We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Honeymoon Stopover” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clontarf Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon Stopover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just brilliant! ! Even having to call the concierge at 1.30am to ask our neighbours to lower the noise was undertaken in seconds and no further issue.
Great bar, lovely restaurant, great concierge service. It isn't the cheapest but it is worth every cent and they have great offers!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyArtsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you were staying with us as part of your honeymoon, congratulations on your nuptials and thank you for choosing Clontarf Castle Hotel as part of your special trip. I'm really glad that you experienced such good customer service during your stay and that you liked the bar and restaurant. I'll be sure to pass all your lovely comments on the the staff here. Many thanks again for your lovely feedback, we really appreciate it. We would be delighted to welcome you back to the castle again in the future if you return to the area.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,391
    758
    263
    100
    69
See reviews for
752
1,726
71
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Went on a deal after Christmas! Booked table for dinner in advance, arrived at the restaurant and no booking was there! Stuck us at the end of a group so we ended up leaving! Room service food wasn't great! On site car parking was always full, if you don't know the area it's not great trying to find somewhere else to park! Nice rooms and hotel in general is nice!! Good location

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stamfordmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your dining experience at Clontarf Castle Hotel; as the feedback over the Christmas period last year was very positive. Our car park at the Clontarf Castle Hotel can be busy at peak due to the popularity of the bars and restaurant with our local clientele and i apologise for the inconvenience caused to you.

We really appreciate your feedback on Clontarf Castle Hotel and we take your comments on board.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manger
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

As Wikipedia and other online sources will tell you, although the original Clontarf Castle dates back to around 1172, it was much modernised in 1837 and has clearly been further modernised in recent years. Therefore, visitors should not expect to be sleeping within the walls of an ancient castle. Having said that, the communal areas of the castle have been sympathetically updated and enhanced to at least give an ancient feel to what is mostly a relatively modern building and our bedroom was modern, well equipped and very comfortably furnished.

Although the castle is located in a residential area rather than being set apart, it does still have an imposing private entrance and driveway.

These considerations aside, the guest experience for us at Clontarf Castle was a very positive one. The staff were all friendly and very helpful during our 2 night stay.

Located downstairs is a popular bar that also serves food while upstairs there is the fine dining 'Farenheit' restaurant that serves breakfasts and evening meals. We sampled both of these dining options and were favourably impressed with each of them, although the service at breakfast was a little slow and disorganised. (The breakfast is mostly 'self service' but we chose one of the cooked options that had to be cooked to order and staff were quite slow in actually taking our order). By contrast, the service in the evenings was much better and we enjoyed 2 excellent meals in the Castle's 'Farenheit' restaurant - the first of these being on the evening of our wedding anniversary.

We would also like to mention that, having told Clontarf Castle in advance that we would be celebrating our wedding anniversary during our stay there, when we arrived in our room we were very pleasantly surprised to find a nice card and a large plate with a 'Happy Anniversary' message piped on it in chocolate around a free sample of one of their delicious desserts ! Thank you Clontarf, that was much appreciated.

So we have no hesitation in recommending Clontarf Castle to anyone looking for a romantic location to stay in Dublin with some fine dining.

Here's hoping we will get the opportunity to return there ourselves before too long.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bajan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable 2 night stay at the hotel and that you found all staff to be so good. I'm glad that you liked the anniversary surprise they organised for you. It's great that you enjoyed all your meals while staying at the castle. We often receive guest compliments on both our bar food and the food in Fahrenheit Grill. You have my apologies that the breakfast service you experienced seemed a little disorganised, I assure you that I will be looking in to this issue personally. Many thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here overnight before leaving for Wales. Very nice hospitality, room and dinner. Breakfast was included as part of our package deal, but knew we would miss it due to early flight. They said they would bring up a continental breakfast to our room at 4:30 a.m. Sorry to say we missed our flight due to long security lines.....came back to hotel to regroup on our plans. They were so helpful. Allowed us to stay in our room until 1:00 p.m. and offered another breakfast. We highly recommend Clontarf for their customer service & hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GolfersIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was so pleased to read that you felt so well taken care of during your stay with us. Customer service and hospitality are hugely important to us so I'm delighted you rate us so highly.

Many thanks again for your feedback on your stay at Clontarf Castle Hotel, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We would be delighted to welcome you back to the castle again in the future if you return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
241 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

In the interest of full and fair disclosure, let me say first off that my husband and I did not stay overnight in the hotel. We did, however, have lunch one day in the bar while on a day trip to Clontarf. Despite the statement on the website that the Knights Bar "also serves up delicious bar food from 12pm – 9.30pm daily", we firmly and resolutely pushed toward the Carvery, which is a a steam table with a series of meat choices, accompanied by a couple of veg, all dished up by the only unfriendly (downright unpleasant) person we encountered on a week-long stay in Ireland.

While my husband was pleased with his roast lamb, my parmesan-crusted chicken had really suffered from sitting on the steam table for some indeterminate period of time. I couldn't finish it. I tried to make up for it by having the carrot soup, but it had been steaming for so long that it had seriously reduced and was beyond salty. The Carvery is, however, reasonably priced (you get what you pay for), which may account for its obvious popularity with every pensioner in the neighborhood, many of whom were greeted by name by the wait staff.

To top it off, guests who arrived after we did were offered the opportunity to order from the menu, and their food looked so much better than mine.

In sum, it was a very disappointing experience that I would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had stayed with us in the past and returned to the castle for another visit. I hope you liked the refurbishment that was carried out since your last stay, €10 million has been spent on the castle in recent years. Thanks again for your feedback on your stay at Clontarf Castle Hotel, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us and we would love to welcome you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

After traveling for 24 hours, we arrived at the clontarf around 7:30 am way before check in. We asked the front desk if there was anyway to check in early and told them it was our honeymoon. Our room wasn't ready but they were able to upgrade us to a suite! Everyone at the hotel was so helpful. We couldn't figure out how to adjust the temperature on the shower and the concierge Robert was kind enough to come up and show us. The room and hotel was incredibly clean. The staff was unbelievably kind and helpful. We did not have one bad experience at this hotel. It's a bit out of the city center but at 9 am every morning the hop on hop off bus tour picks up at the hotel and that was the perfect way to get around! We stayed in a few hotels as we traveled around Ireland and we liked this one so much we cancelled our other hotel for our last night and stayed here again. We already have planned our next trip to Ireland and intend to stay at the clontarf for a week! Thank you to everyone at this hotel for making our stay so memorable!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zzlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel and for choosing to stay with us as part of your honeymoon. I was really delighted to read all your lovely comments. I'm so glad you found all the staff to be so helpful, particularly reception and concierge staff. I'll be sure to pass your comments on to them. I was so pleased that you were so impressed that you returned to stay with us for a second time. Many thanks again for your feedback on your stay at Clontarf Castle Hotel. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel again in the future if you return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had stayed here before in 2004, and this was the first of five castles that we stayed in over the next seven nights. The hotel in very nice, with large comfortable rooms, all very quiet. The food is very good, and breakfast was good as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRW1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had stayed with us in the past and returned to the castle for another visit. I hope you liked the refurbishment that was carried out since your last stay, €10 million has been spent on the castle in recent years. Thanks again for your feedback on your stay at Clontarf Castle Hotel, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us and we would love to welcome you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,273 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,040 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,735 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,180 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Property: Clontarf Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing