

It was a random weekend trip that we took and didn't really know what was the 'must see', but the hotel arranged for a tour of Wicklow County and had the bus pick us up from the hotel. It was the perfect day and we saw so much.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel to others. Not many little children were there, more for adults to enjoy.

  • Liked — the fact that it is a historical castle
  • Disliked — not directly in Dublin
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveLondon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2008

Excellent hotel with excellent front of house staff, particularly Carmen. I decided, at the last minute, to surprise my girlfriend with flowers in our room. I called the hotel on the morning we were due to arrive and, in spite of the very late notice, Carmen was able to arrange for a fantastic bunch of flowers (of the exact type requested) to be waiting in our room. Very resonably priced too. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Marketing & Internet Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2008
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your review. I am delighted that you experienced the warm hospitality of Clontarf castle.
I'll be sure to let Carmen know about your lovely review.
Thanks again for your review on TripAdvisor. Here in Clontarf Castle we welcome the opportunity for guest feedback and appreciate all of your comments.
On behalf of all the team here at Clontarf Castle, we very much look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Jennifer McNulty
Sales department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2008

My husband and I had a fantastic romantic long weekend at the hotel at the beginning of June.

We had a four poster room. The most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. On our 3rd day we had intended an early start for sight seeing but only woke up at 9.45am, we were dead to the world!

Breakfast lovely. If you wanted poached or fried eggs they made them fresh, other items from the buffet -all of it very nice and plentiful.

On our first night our flight had been delayed and only made it to the hotel just after midnight sadly the bar had closed.

When we did make it to the bar the staff were great, as was everyone we met.

Hard to find fault with Clontarf Castle. Lovely place.

On one of the evenings we went for a "casual" meal after a days sightseeing - Captain Americas on Grafton St, opposite Next and Monsoon. Fantastic place, great food, excellent staff. Sadly the following night on the "dressed up" night we chose an Italian place called Pacino's (Tapas restaurant also in the basement). Food was a huge disappointment and totally wrong choice but you can't win em all.

Loved out stay in Ireland - did the sighseeing stuff - Gunniness brewery, Jamesons distillery etc. Highly recommend the Dublin bus tour and well worth making time to visit Kilmainham Gaol.

Hotel excellent, would love to go again anytime.

  • Liked — The heavenly bed
  • Disliked — Shame it didn't have a spa.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wmw1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Marketing & Internet Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2008
Dear guest,

Firstly I want to thank you for you review on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted that you and your husband enjoyed your romantic long weekend and found great staff in Clontarf Castle Hotel.

Here at Clontarf Castle Hotel we appreciate everyones feedback as it helps us to ensure that every guest experience is most memorable.

On behalf of all the team here at Clontarf Castle, we very much look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Jennifer McNulty
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,353 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,753 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Property: Clontarf Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing